We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grey Gull Good”
Review of Grey Gull

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grey Gull
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Ocean Shores
Certificate of Excellence
WA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Grey Gull Good”
Reviewed 19 August 2009

The Grey Gull is actually condos that are individually owned. We have stayed here on two different occasions and have been well pleased both times. They are pet friendly ($15 per day, per pet fee). It was very relaxing...like your own little home away from home. Kitchens are actually kitchenettes, but nice. They have a heated pool and jacuzzi (which are outside) and a sauana which is located inside the hotel. They offer high speed internet, and computer access in their lobby. They also have have board games and movies to offer. Very family oriented. Within walking distance to a lot of shops. Will definintely stay there again if opportunity arises.

Helpful?
1 Thank mzV030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    148
    31
    13
    10
See reviews for
153
197
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2009

The Grey Gull was a very quiet, clean and comfortable accommodation. I took my 93 year old mother and she was very happy. Because all the rooms face the ocean, with the pool in the middle, it may get noisy at times, but we were there mid week and had no complaints. Each unit is individually owned and differ in decor. The one we used was a little dated, but comfortable. The staff is extremely pleasant, each person we encountered was very friendly. The kitchen was nicely stocked with all anyone would need. The path to the beach is well tended and an easy hike, although a little far for my mother but I was able to drive on the beach from Ocean Shores main access and she was able to enjoy the beach. The price was very reasonable. A few weeks later a friend and I went to Westport and rented a private duplex. We paid the same price as the Grey Gull plus an additional cleaning fee and the unit was not clean. I would return to the Grey Gull anytime!

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sunloverTacoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2009

We only spent one night here on our quick trip around the Olympic Peninsula on our way to Oregon. We were running late so phoned ahead. The office is open until 10:00 pm. This is not a 24 hour establishment so you can't treat it like one. There is even a sign that says "Please Sleep". We rented a one bedroom unit with a murphy bed in the living room, thinking that it would be a reprieve from all sleeping in the same room. The murphy bed was only a double, so we had our teenage son on it which meant that we had to share the King with our daughter...kind of squishy. The room was lovely and clean overlooking the pool. There was a living room with a fireplace and TV. Seating was scarce with a small loveseat and 2 beautiful but impractical chairs. The kitchen was small but well stocked with full sized appliances. The bathroom was large and clean towels were plentiful. One thing that seemed strange was that even though the Inn was aware that 4 people and a dog were coming, the murphy bed was not made up. After an exhausting 9 hours in the car, one would think that they could at least have the bed made up. Anyway, I found sheets, pillows, and a blanket in the bedroom closet and had it made up while the kids let there energy out in the pool. This was the cleanest of all the rooms on our way down to Lincoln City, but I still had to take allergy medicine. Whatever animals have stayed here with their owners left a lot of dander behind. This is an expensive spot for an overnight stay. It deserves at least a 3 day weekend to be enjoyed. We were in such a rush that we didn't even get to see the ocean except when driving through.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsbbhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2008

My husband found this gem while on a trip to WA to celebrate our anniversary. That he found the BEST place we've stayed in all the 8 days we toured WA was a miracle! The Grey Gull is in such a (still) sleepy coastal town reminiscent of Rockport TX or the Jersey shore (pre-2001). We've stayed in a variety of hotels around WA from the Hotel Deca in Seattle to a cabin near Packwood to a (very decent) Best Western in Chehalis and the Grey Gull was the best overall in value. A one-bedroom "suite" with fully-functioning kitchen, a living room with contemporary clean undamaged furniture and a FIREPLACE, and a great king-sized bed and a nice bathroom not located in the bedroom. The best was the view of the ocean and beach, the dunes and the flickering lanterns of the "clammers"... I love my husband more for having found and surprised me with this trip from TX and for bringing me here to the Grey Gull. You would not know from the outside that this is such a great place to stay! and the variety of restaurants up the road make it hard to want to cook in our room! Thanks to the lovely owner... we've had a blast so far!

  • Liked — A great value for location, setting, view, the town's amenities and the room
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DanNell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2008

After making my reservation with them a month before my trip, I was greeted at the office late at night during check-in by a closed office and was informed that they were ful and that all guests had checked in. I explained my plight that I made a reservation. they informed me that I had no reservation and they could not accomodate me. They blew me off like they didnt need my business. They were unable to find me another place to stay. I was stranded in OS 11PM at night with a party of 4 and no place to lay my head.
Afte arriving home to make a complaint, i was rudely informed that I should have called to confirm and that this was all my fault. Sounds like the business doesnt have their act together.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank jetboyerik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggmanager, Manager at Grey Gull, responded to this review, 27 September 2008
As the Manager of the Grey Gull - I encourage any guest that wishes to book their own lodging from their personal computers, to follow up with the property within 24 hours if you have not heard from them. You should not assume that the reservation went through if you did not get a message that a confirmation would be sent to you or that the hotel will respond to you soon. Such was the case with this gentleman's reservation, only the person typing the information at the time seeking a reservation and reading the screens knows what the computer systems are telling you - central reservation systems are live 24/7 and ever changing, we researched back to the date he claimed he made his reservation and our system had no record of him, not to say that he didn't attempt to make one, rather that from his personal computer he was unsuccessful - therefore we did not even know of his existence, and having not contacted us or followed up when he didn't receive any confirmation he arrived at the property to find he did not have a reseveration for our busy 4th of July holiday period. Our clerk suggested we check him in for the night and that we would assist him further but he was agitated and refused our assistance. It is unfortunate that his plans for a fun stay were not to be, when a phone call or email may have helped ward off his wasted energies and efforts. The Grey Gull regrets that we did not know of his existence and that we were unable to assist him based on his own actions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2008

Clean rooms, good service and friendly staff. Rooms weren't designed for quiet. We stayed on the ground floor and could hear every movement the floor above which woke us up two days in a row at 6AM - babies crying, dogs barking - you hear it all.

Biggest advantages: Pet friendly and right at the beach.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BozoHoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2008

The facility was clean and nicely appointed. The staff was very helpful and responded quickly when we asked for assistance. We stayed mid week during the off season and the facility was very quiet because there were few guests. It was a very nice place to get away for a quiet time at the beach, even though it rained most of the time we were there. We could watch the waves from our deck or even inside the unit. We chose a non-smoking and no pet unit. It appears that the management sticks to those requirements for such units.

  • Liked — Beach view
  • Disliked — A little too far from the beach
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CougDar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean Shores hotels
0.1 mi away
Canterbury Inn
Canterbury Inn
#1 of 14 in Ocean Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn
2.7 mi away
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
#6 of 14 in Ocean Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
#9 of 14 in Ocean Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Polynesian Resort
Polynesian Resort
#10 of 14 in Ocean Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Gull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Gull

Property: Grey Gull
Address: 651 Ocean Shores Blvd NW, Ocean Shores, WA 98569-9344
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Ocean Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ocean Shores
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ocean Shores
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean Shores
#4 Business Hotel in Ocean Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Grey Gull 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grey Gull is a condominium-hotel with 37 uniquely decorated, individually owned units. Located just steps from the beach, The Grey Gull offers great ocean views, a heated outdoor pool and hot tub, and BBQ area for convenient entertainment and a quality coastal experience. Each unit has a fully equipped kitchen, clean-burning gas fireplace, and balcony or patio. Many units are dog-friendly, so be sure to bring your best friend! Whether you are sneaking off for a quick weekend getaway for two or planning a full family reunion, The Grey Gull will have a room perfectly suited to your needs. Experience the Quiet Quality of The Grey Gull today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Grey Gull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grey Gull Ocean Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing