We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View, not food”

Anthony's Hearthfire Grill - North Point
Ranked #5 of 349 Restaurants in Olympia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Olympia, WA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“View, not food”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Anthony's always picks off the best waterfront locations for their chain of restaurants, and that is the biggest selling point in Olympia - the view. Sitting on the Hearthfire deck on a sunny afternoon or evening with drinks is mighty fine.

The food is another matter. Today I had the BLT sandwich. It was very small, with maybe two slices of bland, unevenly cooked bacon. Menu said it came with a pesto mayo, but I did not detect it. It came with a "slaw," and the dressing was mostly missing so it was basically shredded cabbage, sloppily put into a small bowl. My husband had the seafood mac and cheese, which is our "go-to" dish there, and it was ok. (Try the lobster mac and cheese at Six Seven's bar in Seattle's Edgewater Hotel sometime - it's dang good.) After two requests, we finally got bread. The hostess never made eye contact with us, seeming distracted and frazzled.

It would be great if the owners of this chain started paying attention to the food served in their restaurants and stopped relying just on their good locations and their old reputation for serving good food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Olympia_WAAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    167
    71
    27
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best view and good food”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This definitely has been our special occasion favorite since its inception. They do have a good early bird complete dinner special menu, but you have to get there before 6 to take advantage of it. They also have a nice deck for outside dining. It is pricey (for Olympia), therefore making it my special occasion choice.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ginny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice location that's LOUD!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We've eaten here several times, on both weekdays and weekends - always with a reservation. Wait times are short, seat to service is quick, drinks are OK. I find the fare substandard and overpriced. This place is completely open, so everyone's party is your party. I avoid this place unless some one asks us to go.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank All50andMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winlock, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best view in town”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Ok , I love both of the Anthony's restaurants in town, but I'm partial to this one, it's amazing. The view and the food, not to mention the service. Sit in the bar corner triangle table for the most awesome view while drinking your wine or beer! Caesar salad and flatbread are to die for. And get a cup of tomato soup for dipping the flatbread in. Yummy

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alaskagirl618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor seating in quiet area”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Enjoyed a really delicious plate of fish and chips here while seated outside on a sunny day. It's in a fairly quiet area to be downtown, on the water with views of the Sound.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4TravelBugs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anthony's Hearthfire Grill - North Point also viewed

 

Been to Anthony's Hearthfire Grill - North Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing