We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to Stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Olga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Doe Bay Resort & Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Olga
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Orcas Island is just an amazing place..and to stay at Doe Bay Resort and Retreat made it even better, very relaxing atmosphere. Foods good to. The mornings sitting in the cafe looking over the bay are absolutely magical. This place is like a little piece of heaven for the mind. If you are looking for a weekend to relax than I highly recommend http://doebay.com/

Room Tip: Schedule months in advance they fill up quickly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

We went here on our anniversary & were really disappointed for what we paid - $165 a night. Our cabin was the "Mala" & was located on a hillside a great distance from the cafe & soaking tubs. The "cabin" was really a small trailer that was built to look like a cabin. Extremely tiny bathroom that lacked a sink, & a shower that was a the smallest that we've ever encountered. You had to use the sink in the "kitchenette" to wash your hands or brush your teeth. The shower door leaked like a sieve & soaked anything on the floor. There were cobwebs on the bathroom & kitchen walls & ceilings. A coffee maker was provided but nothing to put in it. The parking area required you to walk an uphill path of approximately a block to your lodging. One window lacked a bug screen & the other had a gaping hole. It had a 2 burner stove in the "kitchenette" that required a match to light. I turned the burner on & waited patiently for it to light before I realized it was just a basic propane campstove with no pilot light. Lucky I didn't blow the place up! It had a distant view of the bay, but otherwise it was lacking anything else. Just a large barren field in the front with picnic tables for tent sites. I guess it was used if it was crowded & they needed to fill the area with desperate campers. Two plastic chairs on the deck, no cushions, & that was it.
This property is the second place that we've stayed in that openly offer a "bonus" if you are willing to post a favorable revue on Tripadvisor,Yelp, or Facebook. I wonder how many people are willing to do this in order to get a freebie? In my opinion, Tripadvisor should post a warning that these establishments are offering these.
The cafe was extremely good & we would highly recommend it. Pricey, but great food. Most places on Orcas are, but the food & staff here were great.
Our recommendation is to eat here & stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lohans4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed in Cypress cabin on the water. It had a full kitchen and a nice view form the dining table. It was no frills but clean. Lovely locale. The hot tubs and sauna were a real treat. It was a short drive from Moran Park and Eastsound. The staff was accomodating.

Word of warning - we planned our trip with the cafe as a primary draw only to check in on a Tuesday and find the cafe/bar/restaurant closed until Thursday. Bit of a bummer and maybe on us because we did not double check that it would be open every day.... but, it was not on the website. We went to open mic and pizza night on Thursday and it was good. There are fantastic choice restaurants in Eastsound so it all worked out.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bennays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My first time here at Doe Bay, What a wonderful place to arrive at a tranquil and peaceful place like Doe Bay! Stayed at a cozy cabin in front of the Cafe with everything you need for your stay! The Doe Bay Cafe is great! All the people that run it are awesome!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adristyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed 2 nights over labor day weekend in a cottage with a view of the bay. It is remarkable to be in such a stunning location, but still have such a relaxed and family friendly atmosphere. We had an amazing breakfast at the restaurant, made our own dinner one night, and went out to a fancier restaurant elsewhere on the island and realized the Doe Bay restaurant would have been just as good and much more convenient! Loved the hot tubs and sauna. Some people wore suits, like us, and some were naked, but no big deal. Great hikes at Moran State Park and stunning views from the top of Mount Constitution.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarionHBerkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This resort Is A Ways Away From Everything But Very Nice. We Stayed In A Cabin Which Is Older But Very Nicely Kept. Everything We Needed Was Available And We Were Very Comfortable. It Is A Spacious Resort With A Lot Of Room For Relaxation And Running For The Kids. But Be Aware That The Spa Is Clothing Optional If You Plan To Go There. I Would Definitely Stay Here Again

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tnthekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This summer we returned to Doe Bay for a longer visit. We honeymooned here three years ago and had wished we had stayed longer. This time we rented a yurt on the beach. We stayed in Neptune yurt which was situated right above the beach off of Otter Cove. After dinner we went down and drank wine while watching the resident heron and some sailboats dock. This is such a peaceful, magical place and they have an excellent seed-to-table restaurant. This is not a 5-star resort, but a great retreat to get away from it all. Can't wait to return for another visit.

Room Tip: If you do a yurt do either Seaside, Neptune or Orcas yurts. Cabins are nice too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shuttergypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olga
6.9 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
9.6 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#2 of 11 in Orcas Island
256 reviews
10.2 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
156 reviews
13.6 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#1 of 11 in Friday Harbor
496 reviews
10 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doe Bay Resort & Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doe Bay Resort & Retreat

Address: 107 Doe Bay Rd, Olga, Orcas Island, WA 98279-9329
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Olga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Olga
Price Range: £43 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doe Bay offers a variety of accommodations in a rustic, down-to-earth environment, with soaking tubs and sauna set over a waterfall, a one-acre organic garden, and an excellent restaurant. Start the day with yoga practice in our studio and follow it with a massage. Take a guided kayak trip in the afternoon and have a delicious meal in the waterfront cafe, hike the day away in nearby Moran State Park. Then read about the things you've seen in Otter Lodge guest lounge and library. Whether you come for a personal retreat, a family gathering, or take part in an event, you will be touched by the magic and the beauty of Doe Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Doe Bay Resort And Retreat Hotel Olga
Doe Bay Hotel And Retreat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing