We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to land”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Olympia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to land”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This hotel is perfectly placed for a vacation or business. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The warm cookie on arrival was a nice warm welcome on a cold day. The addition of the bar was nice as well. Breakfast was very accommodating - you could do the buffet for $10 or pick what you wanted for a quick get-a-way.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank robinjrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review! We are excited that you enjoyed all of our new amenities and facilities during your stay. Our staff will be happy to know they were able to meet all your hospitality needs and bring you a great DoubleTree experience. Indeed our breakfast includes a hot, breakfast buffet or you may get a grab-n-go item from our Starbucks stand in the morning. Our PressNW full service bar and bistro is also available in the afternoon and evening. We appreciate your feedback and your comments are vital to us in order to make your stays here that much better. We look forward to greeting you and yours a warm, chocolate chip and walnut cookie the next time you're travelling in Olympia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    181
    64
    25
    8
See reviews for
147
142
24
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Nice place to stop for the evening and catch up on work or relax. Large updated rooms that smell fresh; my room was spotless. Large work desk with adequate lighting and electrical outlets for electronics. Fast complimentary internet, small but pleasant fitness room and pool. Beds are comfortable. Very limited bistro and an ordinary buffet breakfast commonly complimentary at motels of this type for which a charge was made. Room in excellent condition except for bathroom fixture (trim plate around shower handle was loose). Bathroom fixtures (toilet and shower/tub) were old. If the price was lower, would consider this an excellent place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavRut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for your review! We are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay here at DoubleTree by Hilton Olympia! It is great you found our in-room amenities and hotel facilities satisfying as we went through a renovation and conversion in September. We appreciate your feedback as there is always room for improvement and your comments are invaluable to us. It is our goal to provide excellent guest service and make our guests feel as welcome and comfortable during their stay as possible. Concerning the issues you mentioned, we are working on remedying them as we continue to grow with the Hilton family. We hope to see you again for future reservations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights over Christmas with my 3 1/2 year old son. I'm impressed with the remodel and all the immenities were wonderful. The hotel staff were so friendly and sweet to my little boy. That meant a lot to me.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Shannon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for reviewing us on your recent visit! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us during the holidays! It is important to us that our guests feel warm and welcome here at DoubleTree by Hilton Olympia, especially during the holiday season. Our staff will be happy they were able to meet your hospitality needs and provide excellent guest service, as is our standard. It is great you and your family got the chance to try all of our amenities and changes through our conversion as well. Your comments are invaluable to us and we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you and yours again for any future reservations in Olympia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Good place to stay. Breakfast Buffet not very good. The location is excellent if you are visiting down town Olympia any time of year. Staff was friendly and efficient, rooms were comfortable and clean and internet access wifi was working very well.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We wish it could have been better concerning our breakfast menu as we want our guests to have the best stay possible. Our staff will be happy they met your hospitality needs and that you were pleased with our amenities and location! Thank you for your review and we hope to really “wow” you the next time you stay in Olympia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Finally, there's a place in Olympia where Hilton HHonors members can earn HHonors points!

We stayed for five nights at this property in late December, 2013. The property is conveniently located near downtown and within sight of the Washington State Capitol building. I was a bit concerned about the location being "near the docks" but the neighborhood seemed fine; it was quiet at night, seemed safe, and there are several nearby restaurants, stores, and parks (all within walking distance).

The hotel itself is a former Phoenix Inn. The hotel went through extensive renovations to become a Doubletree, however. So, while there isn't a "new hotel" feel to the property, much of the hotel is quite nice. The bathrooms seem to have new marble countertops, while the vanities and doors have the usual dings and scratches of a hotel that has been around for a few years. The carpet in hallways and room seemed to be new, the lobby appeared new, etc. Overall, a very nice property, especially for the Olympia area.

The hotel has a 24 hour fitness center and 24 hour pool (with hot tub). Both facilities seemed clean and well-cared for. The indoor pool isn't huge, but it's a fair enough size for either splashing around or doing laps. The pool felt a bit on the cold side, according to a couple of our party. There is a small lobby "store" area with a few snacks and hygiene items, but it's quite sparse and could be improved; it only carries the very basic essentials.

Right off the lobby is a bar/restaurant/breakfast area. This area serves as a bar (with daily happy hour) in the evenings. On mornings, breakfast is served from 6:30 to 9:30 (and 7:00 to 10:00 on weekends). Note, however, that breakfast costs $10 unless you have Hilton Gold or Diamond status, or you've booked a rate that includes breakfast. $10 definitely seems on the high end of a reasonable price for breakfast. Hilton has put this property in a slightly difficult spot. If they don't charge (or undercharge) for breakfast, they can't offer "free" breakfast as a perk to Hilton elite members. However, if they charge, they risk alienating guests who don't have status. I would recommend getting Hilton Gold status if you can. Otherwise, you might decide to have breakfast elsewhere. Note that if you do get free breakfast, you can choose either the buffet or to get a beverage and food item from their coffee bar. The bar area stops serving in the afternoon, between breakfast and happy hour times.

As a Hilton Diamond member, I was upgraded to a junior suite upon check-in. A rollaway bed was promptly delivered to the room, as well. Throughout the stay, service was adequate. I would describe most of the staff I encountered as very eager but somewhat inexperienced. For example, even though it was quite obvious we had four people staying in our room, housekeeping consistently stocked the room with only three towels every day. There were a few other similar examples, but every time I had to make a request or reminder ("extra towels, please?") hotel staff were reliably eager to serve and quite efficient. So, service wasn't necessarily comparable to a nice hotel in a larger city, but for a mid-range hotel in the Pacific Northwest, it was quite good.

Keep in mind that while some guestrooms may have queen size fold-out sofas, the junior suite we were given had a sofa that folded out to a twin-size bed that was suitable only for one child. The king bed in our room was quite comfortable. There was a sufficient number of outlets in the room to charge cell phones, iPods, etc. There was a small microwave and minifridge in the room, as well as a coffee maker, iron, ironing board, and a nice hair dryer. Bath amenities are standard Doubletree Crabtree & Evelyn shampoo, conditioner, lotion, and soaps.

One review mentioned a lack of good television channels, and I'm happy to report that has indeed been fixed. The hotel had an extremely good package of HD television channels, including numerous children's channels (Disney, Nick, Cartoon, etc.), all the standard offerings, Travel, Discovery, BBC America, NatGeo, and several sports channels. In addition, the wireless internet was excellent; probably the best speed and signal that I've ever had at any hotel, ever. This may have been an accident from my room location, but really we were extremely pleased with the Internet and television offerings.

This is probably one of the best choices in Olympia now, especially for Hilton HHonors members. We've typically stayed elsewhere when in the area, but were very pleased with the Doubletree and the service we received here. Plus, we got warm chocolate chip cookies every evening. We'll definitely be returning next time we need a place to stay in the Olympia/Lacey area!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Japandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Wow! Thank you so much for your review on your first visit to our Olympia property! We are thrilled to be able to accommodate Hilton Honors guests now and continue to provide an optimal experience. We know it can be difficult travelling and we want to make your stay as comfortable as possible. It is great that you were able to take in all of our amenities! We appreciate your comments and suggestions and we will keep them in mind as we move forward in the Hilton family. We look forward to your future reservations with us and a warm, DoubleTree Signature cookie will be waiting for you and yours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPOKANE VALLEY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Good location but some rooms are sub standard, restaurant, lobby, exercise room and pool are very good. Close to other restaurants and shopping in the downtown Olympia Washington area. Disappointed the breakfast was not included with room. Don't stay in room 235 as the cooling does not work and the room overlooks the rooftop fans which run all the time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank WILLIAM A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
To start, thank you for your review on your most recent stay with us! We are glad that you enjoyed our property and hotel amenities though we wish your stay could have been better! I apologize that you endured the maintenance issue you did. For any future reservations, this incidence will be remedied. We do offer bed and breakfast packages that include breakfast should that be an option for you. It is great you were able to experience our PressNW Bar and Bistro! If there is anything we may do for any future reservations, please let us know and we will be happy to accommodate. We hope to see you again the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Richmond, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 December 2013

This hotel has newly been renovated and in very good taste. It is located in walking distance of the downtown and the river. There are sufficient surfaces for suitcases and items while still having room for writing and computing. It's excellent for doing business. The shower was high enough for us tall people.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
We appreciate your review on your most recent stay with us at DoubleTree by Hilton Olympia! Our staff will be pleased you enjoy our updates with our renovation into a Hilton property and we hope you were able to experience all of our changes and amenities. We love our downtown location where everything is within walking distance from shopping and restaurants to Capitol Lake and Budd Inlet. Thank you again for submitting your comments and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Olympia hotels
3.7 mi away
Ramada Olympia
Ramada Olympia
#2 of 9 in Olympia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Olympia
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Olympia Lacey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
0.4 mi away
The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel
0.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Olympia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia
Address: 415 Capitol Way N, Olympia, WA 98501-1024 (Formerly Phoenix Inn Suites Olympia)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Olympia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Olympia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Olympia hotel located in downtown Olympia in Washington State, just minutes off of I-5. Our hotel is near Olympia, Washington’s major attractions including the Downtown Waterfront area, Percival Landing, and the award winning Hands-On Children’s Museum. The hotel is just across the street from Budd Inlet of the Puget Sound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Inn Suites Olympia Hotel Olympia
Phoenix Hotel Olympia
Olympia Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing