We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great quiet get away.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Shores Inn & Suites
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Ocean Shores
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Our family stayed in a cute 2 bedroom suite. The accommodations were clean. The staff at the front desk could have been a lot more helpful. I found them to be lazy and not have much knowledge of the area. Not eager to go out of their way to help you.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

My trip over to Ocean Shores was a spur-of-the-moment weekend trip. I wasn't exactly sure where I was going to end up, or even if I would stay the night in Ocean Shores. It was one of those trips I tended to advise against when I was a travel agent. After all, what if everywhere was full or the prices were higher than imagined?

Well, after getting lost on a dirt road in southwest Washington on my way to an out-of-the-way bar a read about but turned out to be closed for the day, the waning sunlight told me that continuing on around the Olympic Peninsula was not a good idea. So, I stopped in Ocean Shores, which was a waypoint I had planned anyway.

I found the Ocean Shores Inn & Suites in a quick search, but I wanted to check out other options, since I didn't know Ocean Shores well. Apparently, there was a bit pirate event in town, and it was a nice (though cold) weekend out there, so a lot of properties on the lower end of the rate scale were sold out. Actually, a lot of places were sold out. So, I revisited my initial search and got a room here.

The property is very close to the beach; not on it, but an easy walk. It's on the main street in town, so it's closer to restaurants, shops, etc.

However, the property could really use some upgrades and a little TLC. The room I was in, which was in a one-story section on the north side of the property, was a bit shabby. The beds were fairly comfortable and seemed clean, but the carpet was old. The bathroom was oddly shaped -- very long and narrow. There was a broken window in the bathroom; the outside pane was broken but the inside was not, though it's disappointing to look at the window and see the break.

There wasn't a lot in the way of lighting in the room and what it had was rather ineffective. There was a mini-fridge which worked, and a microwave.

I don't know if was just the fact that my room had a quasi-connecting door (and I say quasi because it was blocked by a table), but I heard everything next door.

What this property probably has going for it is the fact that it is oriented to families; there are units that have full kitchens so if a family were to stay here for a beachside holiday, it would be very convenient. There is a lounge and meeting area, so during the high summer season, I'm sure this place is hoppin'.

But the property itself needs some scrubbing and sprucing up. It's just old and run down.

However, the staff I came in contact with were very good, friendly, and quite helpful.

For one night, it was serviceable, but for a longer stay, I would probably look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank fly14wta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The great staff, decent TV and heater/fireplace were the only redeeming features of our stay at this location. The members were very responsive to our requests - trouble is we needed them far too many times in our 2 night stay.
Drawbacks:
The non-smoking room smelled of smoke or something unpleasant. The couch, and chair cushions at the table were so bad we sunk almost down to our chins. The kitchenette was way less than desirable: coffee pot didn't work; stove elements only worked on high and set off the smoke alarm when turned on; no kettle; broken/missing tile in front of the sink; only one fork in the utensil drawer; no wine glasses, mixing bowls etc; fridge door opened toward the wall; horrible, mismatched old dishes. The only mirror in the whole place was in the bathroom.
The curtains closed, but with lights on all night right outside the window the bedroom could not be darkened.
The overall electric lighting was terrible.
The key card would not work most of the time and we had to be told by maintenance how to properly close the door so it would.
The entrance door moulding was crumbling on the inside.
Pluses:
The space was good and well- laid out.
The bedroom was adequate with a decent king bed, dresser and closet space, but no mirror.
The bathroom was also adequate but mold was evident on the tub tile. Good shower.
The electric heater fireplace with fan.
Great sized patio if one was staying there in the summer.

I would not recommend this place to anyone I cared about. Even though we had a good deal, it was so out-dated and tacky it was not worth the little $$$$ we paid - $88.00 for 2 nights at the beginning of Jan. We will not be back to this hotel.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay here, avoid room 207.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nautigirl246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

A little dated but very clean. Super friendly staff. Love the indoor heated pool and central location. You can't really beat their seasonal specials. We are staying here for $69 a night! It is a 2 story condo set up with 3 queens. Kitchenette and 2 full baths. Love love love this place.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LightningRod74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean S, General Manager at Ocean Shores Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are in the process of updating our units. We hope you keep coming back to see the upgrades as they happen. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I read the reviews. I always keep an open mind about staying at a new place. This place however needs to review the customer reviews.
We got this 2 night suite with a bottle of wine (Oak Leaf-- the stuff you get at the gas station for $3.99) for 99$ through a deal saver. When we got there, they were advertsing their rates for 49$ a night. Which was only $1 cheaper then what we paid, but we truly thought we were getting a deal.

Pros:
Location was perfect.
The girl at the front desk (Sarah I think) was very friendly!!!
Room size was great.
Bathtub size was great.
Kitchette* was great.
The bed** was VERY comfortable. We both slept great!

Cons:
Smoke alarm did not work, I had to go get a replacement battery.
No curtain in living room/ bedroom window.- This would have been ok if the roof was right there and the access for someone to get up there and look through the windows would have been very easy.
* The Fridge. Ohhhh Myyyy Wooorrdd! I am convinced that I got the King Suite Studio room that the other guy talked about. The fridge ran and ran and ran. We brought our food from home as to save money on this mini trip. We put our food in the fridge, along with the left over pizza we had that night. (First night there) The next morning we woke up to a huge amount of water on the kitchen floor and then we opened the fridge. The pizza box was completely full of water. We had to drain the water out and throw the soggy pizza away. Which was a bummer because we were going to have that for lunch left overs. The bottom shelf in the fridge had turned into a large chunk of ice. The rest of our food was pretty much damaged. I was not about to rinse off and eat the water soaked veggies.

The smell. WOW. I don't know if this used to be a pet or smoking room or maybe it's just the stale left over food smell. It was horrible. We opened up the bathroom window and the front door to let it air out a bit. However, I had to wash all of our clothes twice to get the smell out when we got home.

**The bed. While above I mentioned how comfy it was, it was filthy. There were long black hairs all over the pillow cases, we pulled back the comforter and the sheets were tinged yellow. Most hotels you can smell the soap and bleach on the sheets/pillow cases. Not in the room we had. Lucky for us we brought our own pillows and sleeping bags to throw over the top.

The floor lamp in the corner was missing screws and almost fell apart when we turned it on.

The dining room table and chairs were ok, but the one chair was stained very bad and when you sat in it, it wiggled like the screws were very loose.

The TV-- I read another review from someone from a month or two befor my stay. The first thing the girl told me when we got there was "We have been having issues with our tv's" I silently laughed in my head. The stations were hit and miss. One minute you would get channel 32 but 5 minutes later it would be gone. None of the local (4/5/7/13) channels worked the whole time we were there.

I think that there are permanent residents at this hotel also. Our neighbors had patio chairs and we did not. They also had an ashtray that was over flowed the whole time we were there.

As you may have read in my other reviews I am not opposed to stay in a "dive" type place, but this was gross. Will we stay here again? I doubt it. Like I said the employees were very nice. I don't think I could handle the smell or the fridge again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinibaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean S, General Manager at Ocean Shores Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on our hotel. We are updating our property more and more all the time. The fridge has since been replaced, we no longer allow smoking on the walkways, the t.v channels are all up and running now, and we have started installing bamboo flooring starting with the bottom floor. I hope you come back and give us another try and see all of our updates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We had a wonderful time on our trip to Ocean shores. Saw deer out our window. It was very comfortable. We had a view of the shores, saw people walking and flying kites. Near good restaurants and close to the casino. Beautiful drives. Customer Service was excellent. We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean S, General Manager at Ocean Shores Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for the kind words. We look forward to having you as our guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Another great 3-day trip with our 4-legged kids. Hotel is very pet friendly, staff always makes each person feel important and welcome. We make this our 3-day get-away at least 3 or more times a year. Plenty of room to sit an relax or walk along the beach. We do feel a furniture upgrade should be done within the year since the couch is threadbare and has many slits that have been sewn over. We always cover the couch with a bed sheet but rarely have felt it necessary until this trip. Our dogs are not furniture dogs but we feel it is a courtesy for any one staying after us since our dogs like to sit in our laps while reading or watching TV. We will return but hope an update is in the near future if more than 2 return trips don't see a change.

Room Tip: First floor perfect for pets. Door to the outside is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean S, Manager at Ocean Shores Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean Shores hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
#7 of 14 in Ocean Shores
310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canterbury Inn
Canterbury Inn
#1 of 14 in Ocean Shores
581 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#8 of 14 in Ocean Shores
279 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
#9 of 14 in Ocean Shores
497 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
#10 of 14 in Ocean Shores
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Shores Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Shores Inn & Suites

Address: 648 Ocean Shores Blvd NW, Ocean Shores, WA 98569-9344
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Ocean Shores
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean Shores
Price Range: £31 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Shores Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Shores Inn & Suites is a condominium hotel - condos with daily and weekly rentals. Available units range from studios to one, two and three-bedrooms. Most units come fully equipped with full size kitchens. Many units include fireplaces. Heated indoor pool and heated seasonal outdoor pool. Walking distance to the beach, shopping and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ocean Shores Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Shores Hotel Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing