We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dining Experience”
Review of Shilo Restaurant

Shilo Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Shilo Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 46 Restaurants in Ocean Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$32
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: There is nothing better than the combination of great food, excellent service and convenience! The Shilo Restaurant and full service bar are located across from the Hotel Lobby. We serve a variety of Northwest favorites along with a wide-range selection of classic American dishes your whole family will enjoy. Walk-ins are always welcome, but feel free to make a reservation.
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Our waitress, Cheryl, was outstanding. She was friendly, curtious, prompt and even arranged a breakfast meal for my wife that was not on the regular menu. Hats off also to the chef, Curtis. Our meals were well prepared and very tasty, even the coffee and ice tea were very good. We were very pleased with the food and the service and returned again for another fine breakfast. We both felt we were made to feel welcome and enjoyed the quiet atmosphere of the place. Our booth was comfortable and the view very pleasant. Our experience at the Shilo in Seaside, Oregon was a similar one, fast, friendly service with good food at reasonable prices and a nice view to enjoy while dining.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Ron B,

We appreciate your kind words. Thank you. You note will be posted in the service area for the entire team to read. I will especially take the time to convey your and our thanks to Cheryl and Curtis for a job well done. The fact that you took the time to mention their names is important to us.

We look forward to seeing you again

Best regards,

Mike Smith
Shilo Restaurant and Lounge
Ocean Shores, WA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,096)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

968 - 972 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We came into the restaurant and had to seat ourself. The waitress / bartender, whom was less than 6 feet from us totally ignored us for at least 15 minutes, while she conversaited with a couple sitting at the fireplace! She looked at us several times, and totally ignored us. I kept staring at my watch while she was looking at us. And she never made an attempt to even offer us a menu or a drink of water. She should be fired from that establishment! I'm going to file a complaint with the management!!! I wouldn't recommend this place to my worst enemy!!! We just got up and left. The waitress/bartender was still chatting away she didn't even noticed us leaving!!!!!! Wow... Eat at McDonald the service is at least 150% better...

Thank fabb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Assistant Director of Restaurant Operations at Shilo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Firstly, I need to apologize for the experience you encountered recently at our Ocean Shores location. The events you described in your review is not acceptable and normal practice at any of our Shilo operated restaurants. I was hoping that we could discuss this further and also invite you back for a complimentary meal on us. If you are willing to do so, please contact me by either phone or email, both provided below. Again, I apologize and hope to hear from you soon.

Thank you,

Laura Acton
Assistant Director
Restaurant Operations
503-440-9675
laura.acton@shiloinns.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed at the hotel in late February, there were quite a few guests at hotel and restaurant and our experience was great, we were greeted and seated promptly both times we ate. We had breakfast Friday morning and came back for dinner on Friday night and both times were great experiences. Some times some of the reviews seem to nitpick services however every one we came in contact with we're above and beyond plus the food was exceptional for "off season" we will be back as we love the ocean shores "RELAXED TOURIST ATOSMPHERE". Plus you could even have Deer join you for dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Assistant Director of Restaurant Operations at Shilo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Tim H,

Firstly, thank you so much for leaving such a great 5 star review! I’m glad you had such a pleasing experience and were able to enjoy Ocean Shores in the off season. I will be sure to share your review with the Ocean Shores team and thank them for their hard work and continued commitment to excellence.

Thank you again for taking the time to leave your feedback! We look forward to you visiting again soon!

Thank you,

Laura Acton
Assistant Director
Restaurant Operations
503-440-9675

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Not sure some of Trip Advisor reviews are helpful or accurate with this restaurant---arrived
at 10:05. Breakfast ends at 11:00 AM---very busy---Hostess seated us and advised "we may experience slow service" due to last night snow----more showed up for breakfast than expected.... Remember, this is winter and not close to even "shoulder" season---there is no such thing as "off season" It is a time to visit watch storms roll in, laze out in a warm room by the fire,
shop, eat out, drive up the coast, visit the Damon Point Nature Center and relax.
Waitress arrived almost immediately---Water and Coffee and hot tea followed also very shortly---
Nice that water is automatic as diabetics need to be sure they are hydrated (This does not always happen in other restaurants in Ocean Shores)---the Waffle with pigs
arrived along and the order of two eggs Over easy (just right) with fantastic shreddies---- and large portions arrived very quickly---frequent visits from staff for refills suggested and quality checks....
The menu was not "limited" as previously reported. There are no "servers" here, all are wait persons in uniform dress.
These were observed to be very busy, friendly and attentive to patron's needs.
No errors were made in our orders....This is not a restaurant where a Chef of Ocean Crest Resort fame prepares food (theirs is still closed)...but, French toast is French toast maybe with a dust of Powdered sugar butter and syrup===nothing more nor less and so to a waffle was not embellished but typically a round waffle served with butter and maple syrup---- To opine that the "atmosphere" was dated shows an expectation not commensurate with reality---This is a convention center, a large one, that does well and appears professional....none of the booths, tables, chairs nor décor showed wear or evidence of out-dated style for an ocean resort typical of Shilo Motel units elsewhere.... This community is a laid back residential resort community and it is just Wrong to expect upscale digs....if that is what folks want, then retreat, spend your hard earned dollars in Tacoma at the Murano, or the Hilton, and commute to the beach....One will get more bang for your buck here than any other resort community in Western Washington. Note: Many of the local hotels and motels offer a breakfast---and so to does the Shilo for its residents---It is on the menue as well--- If Bob Hope could live here so can you! Nothing commercial here is dated from the 50's and 60's anymore/.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tsunamisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Assistant Director of Restaurant Operations at Shilo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Tsunamisam,

We are so happy to hear you had such an enjoyable experienced during your recent visit to our Ocean Shores Restaurant. Your kind words are greatly appreciated and I am happy to hear that the combination of the food and the guest service made your visit so enjoyable. I will be sure to share this review with the entire Ocean Shores team and thank them for their hard work and commitment!

Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope you visit us again soon!

Thank you,

Laura Acton
Assistant Director
Restaurant Operations
503-440-9675

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We have stayed at the hotel before which was great. The restaurant for breakfast leaves a lot to be desired. We have eaten there 5-6 times with only a time or two having good service( because of a nice, blonde, middle aged waitress that has worked there a long time ). It's not the food that is the problem. It's some of the staff, and management. On two different occaisions we were given discounts for either an extremely long wait due to the waitress ( Betty ) messing up our order, or in todays case ( again Betty) for half our food being cold, and no butter on the toast and a really long wait. We are not picky people, and honestly this is my first restaurant review. The reason I'm writing this is in hopes the Shilo restaurant will get a better manager and improve their service. The Shilo is in a great location, with nice views and ample space. The food is good when it is served hot. Not sure if its the kitchens fault it was cold, or the waitresses for not getting it out soon enough. While we got 50 % off our bill today which was a nice gesture ( we did not ask for it ) It is obviously poor management that allows this to continue. Betty may be a nice person but she is an aweful waitress. When she asked how our food was, I was honest and said it was cold and my husbands toast had no butter on it. She said she must of mixed his toast up with someone else's and didn't even apologize, or offer to bring him new toast. He was instead given a cold, hard butter pat for his toast. Never got coffee refills . The guy behind us finally had to get up and ask for butter and syrup for his French toast that had been sitting in front of him for at least five minutes , getting cold. In the time we were there two other tables were complaining, and one table just got up and left. They must be losing a lot of money by giving discounts left and right to make up for poor customer service. Come on Shilo, you can do better than this ! Until your service improves we will go elsewhere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mom22chihua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

• Dear mom22chihua,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience at our restaurant. Simply, if you were not satisfied, then the imperative is ours to try harder and better in the future. When I asked Betty to waive half the cost of your meal, It was meant as a good faith gesture. Please know that this is not a necessary common practice. We also post all online reviews so our entire team can learn from demerits as well as kudos. Feedback is how we move forward, so thank you.
Perhaps you will give us another try the next time you’re in town. We hope so.

Best regards,
Mike Smith
Shilo Restaurant & Lounge
General Manager
707 Ocean Shores Blvd NW
Ocean Shores, WA 98569
main: 360.289.4600

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shilo Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Shilo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing