We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Polynesian Resort in Ocean Shores”
Review of Polynesian Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Polynesian Resort
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Ocean Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Tacoma, Washington, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Polynesian Resort in Ocean Shores”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We come to Ocean Shores as a large group and wish to have a full kitchen...the two bedroom units help us sleep all giving us extra room. Staff was helpful and the stay was refreshing. The children with us were ages 3 to 16 and they all had something to keep them busy...on the beach, in town and around or in the pool. Breakfast on the weekdays was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mildred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    48
    19
    9
    2
See reviews for
60
38
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed during the weekend of June 21 through the 23rd, and it was amazing! When we checked in, Ken at the front desk was brimming forth with knowledge on the resort and the city we were staying in. He asked us about our kids so as to give us ideas of activities to keep them occupied. It was wonderful to find someone so interested in making our weekend spectacular! The Polynesian offers pet rooms which I thought was great, although we did not bring a pet. The suite was beautiful and fully equipped to handle our little family. The options the hotel had for us was the cherry on top. From a make-your-own waffle breakfast, to renting brand new movies from the lobby, to a park just outside, minutes away (walking) to the beach, to the pool, sauna, and hot tub...the list goes on! I thought it was especially endearing to have a children's guest book in our suite, so that our kids could tell others of their experience too!
I have to also mention we came on a weekend that Ocean Shores was having The Sand and Sawdust Festival and the town was packed!! I was told the hotel was completely booked, however we never saw any of the staff without a smile or kind word. Once we were done with the chaos of downtown it was so relaxing to go back to the hotel and enjoy their pool and park for the rest of the day. The Polynesian made this the ideal get away weekend for my family! Thank you!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Courtney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShannonVVA, General Manager at Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while staying with us. We strive to please all of our guests and it’s nice to be appreciated. We have many great amenities here at The Polynesian and it sounds like your family was able to enjoy many of them. We look forward to seeing you again upon your next visit to Ocean Shores!

Tate Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I will start with the good points about this hotel...the view is really nice, you get a balcony, and if you are a pet lover they let you bring your dog. We didn't bring a dog but we did like seeing the two labs that were on the balcony next door. There wasn't and issue with noise for us.

That is pretty much where it ends. The beds are not very comfortable, the pillows were flat, the linens are old, the rooms are very dated, and the hotel associated with the restaurant was a last resort for us.

If I could give this hotel 2.5 stars I would. If you are on a budget and want to save money on vacation by cooking in your room you could. The rooms have cook tops so you could just bring food for your self. The staff are very kind but I feel like they cheat you by not doing breakfast on the weekends. You are forced to eat at the casino, McDonalds, or the restaurant just outside of the hotel. The "buffet" is really just the kind of food you would eat at camp when you were a kid. I am positive everything either comes from a can or is heat and serve.

We only stayed here because some friends invited us and this was the location they booked before hand. If I am in the area again I will stay at another location where the beds are more comfortable and the decor and bedding is from the current decade.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mypnwlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShannonVVA, General Manager at Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
I was glad to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful view from your balcony and many guests do enjoy the fact that we are pet friendly. I was disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your bed as we have pillow top mattresses in all of our rooms and continue to upgrade each year . New linens and pillows are purchased twice a year and the old ones donated to the local animal shelter. While you indicate your unit had a cooktop, most of our suites offer a full kitchen. We actually do offer the continental breakfast Mon-Sat and our on-site restaurant offers a family oriented breakfast buffet every Sunday, made fresh from our kitchen, that is very popular with our guests and local residents.

Tate Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enumclaw, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This is one of the better hotels to stay at while in Ocean Shores, but they need to do some updating. I been staying here off and on for 20+ years and not much has changed. We continue to stay because of the amenities. The kitchenettes are very nice to have though I wish they were stocked a little better with pots and pans. It makes cooking interesting sometimes.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jaclyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShannonVVA, General Manager at Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to continually improve upon our guest experience. We work towards updating our property every year by purchasing new beds, furniture, televisions, tile flooring, new counter tops and carpet. Our guests really do enjoy having kitchens in their rooms. Pots and pans are generally included in our standard kitchen inventory. If there is something missing you are always welcome to call the desk and have it delivered to your room. We look forward to seeing you upon your next visit to Ocean Shores.

Thank you-
Tate Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We stayed from April 11th-13th, the room was very functional, and hotel is located near everything. The room was spacious and allowed us to have our dog, which is helpful as he is part of the family. The bathrooms could really use some work. There was a sunken spot on the floor near the tub, It gives you almost vertigo to stand up in that room as the floor is sinking in the master bathroom. One night there was noise from the floor above us, and some noise in the hallway, but other than that, it was a very pleasant stay. The staff is very accommodating and helpful, but the rooms are dated and some structural problems with the bathroom subfloor were ignored by the owners.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that has never been a smoking room. Some of the rooms have residual odor from when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roadtripper39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, WA
Level Contributor
207 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

For a beach hotel in a small beach town this place is pretty good overall. The hotel has obviously been here for some time and shows some wear. My room on the third floor had a leak from all the rain in the area - just inside the sliding glass door. The staff was aware of it and they had placed a towel in the track of the door to soak up the water. The beach environment can be pretty tough on structures, so this was no surprise having stayed in many such hotels over the years.
The leak didn't bother me, but the rock hard king bed did result in difficulty sleeping. That bed had to be one of the worst I have ever been subjected to - it was like sleeping on a piece of plywood. The room itself was very clean and well appointed for a beach hotel. Staff members I spoke to were very helpful and respectful. The conference room our car club used for a meeting was just fine. The attached restaurant also served decent food and had great service with very upbeat attentive waiters. The Wi-Fi worked great and parking is free. They offer a daily continental breakfast, which was pretty typical of say a Best Western or Comfort Inn.

In my view this is an average beach hotel and for families visiting the beach nearby this is probably a good place to stay. The staff is very friendly and accommodating which is a big plus in my opinion.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top (3rd) floor have the best view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Major12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShannonVVA, General Manager at Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Polynesian Resort. We are in the process of upgrading our rooms and those are coming along well. We did experience a significant storm during your stay and you’re exactly right, these conditions can impact the physical integrity of the oceanfront buildings from time to time.

I was sorry to hear about your experience with the bed. Many of our beds have been recently replaced. Please never hesitate to let our staff know if something isn’t to your satisfaction so we can move you to a room that will better suit your needs. I really appreciate the nice comments regarding our staff. They truly work hard to provide excellent service and take great care of our customers. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.

Tate Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Our church has been holding our Leaders Retreat here for a few years. Every year the staff is so inviting and friendly! Over 30 of us were there and they were very accomodating to our needs. All the ammenties and the views were the extra blessings we received! We'll be back next year!

Room Tip: The Penthouse has an amazing view with a great layout for group get togethers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank byFaithDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean Shores hotels
0.1 mi away
Canterbury Inn
Canterbury Inn
#1 of 14 in Ocean Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
#6 of 14 in Ocean Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
0.9 mi away
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
#9 of 14 in Ocean Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#7 of 14 in Ocean Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polynesian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polynesian Resort

Property: Polynesian Resort
Address: 615 Ocean Shores Blvd NW, Ocean Shores, WA 98569-9344
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Ocean Shores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Polynesian Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Polynesian Resort, located on the beach in beautiful Ocean Shores, Washington, is the state's most visited seaside destination. The Polynesian, one of the favorite condo-resorts, proudly offers exceptional oceanfront and ocean view lodging choices for you and your family. Enjoy one of our spacious suites with one or two bedrooms and a full-size kitchen. Perfect for a family vacation! You can enjoy our sparkling clear indoor heated pool, spa and sauna, complimentary wi-fi, a game room with pool table and a wonderful outdoor private park with basketball, volleyball and picnic facilities. You'll find our on-site restaurant and lounge, Mariah's, the finest on Washington's central coast. Mariah's is well-known for its succulent seafood, prime rib and steaks cooked to perfection and savory pasta. Mariah's is open every day for dinner and also for a delicious Sunday Breakfast Buffet. The Polynesian Resort on Washington's Central Coast is where family fun and relaxation begins. With miles of sandy beaches, plenty of local shopping and parks, golf and more, you will never run out of things to do during your coast getaway at The Polynesian Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Polynesian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Hotel Ocean Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing