We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its all good.........”
Review of Polynesian Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Polynesian Resort
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Ocean Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Its all good.........”
Reviewed 29 July 2009

Myself and my three kids stayed for 4 nights. Also joining us was my g/f and her two kids. We stayed in room 201 which was a two beedroom condo for a GREAT rate. I dont dare put it on here.....they have my number! Anyway the room was nice. Nothing fancy...older but functional. One beedroom had a TV and VCR. My kids asked me what it was. Told em it was a PB @ J holder. The living room did have a nice LCD tv and a dvd player. We rented movies from the video store down the street each day. The couch also folded out to a bed. The kitchen was fully functional with EVERYTHING you would need. NOTE: DO NOT shop at local IGA store. It was VERY expensive. Stop at Aberdeen and go to Wal-Mart. There is a fireplace in the room. Bring your own wood....we did and it was great. They give you one log per day. There was two very nice decks to sit on also. I have no complaints. I will say if you are one of those people who must have the best of everything. Go to Hawaii. There was a couple at the front desk complaining about the musty damp smell in the hall and room. ITS THE OCEAN!!! The clerks at the desk were awesome! So to sum up the room....no complaints....older but nice. Reminded me of two bedroom apt in college. Moving on...there is a nice park next door. You can sit on the deck and watch the kids. The pool was....well....very warm. I would hate to see the heat bill for that. Now....here is the tidbit of the trip. We asked the front desk where the best spot was to get access to the ocean. Yes, you can walk from the hotel. We had to many kids to do so. She sent us down the road about five miles. From the its a 100yd walk. Also, when you come in town you can park on the beach next to the Shilo. I will say this...that was a ZOO!!!!There was 50 to 75 cars parked within 300 yards of each other! Might as well had a demo derby there. Anyway...the tibit i promised....Go west out of the hotel parking lot. About a half mile down start looking right. They are not marked as beach access until you turn right and about 200 yards down THEN they put all the rules and regulation signs. You can drive right onto the beach. You can drive about 3 miles along the water. They are a total of three access along the road. Honestly....there were maybe 10 -15 can along that 3 mile stretch. We spent alot of time just driving around the beach. Maybe we drove threw the waves once or twice. Sorry Enterprise Rental.....we did wash it before we returned it!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dande67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    48
    19
    9
    2
See reviews for
60
38
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2009

This is a place that seemed like it was really hopping in the 1960s and maybe into the 1970s. The entertaining history of the hotel provided in the info packet in the room told of celebrities that had stayed there in the past, such as Tiny Tim, Diana Ross (or was it Dionne Warwick?), etc. Since then, it seems to have retooled itself as a family-friendly and pet-friendly place. It is an L-shaped complex with a parking lot where you can park right in front of your door, and a circular restaurant in the middle. Like many others, we were attracted by their pet-friendly policy. I was surprised to see how many people had their dogs staying with them at the same time we were there, but by no means were we disturbed by excessive noise or anything else. It's a quick walk to the beach, and there is a good-sized grassy area just behind the hotel where poop bags and even a hose (to wash your dog off after his swim) are provided. We found the restaurant's food decently priced by mediocre, but then heard that it is probably the best restaurant in town. One last thing; this is not the only pet-friendly place in town. We were surprised to see four or five other signs on nearby hotels saying that they were pet-friendly -- probably not surprising seeing how well the Polynesian draws in the Seattle dog crowd. Still, we would probably stay here next time we came to Ocean Shores.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbfarfallina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2009

We went on a Sunday and we were supposed to leave Tuesday but we loved it so much, we stayed for another day. It is just a short distance to the beach and the last hotel at the end of the road if you want a little privacy. The room was big, clean, and a great view. The staff was friendly and helpful. Make sure you visit their website and if you call to make reservations mention any specials they may have we got a great deal on our room. Saved over half the price. I would go back there in a minute.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hopec62884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

We decided to take a weekend trip to Ocean Shores to let our dog run on the beach, and chose the Polynesian due to it being one of the only places to be pet friendly, according to the TA advanced search. At $90 dollars a night, we felt it was a reasonable price. The location to the beach was nice; a five minute walk through the dunes. After tiring out our dog in the water, the hotel's pet area had a hose so we could rinse off the salt and sand. As far as the rooms go, they are simple rooms; nothing extravagant. The continental breakfast was decent, with assorted pastries, cereals, bagels, and a waffle maker. Only problem is that they only serve the breakfast Monday-Saturday, which we thought was kind of wierd. The pool was one of the warmest I've ever been in, but sometimes the crowds of kids fill the pool up quickly. The games room had a nice selection of arcade games, as well as a pool table.
Overall, if you are coming to Ocean Shores and want fun place to stay that is close to the beach, but don't want to overspend, the Polynesian is a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cps102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2008

Everything was great! We had a junior suite which had a large bedroom. The kitchen was a great size. The pool was nice and warm and there's a great game room. Walking to the beach was easy and it was nice to walk instead of getting the car full of sand! This hotel is right downtown so walking to and from the little shops was great! We really liked staying here and hope to go back soon. Just remember, this is a pet friendly hotel so be ready to see, hear and smell animals.

  • Liked — The pool was awesome and the location excellent.
  • Disliked — It did smell a bit like pets.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plopper126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma,Wa.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2008

The place was not al that bad. Rooms were a little dingy but ok. The game room was cool spent a lot of time there with the kids. What really was kind of funny they ran out of food on Saturday morning at around 8:00AM, two hours before it was suppose to be over. Not one person that was in the dinning room even got so much as a sorry or we'll comp you some kind of meal in town. The hostess simply said we ran out and we hope to get some in before Monday, mind you this was a Saturday, and there web site boasted there Hot waffles, eggs, etc.., Also over hearing the hostess at the front desk giving different price on the exact same room to three different sets of guest as we were checking in. WILL NOT STAY THERE AGIAN. They can feed there waffles to the pets that stay there.

  • Liked — Game room
  • Disliked — Staff/ GRUMPY "BAD"!
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ob1knobbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2008

We decided to book this hotel because it was one of the very few places in Ocean Shores that would take pets. We had 2 dacshunds, but the front desk only charged us for 1 because they were so tiny. The room was $97/night for a 1 bedroom suite that was VERY spacious for a family traveling with 3 children, 2 of which are 15mnths and 2mnths, 2 adults and 2 dogs. The rooms were surprisingly clean. I was expecting the rooms to smell like dog, and find corners with dog hair. I am VERY picky about the places I stay at, and the Polynesian was a great find!!! I would definately stay here again. The staff were friendly and accomodating. The pool was a little small, but the kids had fun. The games in the game room were outdated, but we weren't there to play videogames. The continental breakfast was nothing to write home about, but it was free...so why complain?

While in Ocean Shores, we ate at Emily's and Mariah's for dinner. Both had really great service but Mariah's definately had better food. I had the seafood fettuccini and for dessert, we had chocolate macaroons and the raspberry bread pudding. It was pretty good! At Emily's we ordered this crisp that tasted like dog crap...or that is what I would imagine dog crap to taste like. They did not even bother to have it resemble a crisp, since they just dumped uncooked oatmeal out of the can on top of it and called it good. Emily's is definately more updated, but it's a casino....if you don't mind the smell of smoke hitting you as enter the door, then this is the place for you.

Overall, it was a good 4 day weekend getaway for under $500 including gas, food, accomodations, and entertainment.

  • Liked — Clean, pet friendly, accomodating
  • Disliked — other pet owners did not clean up after their pets outside the hotel
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FBmomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean Shores hotels
0.1 mi away
Canterbury Inn
Canterbury Inn
#1 of 14 in Ocean Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
#6 of 14 in Ocean Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
0.9 mi away
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
#9 of 14 in Ocean Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#7 of 14 in Ocean Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polynesian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polynesian Resort

Property: Polynesian Resort
Address: 615 Ocean Shores Blvd NW, Ocean Shores, WA 98569-9344
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Ocean Shores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Polynesian Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Polynesian Resort, located on the beach in beautiful Ocean Shores, Washington, is the state's most visited seaside destination. The Polynesian, one of the favorite condo-resorts, proudly offers exceptional oceanfront and ocean view lodging choices for you and your family. Enjoy one of our spacious suites with one or two bedrooms and a full-size kitchen. Perfect for a family vacation! You can enjoy our sparkling clear indoor heated pool, spa and sauna, complimentary wi-fi, a game room with pool table and a wonderful outdoor private park with basketball, volleyball and picnic facilities. You'll find our on-site restaurant and lounge, Mariah's, the finest on Washington's central coast. Mariah's is well-known for its succulent seafood, prime rib and steaks cooked to perfection and savory pasta. Mariah's is open every day for dinner and also for a delicious Sunday Breakfast Buffet. The Polynesian Resort on Washington's Central Coast is where family fun and relaxation begins. With miles of sandy beaches, plenty of local shopping and parks, golf and more, you will never run out of things to do during your coast getaway at The Polynesian Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Polynesian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Hotel Ocean Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing