We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good accommodation;bait 'n switch price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Olympia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The problem here is that I was promised AAA rates for two short stays interrupted but was charged full price. Initial quote about 140 per night. Finally paying about $40 per night higher, up to just over $200 a night with about $20 of various taxes. I consider this "bait and switch" and I do resent being treated that way. The room was fine. No problem there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I apologize for the communication error on your hotel rate. We do have server taxes including state, city and lodging that may have been the difference in the rate you had. We are more than happy to look up any details and go over them with you at your convenience. You may give us a call at 360-570-0555 Ext. 2 anytime. It was not our intention to make you feel that way as our guests are the sole reason we are here. Please let me know if you would like to discuss this further as we want to make it right in order to remedy this situation. We hope to have another chance to accommodate you and yours the next time you are in Olympia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

491 - 497 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Great location!! Very convenient to the State capital building and related offices nearby. There were quite a number of very good restaurants nearby and within easy walking distance. The waterfront was a very relaxing place to unwind after a busy work day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

We appreciate your positive review on your stay with us here at DoubleTree by Hilton Olympia! Our downtown location is a defining aspect of our property with easy access to nearly everything, including the state capitol. We look forward to having you back to relax and unwind on your next stay in Olympia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had a leaky air conditioner & reported it to the front desk. We had speedy response and it was fixed quickly. Very nice stay, good front desk & maintenance people. Enjoyed out stay immensely. We'll return on next planned trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank Shirley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your positive review on your stay here at DoubleTree by Hilton Olympia! It is great to know our staff could not only fix the maintenance issue efficiently but also with excellent guest service. If there is anything more we can do to make your time here even better, please contact us anytime. We appreciate your comments and we look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Olympia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

As a Hilton Diamond household, we stay at a lot of Hilton properties in many places around the world.

Let's start with the positives we found about this property. The employees we encountered were friendly, our room was clean, and our bed was comfortable.

On the other hand, the small parking lot on this summer Friday night was completely full. The check-in clerk told us we could park on the street and disregard the parking meters. We did and the car survived the night.

We were given breakfast vouchers (presumably our Diamond benefit instead of points) but at 9:30 a.m. Saturday morning we realized we wouldn't need them as the breakfast area was open and just off the lobby. The area was crowded and the employees didn't have time to properly bus the tables. There was hardly any hot food left. My wife asked an employee bluntly if they were bringing out more food and the reply was, "Well, we're closing soon."

The coffee urn was empty as well, and when I pointed this out to an employee she hustled behind the counter and poured me a cup of coffee. It's not the greatest way to start the day after looking forward to the advertised breakfast. Somebody breakfasting here in better conditions might compare it slightly favorably to a Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn Express breakfast, with "real" plates and a greater variety of food. Unfortunately that wasn't our experience and we felt slightly "taken" with our little breakfast vouchers as a souvenir of our stay.

It's commonly agreed among frequent Hilton guests that the Doubletree brand offers the most variation. It seems anybody with a property can franchise it as a Doubletree. This property certainly provides evidence for that opinion. Our only reservation is the fact they're charging Doubletree prices rather than HI prices.

We probably wouldn't return here.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank No_Fixed_Address
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay. My staff is pleased to know that you found your guest room and amenities satisfactory. I apologize for the incidences you had however, as we work to bring a rewarding experience to our guests. As a Diamond member, for DoubleTree properties you receive complimentary breakfast and bonus points. The issues you mentioned will certainly be addressed in order to better any future reservations. We pride ourselves on guest service and we will further work to uphold Brand standards to ensure a more beneficial stay for you. This is not the experience we want for you and we will use your comments to grow from this. Thank you for your Hilton loyalty and we hope to have another chance to really ‘wow’ you the next time you visit Olympia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was one of the best hotel stays I ever experienced. The hotel staff was pleasant and helpful, and it was obvious customer service is important. The worst part was that the Starbucks breakfast area only had 16 oz cups for cold drinks!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Elissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your kind comments about your stay here at the DoubleTree. We really appreciate your feedback regarding our hotel and staff. Our team takes pride in the service we provide and they will be happy to hear your enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again when you travels bring you back to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This was a very nice, comfortable hotel and we have no complaints about the quality of the hotel. However it did not feel very welcoming to us as a family. I got the impression it was more for business clients and government officials. We spent two night here and we were the only people with kids that we saw in those two days. I booked this hotel through Expedia and in the booking process was told that it included a free breakfast. Tripadvisor also shows it as including a free breakfast. But when we arrived, we were told that breakfast was $9.95 per person which was quite surprising as it would have cost us $100 for the two days we were there. After some discussion with the front desk clerk, he did comp us a free breakfast for one night but he made it seem like he was doing us a favour and it was all hush hush which made me feel like a charity case. They do offer free breakfasts for their "elite" clients, so essentially the people who can afford it, get it for free while families travelling on a budget are out of luck. This was our last two nighs of vacation so we decided to splurge a bit and paid more than we normally would for a hotel. I don't think it would have bankrupted them to give us a free breakfast for both days we were there. And I think they need to have someone look over the hotel booking sites to make sure that they aren't giving out false information as we never would have booked this if we'd known they wanted to charge us $50 a day for breakfast. The breakfast we did have was really good though and had a nice selection of food. The location of the hotel is kind of weird because its in a nice area but also kind of a scuzzy area. Its right near the boardwalk which is really pretty with lots of restaurants and boats and parks. There was even a carnival going at the time we were there which was a nice bonus. But it was also an area that brought out some of the more scary people once night fell. I'm not sure if the police presence was a good thing or bad. All in all, its a very nice hotel which would be very well suited for couples or business travelers. Not so much for families. And if they had honored what the Expedia site had said and given us the free breakfast we were told was included for both nights of our stay, I would have given this a higher rating. Even after I printed out the page showing them where it stated that breakfast was included, they still wouldn't honor it for both nights. I really did feel like I was begging them for free food which did not feel good at all and is not how their guests should be made to feel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank canuckfamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for submitting your review! Though it is great to know you enjoyed our downtown location and nearby facilities, it is disappointing to hear we fell short of your expectations which included breakfast. We aim to provide above and beyond service and quality amenities for our guests and we apologize if we did not come through. If there is anything you would like to discuss further in order to improve upon your last visit, please contact us anytime. We hope to get another opportunity to really “wow” you and your family the next time you are in Olympia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I am disappointed in the value of this hotel. I have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express nearby for 60% of the price and it was cleaner than the Doubletree. The service is great, the lobby is nice, but the rooms are low quality. On several occasions, I noticed the smell of sewage in my room. The cable went out the only time I turned on the tv. The shower was a cheap plastic liner. It wasn't horrible, but being among the most expensive hotels in the area, you expect better.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank NorthCarolinaHogfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

We appreciate your comments on your recent stay. I apologize you did not find our property to be of the high standard we work to uphold. We pride ourselves in the cleanliness and services we offer for our guests. Though it is pleasing we provided excellent guest service during your stay, it is disappointing we did not deliver the quality you expected. The issues you mentioned are noted and looked into as we want to bring an optimal experience that is of great value for you and yours. Please let me know if there is anything we may do for you to give us another chance to improve upon your previous visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Olympia hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Olympia
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Olympia Lacey
3.7 mi away
Ramada Olympia
Ramada Olympia
#2 of 9 in Olympia
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
0.4 mi away
The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel
0.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Olympia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia

Address: 415 Capitol Way N, Olympia, WA 98501-1024 (Formerly Phoenix Inn Suites Olympia)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Olympia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Olympia
Price Range: £92 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Olympia hotel located in downtown Olympia in Washington State, just minutes off of I-5. Our hotel is near Olympia, Washington’s major attractions including the Downtown Waterfront area, Percival Landing, and the award winning Hands-On Children’s Museum. The hotel is just across the street from Budd Inlet of the Puget Sound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Inn Suites Olympia Hotel Olympia
Phoenix Hotel Olympia
Olympia Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing