We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olympia visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Olympia
Certificate of Excellence
Pasco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Olympia visit”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had a leaky air conditioner & reported it to the front desk. We had speedy response and it was fixed quickly. Very nice stay, good front desk & maintenance people. Enjoyed out stay immensely. We'll return on next planned trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your positive review on your stay here at DoubleTree by Hilton Olympia! It is great to know our staff could not only fix the maintenance issue efficiently but also with excellent guest service. If there is anything more we can do to make your time here even better, please contact us anytime. We appreciate your comments and we look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Olympia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    184
    64
    25
    9
See reviews for
150
144
25
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birch Bay, Washington
Level Contributor
200 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

As a Hilton Diamond household, we stay at a lot of Hilton properties in many places around the world.

Let's start with the positives we found about this property. The employees we encountered were friendly, our room was clean, and our bed was comfortable.

On the other hand, the small parking lot on this summer Friday night was completely full. The check-in clerk told us we could park on the street and disregard the parking meters. We did and the car survived the night.

We were given breakfast vouchers (presumably our Diamond benefit instead of points) but at 9:30 a.m. Saturday morning we realized we wouldn't need them as the breakfast area was open and just off the lobby. The area was crowded and the employees didn't have time to properly bus the tables. There was hardly any hot food left. My wife asked an employee bluntly if they were bringing out more food and the reply was, "Well, we're closing soon."

The coffee urn was empty as well, and when I pointed this out to an employee she hustled behind the counter and poured me a cup of coffee. It's not the greatest way to start the day after looking forward to the advertised breakfast. Somebody breakfasting here in better conditions might compare it slightly favorably to a Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn Express breakfast, with "real" plates and a greater variety of food. Unfortunately that wasn't our experience and we felt slightly "taken" with our little breakfast vouchers as a souvenir of our stay.

It's commonly agreed among frequent Hilton guests that the Doubletree brand offers the most variation. It seems anybody with a property can franchise it as a Doubletree. This property certainly provides evidence for that opinion. Our only reservation is the fact they're charging Doubletree prices rather than HI prices.

We probably wouldn't return here.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank No_Fixed_Address
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay. My staff is pleased to know that you found your guest room and amenities satisfactory. I apologize for the incidences you had however, as we work to bring a rewarding experience to our guests. As a Diamond member, for DoubleTree properties you receive complimentary breakfast and bonus points. The issues you mentioned will certainly be addressed in order to better any future reservations. We pride ourselves on guest service and we will further work to uphold Brand standards to ensure a more beneficial stay for you. This is not the experience we want for you and we will use your comments to grow from this. Thank you for your Hilton loyalty and we hope to have another chance to really ‘wow’ you the next time you visit Olympia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was one of the best hotel stays I ever experienced. The hotel staff was pleasant and helpful, and it was obvious customer service is important. The worst part was that the Starbucks breakfast area only had 16 oz cups for cold drinks!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Elissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about your stay here at the DoubleTree. We really appreciate your feedback regarding our hotel and staff. Our team takes pride in the service we provide and they will be happy to hear your enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again when you travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sooke, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This was a very nice, comfortable hotel and we have no complaints about the quality of the hotel. However it did not feel very welcoming to us as a family. I got the impression it was more for business clients and government officials. We spent two night here and we were the only people with kids that we saw in those two days. I booked this hotel through Expedia and in the booking process was told that it included a free breakfast. Tripadvisor also shows it as including a free breakfast. But when we arrived, we were told that breakfast was $9.95 per person which was quite surprising as it would have cost us $100 for the two days we were there. After some discussion with the front desk clerk, he did comp us a free breakfast for one night but he made it seem like he was doing us a favour and it was all hush hush which made me feel like a charity case. They do offer free breakfasts for their "elite" clients, so essentially the people who can afford it, get it for free while families travelling on a budget are out of luck. This was our last two nighs of vacation so we decided to splurge a bit and paid more than we normally would for a hotel. I don't think it would have bankrupted them to give us a free breakfast for both days we were there. And I think they need to have someone look over the hotel booking sites to make sure that they aren't giving out false information as we never would have booked this if we'd known they wanted to charge us $50 a day for breakfast. The breakfast we did have was really good though and had a nice selection of food. The location of the hotel is kind of weird because its in a nice area but also kind of a scuzzy area. Its right near the boardwalk which is really pretty with lots of restaurants and boats and parks. There was even a carnival going at the time we were there which was a nice bonus. But it was also an area that brought out some of the more scary people once night fell. I'm not sure if the police presence was a good thing or bad. All in all, its a very nice hotel which would be very well suited for couples or business travelers. Not so much for families. And if they had honored what the Expedia site had said and given us the free breakfast we were told was included for both nights of our stay, I would have given this a higher rating. Even after I printed out the page showing them where it stated that breakfast was included, they still wouldn't honor it for both nights. I really did feel like I was begging them for free food which did not feel good at all and is not how their guests should be made to feel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank canuckfamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for submitting your review! Though it is great to know you enjoyed our downtown location and nearby facilities, it is disappointing to hear we fell short of your expectations which included breakfast. We aim to provide above and beyond service and quality amenities for our guests and we apologize if we did not come through. If there is anything you would like to discuss further in order to improve upon your last visit, please contact us anytime. We hope to get another opportunity to really “wow” you and your family the next time you are in Olympia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I am disappointed in the value of this hotel. I have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express nearby for 60% of the price and it was cleaner than the Doubletree. The service is great, the lobby is nice, but the rooms are low quality. On several occasions, I noticed the smell of sewage in my room. The cable went out the only time I turned on the tv. The shower was a cheap plastic liner. It wasn't horrible, but being among the most expensive hotels in the area, you expect better.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthCarolinaHogfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
We appreciate your comments on your recent stay. I apologize you did not find our property to be of the high standard we work to uphold. We pride ourselves in the cleanliness and services we offer for our guests. Though it is pleasing we provided excellent guest service during your stay, it is disappointing we did not deliver the quality you expected. The issues you mentioned are noted and looked into as we want to bring an optimal experience that is of great value for you and yours. Please let me know if there is anything we may do for you to give us another chance to improve upon your previous visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This hotel is perfect for people who don't know what a typical DoubleTree property should be. The staff was great and the bed was high quality. It was a good location to restaurants, the water, and other places downtown. Other than that, though, our room resembled that of a Super 8 hotel. Our room was missing a tv, the walls were bare which made the room very loud, the bathtub was that cheap plastic kind of tub, and wallpaper was hanging from the walls in the bathroom. Our American Express is a Hilton card so we stay at many Hilton properties - most Hampton Inns are higher quality than the room we stayed in. I was very disappointed that Hilton was trying to pass this hotel off as a DoubleTree property.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnPete85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on Tripadvisor. We are disappointed that your overall experience here was not that rewarding. It is our goal to ensure our guests enjoy all the amenities that we have to offer. We do take pride in our newly remodeled hotel and all of the attractions and shopping we have in the area. I am sure my staff will be happy to hear your positive feedback with their customer service. We do take all feedback seriously and it is our hope you would consider us again when you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey, british columbia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed the evening of July 3, 2014 at the DoubleTree by Hilton in the historic downtown of Olympia. My AAA rate for a basic king room was $170.05 plus tax and fees, for a total cost of $190.41. I recommend this hotel as the best place to stay in the historic downtown area of Olympia. It is adjacent to numerous waterfront restaurants, and it is a very clean and comfortable property. My king size bed was very comfortable, and the linens and towels were better than average.

On a scale of 1 to 10, where 1 is terrible and 10 is excellent, I rate this hotel as a solid 8. And make sure that you ask for the signature DoubleTree cookie at check in!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your excellent review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the prime location we have here in downtown Olympia. We strive in delivering great service and it sounds like my staff took care of your hospitality needs while you were in town. We look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Olympia hotels
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Olympia Lacey
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Olympia
3.7 mi away
Ramada Olympia
Ramada Olympia
#2 of 9 in Olympia
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
0.4 mi away
The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel
0.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Olympia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia
Address: 415 Capitol Way N, Olympia, WA 98501-1024 (Formerly Phoenix Inn Suites Olympia)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Olympia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Olympia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Olympia hotel located in downtown Olympia in Washington State, just minutes off of I-5. Our hotel is near Olympia, Washington’s major attractions including the Downtown Waterfront area, Percival Landing, and the award winning Hands-On Children’s Museum. The hotel is just across the street from Budd Inlet of the Puget Sound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Inn Suites Olympia Hotel Olympia
Phoenix Hotel Olympia
Olympia Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing