We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Beach Resort...Not!”
Review of Canterbury Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canterbury Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Ocean Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Luxury Beach Resort...Not!”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We had never been to Ocean Shores before and needed a short vacation. I read reviews on Tripadvisor and settled on Canterbury Inn Luxury Beach Resort. It's not a luxury resort. It's a large building and our room was a condo owned by a Seattle family, on the third floor. The room was small, but fine for our needs, with a nice view of the Pacific, lovely sunsets and we went to sleep listening to the ocean waves breaking on the shore. Also a nice indoor pool and hot tub, with a pleasant staff. Our big letdown, other that the $192 a nite, late in September price tag, was the town of Ocean Shores itself. We had been to Cannon Beach, Oregon and that was our main comparison. We couldn't find one nice gallery, one restaurant with a nice atmosphere, or decent art or crafts stores. The beach was BIG and you could drive on it, but it was exactly the same for miles, unlike the Oregon Coast. One friend told us later that they call it Ocean Snores. We agree. Nice to get away, but the next time we'll drive a couple of hours more and head for the Oregon Coast.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank captainjim71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    82
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
117
131
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Clean units, friendly staff. Great location~~beautiful lawn area, close to the ocean, alot of new shops, casino close-by, bumper cars~~i was sorry I had to leave.
A three hour drive from Seattle. Wi fi, laundry room, exercise room.

Room Tip: Three floors~~view improves as you go up as do the rates. First floor good w/ kids~~they can come an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maple1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We were in room 308 - a cozy studio with a small kitchen on one end and the sleeping area by the window. There was a balcony with a sliding glass door and screen. We kept the door open and the screen on for terrific sleeping. The room overlooks the beachfront out to the ocean. We ate out of the kitchen every day.

I found the IGA (just a few blocks away) well-stocked. Keep in mind that it's a small space and serves as a general store as well... Do you really need to have 15 ketchups to choose from during your stay...? :-). The butcher shop actually cuts its own meat (the GM's dad does this!) and the fish is super fresh and changes from day to day. Had amazing fresh oysters from the grocery!

The 4th fireworks were spectacular -- 30+ miles of beach -- as far as you can see, there wasn't a pause from 9pm until midnite! And these are not your backyard displays... big honkin beautiful expressions of fire and light. When was the last time you said "oooh, ahhh, wow" at a fireworks display. Best of all there this was a gift from local residents, without corporate sponsorship, so the sense of spontenatity and surprise, and not an attempt to match explosions to music.

Room Tip: The hotel is locally-run, and the will take the time to work with you to match you to the perfect ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdventureGrrl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Enjoyed our stay. Nice clean room. Our room (318) was on the top floor with no view. Needs a few minor updates but It was perfect for our one night stay. You can walk about 100 ft to the beach. The path to the beach is due for some maintenance and clearing so you can find your way out and back. Very safe area with helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinlight01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Went with my parents, nieces and the family dog. We stayed in room 315. It is spacious, clean with comfortable beds. Great view of the sunset. Had a great time and the beach. We had Duggins deliver dinner. Great food. Later went to the pool. Good size pool. Decided we would have to rent the room for a week next time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MzTi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I took my boyfriend for his b-day here ,he loves the ocean and we had a great time. The room was clean and like a apt. full kitchen with everything you need right down to paper towels and dishes. The bathroom was clean and nice. loved having the fireplace and we had a great view from the deck in living room and in the bedroom. The staff was so very friendly and nice. I needed a rubberband for my hair so i could put it in a braid after my shower and the front desk lady gave me her's and offered to braid my hair!!!! She was super sweet and friendly they all were!! I will be coming back here for sure love Ocean Shores and this resort!!! :)

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor and loved it great view and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tacoma washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The Canterbury Inn has the best service, staff, and rooms. We have been staying here for years and love it here. The rooms are alway spotless, comfortable, and the ocean view and breeze beautiful. The pool and hot tub are alway maintained and a nice way to end the day. We have tryed many of the "Resorts" at OS but they are lacking and overpriced. The staff take a intrest in your experience and will help with any resonable request. A great place to re-charge.

Room Tip: Top floors have the best ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abbeyisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean Shores hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
#6 of 14 in Ocean Shores
293 reviews
2.8 mi away
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#7 of 14 in Ocean Shores
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Polynesian Resort
Polynesian Resort
#10 of 14 in Ocean Shores
126 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
Quinault Sweet Grass Hotel
#9 of 14 in Ocean Shores
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Inn

Property: Canterbury Inn
Address: 643 Ocean Shores Blvd NW, PO Box 310, Ocean Shores, WA 98569-9344
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Ocean Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean Shores
#3 Family Hotel in Ocean Shores
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocean Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canterbury Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Washington's coast, The Canterbury Inn has been in business for over 50 years. The distinct waterfront location brings the comforts of home and a beach vacation together. The Canterbury Inn features nearby beach access, manicured grounds, BBQ areas, indoor swimming pool/hot tub, spectacular ocean views, guest laundry, pet friendly rooms, kitchens, flat screen TVs, gas fireplaces and more. We even have complimentary board games for those rainy days. While we may not be the newest location in Ocean Shores, we are pride ourselves to be a clean and friendly establishment in which our customers are more than just a head in a bed. Come see why generations have been making The Canterbury Inn their "beach place in Ocean Shores." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canterbury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Hotel Ocean Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing