We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, and a quiet sleep”
Review of Grey Gull

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grey Gull
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Ocean Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed in 306, a one bedroom deluxe, which felt roomy and comfortable. I wanted a view of the ocean. I got it, and loved it. :) It was a rainy stay, but we still enjoyed ourselves. Loved watching the kids in the pool, and appreciated that the pool shut down promptly at 10PM. The bedroom had great shades, so was nice and dark at night. Our sleep was quiet, the kind size bed really comfortable, and the staff friendly and helpful. Especially Jacquie at the front desk. :)

Room Tip: I think you have to be on the top (third) floor to have a view of the ocean. There wasn't air co...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rianthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggmanager, General Manager at Grey Gull, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience! Unit #306 is a great room. Our second floor rooms do offer a partial ocean view. You just cannot see where the surf meets the sand, and our poolside units on the first floor are really convenient for families. The patios lead right out to the pool and hot tub area.

I hope that you will come see us again! We will have great winter storm watching coming up, and those third floor rooms will provide a fantastic view!

Warm Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
There are newer reviews for Grey Gull
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

My parents have been going to the Grey Gull for years and we have been with them on a few occasions. They love it but even they said that this time it just seems like things have gone down hill a bit. The room was clean, but housekeeping seemed to be slipping (we were left short on towels, tp, and they didn't take out the garbage one day). The water went out for a few hours one day as well. But then again, the whole town seems to be falling a bit behind the times. The wi-fi was so slow it was impossible to even use. We wouldn't let the kids get in the pool as it looked a little green. It is a good location to be able to access the beach but we won't be going back there.

Room Tip: Choose the 3rd floor.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MrsCleanX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggmanager, General Manager at Grey Gull, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you very much for offering your feedback! I want to let you know that we are diligently working to update and improve the quality and condition of the property. Unfortunately, change takes a little bit of time. But between feedback such as yours, the attention of our condo owners, and our own operational efforts, we will grow into the premier hotel destination in Ocean Shores that I believe The Grey Gull to be. Please be assured that current deficiencies are not going unnoticed and that we are taking action.

The water in our area has a very high mineral content which tends to give the pool water that green hue. Our maintenance team tests the chlorine and pH levels three times per day in order to ensure that our pool is safe to swim in. In addition, the state inspector has recently been on site and has confirmed that we are operating a clean and safe facility. I am working with various pool service providers to find a better filtration system, as I too, dislike the color of the water. I believe we will find the right solution so that all of our guests feel more comfortable using our pool.

I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future. And even if you choose not to return to The Grey Gull, I hope that you will continue to visit Ocean Shores.

Sincerely,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This old condo complex has a great location in Ocean Shores. It is in good position but not really what I would call oceanview because of the large berm. There are balconies- most only big enough for 2 chairs and a very small table.

The staff, with the exception of a grumpy few, work hard to keep this old complex in good condition. The 2 Lauras were gems, one behind the desk the other head of housekeeping.

Our room had serious comfort problems. The sleeper couch needed 2 people to open as it was badly bent and wanted to tip the whole couch over. The rest of the furniture was just as old and uncomfortable. It needed to be replaced.

The pool had seen better days although the staff tried hard to keep it as clean as possible. There is a fire pit with a neatly stacked cord of firewood nearby. Barbeques are over by the pit.

The views were pretty awesome for fireworks. That was the reason for our visit.

The kitchen was good except the disposal just spun and had no teeth. Fridge, outmoded micro and stove were a plus. We had local crab that we steamed in dark beer with corn in a big pot. Dining next to the big windows was so nice.

We were in room 211 and it is right next to the stairs and trash. We sure wouldn't go to that room again. Other visitors coming in and out shout to each other and it is right next to the bedroom. LOL, we got to sleep several times the last night there because of the loud conversations outside the window which woke us up.

The Lauras offered to switch us to another room but it wasn't even available to see until noon on the 4th. By then we were stressed that we even waited that long (couldn't be done earlier, all booked up) and although the other room may have been better we decided moving that late in our stay was stupid. Instead we checked out one day early. We wondered why someone would check out on the 4th.

These are individually owned and you get owners who don't care and it can ruin your trip because out of kilter furniture makes you hurt. There is not really anyway you can check the quality of furniture out that before you book.

Room Tip: It is hard to tell where rooms are on their web page. It is a tradeoff- elevator/pool noise or hallw...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsO_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggmanager, General Manager at Grey Gull, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your comments regarding our hotel, and I apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced. We actually have two Jackie's working here, and I agree with you completely that they are gems! I will be sure to share your kudos with them.

As the new General Manager of this property, it is extremely beneficial to me to hear feedback from our guests, even if it is critical. It is because of feedback like this that I can know where to focus my efforts. The issues upon which you have commented will absolutely be shared with the owner, as do all critiques. I, of course, will also do my best to improve the comfort and quality of each condo unit. We have many owners who do care a great deal about their condos, and I know that they want to ensure their guests enjoy their experience.

Unfortunately, change cannot happen overnight, but I assure you that I am working diligently to increase our guests' comfort, convenience, and overall satisfaction. I hope that you will give us another try in the future. We would love to have you back.

Sincerely,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We are from Texas and loved the cool weather in Ocean Shores. The Grey Gull made our stay even better with a fantastic view of the ocean from the 3rd floor (room 304). Each room is individually decorated and the full-size kitchen is fully stocked for cooking. We loved the pool, hot-tub and cooking out at the picnic area.
The staff at the Grey Gull are very helpful and nice. There are movies and games for use in the lobby along with a quick hot cup of coffee.
Don't forget to fly a kite while in Ocean Shores! We hope to visit again.

Room Tip: Top floor is the best, awesome view of the ocean! Remember, move chairs around quietly when eating d...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggmanager, General Manager at Grey Gull, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel! We were happy to host you and your party, and we hope to have you back with us again. Keep in mind, we do offer group rates for room blocks of 5 or more, so consider The Grey Gull for your family reunion!

Warm Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We have never had a bad experience at the Grey Gull. We plan on going back again very soon. It's so relaxing and just a short walk thru the dunes to the beach. We've gone there in good weather and bad. It's always been fabulous.

Room Tip: The top floors have the best views.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Frankeezgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggmanager, General Manager at Grey Gull, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We look forward to having you back.

Warm Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This was a nice hotel. We had a 2 bedroom condo - nice rooms and plenty of space as well as a stocked kitchen (except for the food). The beach is about a 5 minute walk down a wooded path. You can't see the ocean from the 2nd floor, not sure about the 3rd floor.
clean.

Room Tip: you can't see the ocean from 1st or 2nd floor, not sure about the 3rd.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandrajeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We celebrated my husband's birthday by spending one night at the Grey Gull. We stayed in unit 314, which had an amazing view of the ocean and mountains. We immediately realized we should have spent more than one night. Our room was a one-bedroom condo with all the amenities of home. We are already making plans to return for a much longer stay. But next time we'll be staying in our friend (Jeri Burgess) condo -- unit 214. It has the same amazing view and is delightfully decorated in a nautical theme. The Grey Gull is a beautiful, comfortable, hidden treasure right on the ocean.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarciaBrixey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean Shores hotels
0.1 mi away
Canterbury Inn
Canterbury Inn
#1 of 14 in Ocean Shores
444 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
#10 of 14 in Ocean Shores
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#8 of 14 in Ocean Shores
273 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
0.7 mi away
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
#9 of 14 in Ocean Shores
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Gull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Gull

Address: 651 Ocean Shores Blvd NW, Ocean Shores, WA 98569-9344
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Ocean Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ocean Shores
#1 Family Hotel in Ocean Shores
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean Shores
#4 Business Hotel in Ocean Shores
Price Range: £95 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grey Gull 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grey Gull is a condominium-hotel with 37 uniquely decorated, individually owned units. Located just steps from the beach, The Grey Gull offers great ocean views, a heated outdoor pool and hot tub, and BBQ area for convenient entertainment and a quality coastal experience. Each unit has a fully equipped kitchen, clean-burning gas fireplace, and balcony or patio. Many units are dog-friendly, so be sure to bring your best friend! Whether you are sneaking off for a quick weekend getaway for two or planning a full family reunion, The Grey Gull will have a room perfectly suited to your needs. Experience the Quiet Quality of The Grey Gull today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grey Gull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grey Gull Ocean Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing