We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inspection”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Sage's Brunch House - CLOSED

Sage's Brunch House
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Inspection”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

June 7: Routine check (95 red, 25 blue)

Comments: Red — Employees and owner have no food handler cards. Cook was cracking eggs, and then went directly to preparing other food without washing hands. Not enough handwashing was observed. Employee shredding carrots with bare hands. Eggs left out at room temperature. Black refrigerator with dairy products at 50 degrees. Outside openings not sealed, screened or closed. Insects were <cf10> observed in the kitchen. Blue

— Several containers of ingredients are without protective covers. Cook’s cleanliness does not meet code. Food contact surfaces of equipment dirty with food accumulation. Outside cooking equipment dirty. Inside cabinets poorly maintained. Floor filthy with spilled food. Inadequate lighting for proper cleaning.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Salkum1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
138 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Coffee was excellent, food was pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Saturday morning breakfast, short wait outside in the sunshine (yes, I wrote sunshine--might not be so fun in the rain). Really fun artsy atmosphere. There is coffee outside on a table so you can serve yourself while you wait. One daughter had blueberry walnut pancake. It was good and it was big. Other daughter and husband had galactic scramble: veggies, sausage, eggs, and they really liked it. I had the Beneficial Benedict--a smoked salmon twist on eggs benedict. Unfortunately the chef was heavy handed with the balsamic vinegar, and it was all I could taste. The salad served with it was outstanding. The potato pancake side is really just like mashed potatoes. I REALLY wanted to love the food, can only say I liked it. What I will remember is the great coffee. Probably worth another visit though.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coug1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupont, Washington
1 review
“Best breakfast by far!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

First let me say this is not the place to go if you are pressed for time, expect overly friendly service, or require a pristine dining experience. Sage’s Brunch house is about fresh ingredients prepared in unusual combinations with a delicious result. The pace and environment are very laid back. My wife and I know what to expect when we go and are never disappointed. Sage delivers the best breakfast we have ever had hands down.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RH2813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OLYMPIA, WA USA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Funky Neighborhood Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

This quaint restaurant is located off the beaten path in a residential neighborhood in West Olympia WA. The food is good, but a bit overpriced. I ordered pancakes which were gigantic. The small container of pure maple syrup was lovely, but not nearly enough. When I asked for more, I was charged for it. Never had that happen before in a restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We will keep on driving next time.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

We should have know the first time we walked in not even 5 min after the closed, we were greeted at the bottom of the steps by a very rude young lady and told that they were closed.
Visited again though. Walked in and we were told we could sit anywhere so long as the table was clean! Hmmm really well we chose to sig outside at a dirty table anyway. Waitress was rude and we waited 30 min for 2 small breakfast plates. Food..... not great in fact mine was cold. Needless to say that's one place we will keep driving by next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angnjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sage's Brunch House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing