We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Olympia
Reviewed 30 June 2014

the Governor was not our first pick, but when all other hotels in lacey were full due to the jazz festival we had to find something else late at night. we called the Governor, the front desk girl was very professional on the phone, said they had 1 room left so we reserved it and drove to Olympia which is not that far from lacey. the hotel is situated downtown Olympia, we were checked in promptly. Our room was on the 4th floor facing the street. since it was a Saturday night, I would have expected the night life noise to be a bother, but I was pleasantly surprised it wasn't.
our room seemed like it had recently got new carpeting, so it had the new carpet smell. I am giving the hotel an average rating only because we didn't take advantage of the breakfast, just coffee so I can't give a full rating. we pretty much just needed a warm bed to sleep in after a long day of traveling and a wedding in tacoma. the bed and pillows were comfortable. there is offstreet parking and underground parking.
overall our experience at the Governor was fine.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glamma4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

My boyfriend and I booked a room last minute for the Capital City Stage race. We got a room with an amazing view of the lake. Both gals that worked the front desk were friendly. The only very small complaints I have is that the breakfast isn't the best. However, for the money, I really can't complain. The beds are SUPER comfortable. Overall, I will definitely be staying here anytime I come back to Olympia. Great, great hotel!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I really hate to leave my first bad review but it has to be done. This hotel needs major help, the only areas that are decent is the lobby, and the room. The parking garage is dark and scary and the doorbell ringer is just tacky and ups the creep factor. The elevators are smelly, rickety and just plain scary to ride in! Our room had nice linens and a great view of downtown but it smelled like cigarette smoke. The plumbing in the shower changed from hot to cold throughout my entire shower. Our AC was broken, and it was a warm and humid day. The mini fridge didn't keep anything cold (yes it was turned on).The service at the desk was just ok, didn't seem like anyone was going to go out of their way to meet any requests or needs. We were first given the wrong room, then at the end of our 1 night stay we were accidentally billed almost $700!! The management is working on getting that mistake voided however it is still pending in my bank account which is REALLY INCONVENIENT!!! Especially being out of town and having to put the trip on hold while the bank and hotel get this situated. We will most definitely not be staying here again. Sorry governor hotel, I can't recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JulieCho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

If you want cookie-cutter, whitewashed, and bland, the Governor (and downtown Olympia for that matter) is not your place. If you desire character, and proximity to character(s:-), take the leap and stay here. The recent remodel greatly improved the hotel's aesthetic, but don't fixate on the superficial; focus on the location, the view, and the uniqueness offered for a reasonable price. And I would be completely remiss if I failed to mention that the staff was incredibly helpful during my recent stay.

The only reason I don't rate the Governor "Excellent" is because I reserve that rating for the places that are, well, exemplary and without need of improvement. The Governor could be better (e.g. the breakfast, while free, is calories without character), but for Olympia it is, in my opinion, as good as it gets.

Room Tip: Higher floor = better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed the uniqueness of the hotel and the location! We will continue to improve our offerings and product to be able to get to excellent!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Air conditioning wasn't working and during the day the sun hit the windows of the room so that it got very warm however, we slept with the floor to ceiling windows wide open and were just fine. Great view of the Capitol rotunda topping the trees around the lake to our left and harbor views to the right. Very friendly staff, adequate breakfast, walking distance to everything downtown.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the views from our rooms!

We apologize for the inconvenience regarding the A/C as we are fixing the issues.

We look forward to having you again in the near future and hope to provide even better experience next time.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Rooms stinked because of dampness, bathroom tub was chipping off..no kids channel and the staff did nothing...even the manager didnt so nothing about it.I reported this to 3 different people..it wasmyson's birthday weekend and it got ruined.I will never go back..

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 74chaahat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, Guest Relations Manager at The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

The experience you had with our team is extremely disappointing. We review every guest comment and address each of them with our staff and team leads. Our goal is to provide a comfortable stay to every guest and clearly we failed to do that during your stay. Please be assured that the issues you experienced with the bathroom, TV channel listing, and communication will be looked into and addressed accordingly.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This facility is a very good remodel hotel the staff are friendly and helpful. The area is clean and there are great places close by. However the night life leaves something to be desired. You can walk to the lake and the Capital is a great place to visit. So much architecture and great history.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the entrance side, due to the night time noices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nora T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan K, General Manager at The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your feedback.

We are glad that you have a great stay with us.

Hope to see you again soon!

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Olympia hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
3.7 mi away
Ramada Olympia
Ramada Olympia
#2 of 9 in Olympia
1,261 reviews
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Olympia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Olympia Lacey
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 9 in Olympia
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel

Address: 621 Capitol Way South, Olympia, WA 98501-1205 (Formerly Ramada Inn Governor House)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Olympia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Olympia
Price Range: £59 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel, features 122 newly renovated rooms with all new decor, furnishings, bathrooms and amenities along with panoramic views of the State Capitol, Capitol Lake, Puget Sound and the Olympic Mountains. The Governor Hotel provides all guests with complimentary Wi-Fi, on-site restaurant and lounge, and covered parking. All rooms have a microwave, mini-fridge and floor-to-ceiling sliding glass doors. Within walking distance are the State Capitol campus, Hands on Children's Museum, Farmers market, Boardwalk, Capitol Lake, Puget Sound waterfront and the Washington Center for Performing Arts. The Evergreen State College, St. Martin's University and South Puget Sound Community College is within a short distance as are over 60 restaurants and specialty shops. Nearby attractions include Mt. Rainier and Joint Base Lewis-McChord. Meeting and Banquet facilities are available for up to 160 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor Hotel Olympia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing