We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for pets”
Review of Polynesian Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Polynesian Resort
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Ocean Shores
Reviewed 8 July 2009

This is a place that seemed like it was really hopping in the 1960s and maybe into the 1970s. The entertaining history of the hotel provided in the info packet in the room told of celebrities that had stayed there in the past, such as Tiny Tim, Diana Ross (or was it Dionne Warwick?), etc. Since then, it seems to have retooled itself as a family-friendly and pet-friendly place. It is an L-shaped complex with a parking lot where you can park right in front of your door, and a circular restaurant in the middle. Like many others, we were attracted by their pet-friendly policy. I was surprised to see how many people had their dogs staying with them at the same time we were there, but by no means were we disturbed by excessive noise or anything else. It's a quick walk to the beach, and there is a good-sized grassy area just behind the hotel where poop bags and even a hose (to wash your dog off after his swim) are provided. We found the restaurant's food decently priced by mediocre, but then heard that it is probably the best restaurant in town. One last thing; this is not the only pet-friendly place in town. We were surprised to see four or five other signs on nearby hotels saying that they were pet-friendly -- probably not surprising seeing how well the Polynesian draws in the Seattle dog crowd. Still, we would probably stay here next time we came to Ocean Shores.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pbfarfallina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2009

We went on a Sunday and we were supposed to leave Tuesday but we loved it so much, we stayed for another day. It is just a short distance to the beach and the last hotel at the end of the road if you want a little privacy. The room was big, clean, and a great view. The staff was friendly and helpful. Make sure you visit their website and if you call to make reservations mention any specials they may have we got a great deal on our room. Saved over half the price. I would go back there in a minute.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hopec62884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

We decided to take a weekend trip to Ocean Shores to let our dog run on the beach, and chose the Polynesian due to it being one of the only places to be pet friendly, according to the TA advanced search. At $90 dollars a night, we felt it was a reasonable price. The location to the beach was nice; a five minute walk through the dunes. After tiring out our dog in the water, the hotel's pet area had a hose so we could rinse off the salt and sand. As far as the rooms go, they are simple rooms; nothing extravagant. The continental breakfast was decent, with assorted pastries, cereals, bagels, and a waffle maker. Only problem is that they only serve the breakfast Monday-Saturday, which we thought was kind of wierd. The pool was one of the warmest I've ever been in, but sometimes the crowds of kids fill the pool up quickly. The games room had a nice selection of arcade games, as well as a pool table.
Overall, if you are coming to Ocean Shores and want fun place to stay that is close to the beach, but don't want to overspend, the Polynesian is a good choice.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cps102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2008

Everything was great! We had a junior suite which had a large bedroom. The kitchen was a great size. The pool was nice and warm and there's a great game room. Walking to the beach was easy and it was nice to walk instead of getting the car full of sand! This hotel is right downtown so walking to and from the little shops was great! We really liked staying here and hope to go back soon. Just remember, this is a pet friendly hotel so be ready to see, hear and smell animals.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plopper126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2008

The place was not al that bad. Rooms were a little dingy but ok. The game room was cool spent a lot of time there with the kids. What really was kind of funny they ran out of food on Saturday morning at around 8:00AM, two hours before it was suppose to be over. Not one person that was in the dinning room even got so much as a sorry or we'll comp you some kind of meal in town. The hostess simply said we ran out and we hope to get some in before Monday, mind you this was a Saturday, and there web site boasted there Hot waffles, eggs, etc.., Also over hearing the hostess at the front desk giving different price on the exact same room to three different sets of guest as we were checking in. WILL NOT STAY THERE AGIAN. They can feed there waffles to the pets that stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ob1knobbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2008

We decided to book this hotel because it was one of the very few places in Ocean Shores that would take pets. We had 2 dacshunds, but the front desk only charged us for 1 because they were so tiny. The room was $97/night for a 1 bedroom suite that was VERY spacious for a family traveling with 3 children, 2 of which are 15mnths and 2mnths, 2 adults and 2 dogs. The rooms were surprisingly clean. I was expecting the rooms to smell like dog, and find corners with dog hair. I am VERY picky about the places I stay at, and the Polynesian was a great find!!! I would definately stay here again. The staff were friendly and accomodating. The pool was a little small, but the kids had fun. The games in the game room were outdated, but we weren't there to play videogames. The continental breakfast was nothing to write home about, but it was free...so why complain?

While in Ocean Shores, we ate at Emily's and Mariah's for dinner. Both had really great service but Mariah's definately had better food. I had the seafood fettuccini and for dessert, we had chocolate macaroons and the raspberry bread pudding. It was pretty good! At Emily's we ordered this crisp that tasted like dog crap...or that is what I would imagine dog crap to taste like. They did not even bother to have it resemble a crisp, since they just dumped uncooked oatmeal out of the can on top of it and called it good. Emily's is definately more updated, but it's a casino....if you don't mind the smell of smoke hitting you as enter the door, then this is the place for you.

Overall, it was a good 4 day weekend getaway for under $500 including gas, food, accomodations, and entertainment.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FBmomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2008

This is our 2nd stay at the Polynesian and our 7th stay at Ocean Shores over the last 12 years.

Positives: Location, Amenities, Dog Friendly, Terrific Staff, Warm Indoor Pool

Negatives: Sheets & towels were older, but seemed very clean.

This is a very casual beach property with 1-2 bdrm rooms w/kitchens and fireplaces. It is VERY plain but w/decent furnishings. Although there is some aging occurring, I have seen almost ZERO dirt! In fact I have seen a lot more dirt in the corners of floors, on headboards, around toilets etc... of very fancy (4-5 star) hotels. I couldn't even find a dusty light fixture in the ceiling! The staff is very friendly and accomodating and there are movies to watch, a small but adequate breakfast available, luggage carts to borrow etc... a warm pool/whirpool and decently equipped kitchens in the rooms.

These are condos but seem to be all similarly decorated. The decor is very plain, and there is nothing fancy about the Polynesian. However, I don't think there is anything fancy in Ocean Shores. It is a very laid-back seaside community with very friendly people. And, the places that take dogs are all about the same in regards to quality and room configurations.

Keep in mind that although these are called "beach-front" properties - they are a good 10-15min walk through some shallow sand/grass dunes to reach the expansive beach. (See pics) But, you can drive 3 mins down and park right on the beach if you like. The beach is gorgeous and huge!

While in Oc.Shores be sure to visit Tsunami Beads where you can pick out your favorite beads and the guys will make a beautiful piece of jewelry for you, or choose from their gorgeous pre-made items. And, stop at Fusion Gallery for some unique glass art. For food - our favorite is Dugans!

We have visited Seaside and Cannon Beach, Oregon both and find Ocean Shores to be the absolute best for pets and kids!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RealEstateDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean Shores hotels
0.1 mi away
Canterbury Inn
Canterbury Inn
#1 of 14 in Ocean Shores
588 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
#9 of 14 in Ocean Shores
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
#7 of 14 in Ocean Shores
498 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#8 of 14 in Ocean Shores
279 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
#10 of 14 in Ocean Shores
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polynesian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polynesian Resort

Address: 615 Ocean Shores Blvd NW, Ocean Shores, WA 98569-9344
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Ocean Shores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean Shores
Price Range: £81 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Polynesian Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Polynesian Resort, located on the beach in beautiful Ocean Shores, Washington, is the state's most visited seaside destination. The Polynesian, one of the favorite condo-resorts, proudly offers exceptional oceanfront and ocean view lodging choices for you and your family. Enjoy one of our spacious suites with one or two bedrooms and a full-size kitchen. Perfect for a family vacation! You can enjoy our sparkling clear indoor heated pool, spa and sauna, complimentary wi-fi, a game room with pool table and a wonderful outdoor private park with basketball, volleyball and picnic facilities. You'll find our on-site restaurant and lounge, Mariah's, the finest on Washington's central coast. Mariah's is well-known for its succulent seafood, prime rib and steaks cooked to perfection and savory pasta. Mariah's is open every day for dinner and also for a delicious Sunday Breakfast Buffet. The Polynesian Resort on Washington's Central Coast is where family fun and relaxation begins. With miles of sandy beaches, plenty of local shopping and parks, golf and more, you will never run out of things to do during your coast getaway at The Polynesian Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Polynesian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Hotel Ocean Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing