We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a great meal to be found here”
Review of Galway Bay

Galway Bay
Ranked #1 of 47 Restaurants in Ocean Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, Soups, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lacey, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always a great meal to be found here”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We've come here both times we've been to ocean shores. The service is great, the house beer is fantastic, and the Irish food is GOOD. The pasties are really filling and the whiskey cream sauce is delicious. Got the artichoke crab dip as an appetizer, and it was terrific as well. It would be nice if they had a couple more Irish dishes for kids, but that's just being nit-picky. I'm happy to see him inhale his mac and cheese.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Slaterator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    172
    55
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
109 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Take Care of the Customers You Have”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My spouse and I went to Galway Bay last Friday and Saturday nights. Our main purpose was to see Maggie's Fury, a band from Bellingham which plays mainly Irish music. The music was good, but the restaurant's hospitality left something to be desired. In their effort to maximize their income, the management wanted to preserve the good tables for guests that were not there at the expense of the guests who were there. That is, if the management thought you were not going to order a full meal in the main bar area, they tried to direct you to sit at the bar or at least away from the tables close to the band. This left the impression that the guests who were not there were more important than the guests who were. As it was on Saturday night, several of the good tables were left empty since the more important guests never showed up. I would think that it would be better to take care of the guests who actually came to the restaurant.

My spouse and I did eat. I only had the clam chowder, which was very good. My spouse had a full meal: the shepherd's pie. The shepherd's pie had plenty of meat and was very good although it could have had more colcannon (mashed potatoes with cabbage). However, my spouse being Irish, there are never enough potatoes. The shepherd's pie cost $18.99 which is $5.00 too much. Beer and wine were reasonably priced at about $6.00 a glass. The soda bread was good but not as good as my spouse's, which has raisins and is therefore moister. The Death by Chocolate piece of cake was large (more than enough for two people) and delicious. It cost $7.50.

We ate at Galway Bay several years ago. The hospitality then was better than it was this time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Seala_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Authentic Irish Cuisine”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Recently expanded and has live Irish music on the weekends. Great Irish food and lots of Irish whiskey.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Angeles, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must-eat in Ocean Shores”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Had early dinner during the week with my young family of five. We were warmly greeted and seated right away at a table on which the kids could draw with chalk, which helped keep the 2-year old occupied the entire time. Service was great, never felt ignored. The decor was entertaining and fun. We enjoyed everything we ate: soda bread, potato soup, bleu cheese steak, fish & chips and shepherd's pie. I thought the prices were a bit high, but this was during a family vacation and I wasn't too concerned. We will most definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scottypa7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Irish food with style and unbelievable atmosphere”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This is not just a restaurant....this dining experience is aesthetic, with live music, and specialty Irish shopping under one roof. In October the largest Irish festival takes place through the Galway bay. The food is delicious, including soda bread and fantastic steaks cooked to perfection. And did I mention the wine? Class.....by the glass. A place for everyone not to be missed. The outstanding service, food, and atmosphere makes this place 5star.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ann g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galway Bay also viewed

 

Been to Galway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing