We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Remodel is GREAT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Olympia
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I regularly go to Lacey to help my mom with the house, yard and shopping. I often stay in Olympia so I don't have to drive back and to/from Seattle. Most times I stay at the Governor Hotel due to it's location and price. I must say that the most recent trip was quite a surprise The remodel is really great the room are completely revised. Great Job Governor (said in my best English accent).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you've enjoyed the remodel that we have worked hard on! We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

There were people partying in the parking garage and there was garbage everywhere. I didn't feel that my car was secure there. The people in the neighboring room seemed to be partying all night and I couldn't get any sleep. I had to get up at 2:00 in the morning and tell them to shut up. The walls seem to be thin as paper. But the room itself was wonderful. Comfortable bed, clean, updated, great shower. But there was no blow dryer in the room and the info statement said there would be. This was a real problem on a very cold morning. I had to be at an early hearing, so I didn't have time to ask the desk for one. The staff locked me out of my room at 12:01, after the checkout time and I had to get my card re-activated. This was after I specifically told the desk that morning that I might be a little late on the checkout. They told me "everyone does it." No, they don't. I travel a lot for business and that has never happened. I will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

What a horrible experience. I was in town for the Washington State Patrol retirement party of a great friend. I checked in, went to the party and after a few hours, I got a call and had to return home. I told the night clerk that I had to leave and the room was untouched. She offered a refund. I did not request it in any way. She then realized it was booked through a third party web site so she suggested I request the refund through them and the hotel would approve the refund request, so I did.

Later on, I found out the hotel charged me $80. I called the hotel and spoke with Crystal. I explained the details and she said that was the price of the room. I asked why both the hotel and other web site charged me. Not to mention why it's an $80 dollar charge for a $97 room. She then put me on hold, came back and said the charge was for a stolen ipod player. I advised her I do not even own an ipod and what do we do from here, since I would never steal anything. She said again, 'We're charging you for the stolen ipod player!' She then started in about the room refund request and how the night clerk had no memory of me. I asked Crystal to tell the night clerk that I dropped off my friends present at the front desk when I checked out. That should jog her memory. Crystal said she wasn't going to ask her again. I told Crystal I really didn't care about the room refund, but the missing ipod had nothing to do with me. I offered several suggestions only to be met again with a 'I really don't care' attitude. I finally told her I felt she was the thief. At that point Crystal agreed to refund the money. From a law enforcement perspective, this doesn't come across well. This is probably when she realized the ipod was stolen from a different room.

Then Crystal called back to get the credit card number to post the refund to. Shouldn't this number be on file, I mean they wrongfully charged it.

Finally, I called back and told Crystal I had an idea. Why don't you review the security tapes and then you can clearly see I did not have a clock radio with me. I only had a small plastic bag. Her response was, 'I really don't have any more time to waste on this. You already have your refund!' Wow, talk about customer service.

It's bad enough to be accused of something you're not capable of, but to then be subjected to this?

If you do stay here, return the ipod player to the front desk when you check out.

PS Please notice that the only other review is by 'Crystal'. What a coincidence.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Thank F14Captain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the best possible service. We are very displeased to see that there were some areas of concern regarding missing item in the room and the process of cancelation/early check out. Please be assured that this will be addressed accordingly with our staff.

We do appreciate your feedback so that we are given the opportunity to address your concerns. We thank you very much and we hope to have the chance to serve you better in the near future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ViktorieTenzerova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Wolli L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Номер с видом на озеро
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irisikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: чем выше этаж, тем лучше вид
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Irisikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Olympia hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
3.7 mi away
Ramada Olympia
Ramada Olympia
#2 of 9 in Olympia
1,261 reviews
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Olympia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Olympia Lacey
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 9 in Olympia
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel

Address: 621 Capitol Way South, Olympia, WA 98501-1205 (Formerly Ramada Inn Governor House)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Olympia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Olympia
Price Range: £59 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel, features 122 newly renovated rooms with all new decor, furnishings, bathrooms and amenities along with panoramic views of the State Capitol, Capitol Lake, Puget Sound and the Olympic Mountains. The Governor Hotel provides all guests with complimentary Wi-Fi, on-site restaurant and lounge, and covered parking. All rooms have a microwave, mini-fridge and floor-to-ceiling sliding glass doors. Within walking distance are the State Capitol campus, Hands on Children's Museum, Farmers market, Boardwalk, Capitol Lake, Puget Sound waterfront and the Washington Center for Performing Arts. The Evergreen State College, St. Martin's University and South Puget Sound Community College is within a short distance as are over 60 restaurants and specialty shops. Nearby attractions include Mt. Rainier and Joint Base Lewis-McChord. Meeting and Banquet facilities are available for up to 160 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor Hotel Olympia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing