We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's All Good!”
Review of Fish Tale Brew Pub

Fish Tale Brew Pub
Ranked #7 of 351 Restaurants in Olympia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$22
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours
Description: With more than triple its original seating and a kitchen that spans the former brewing floor, the Pub offers a robust menu featuring local meat, bread, and produce. And while the Pub's 24 taps of beer and cider can present guests with a daunting selection, our knowledgeable staff will be there to help find the one that's right for you.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“It's All Good!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

If you like local brew pubs you'll feel welcome the minute you walk in. I think they had between 15 to 20 beers on tap when I was there with my family. They have their own Fish Tale beers, Leavenworth Biers, Reel Ales and ciders. Some of the stand outs for me were Swordfish Double Cascadian Dark Ale, Starfish Imperial Red Ale and Mud Shark Porter, just take this from perspective that I’m not a light beer, wheat beer or pilsner drinker. They have fish and chips that you can get with cod or wild salmon, the wild salmon was very good and the pub fries are tasty as well. The service was friendly and efficient. I went here with three other family members and everyone enjoyed the beer and the food. I will definitely go back the next time I am in town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdohare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    136
    52
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Fish & Chips for a Pub”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Fish Tale Brew Pub is a real community gathering place. With locally brewed beers and a good menu, this is a great hang-out. Salads are good and if you want to indulge, the French fries are wonderful. I would say 'to die for,' but that may be a little too close to the truth about fried foods. We go here several times a year and always enjoy everything from the atmosphere to the friendly servers to the food. You really can't go wrong here if you enjoy a lively environment. I also personally like the art work on the walls and on the building itself.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great ale and good food”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We have been here several times. The Pub is very popular with locals and tourists. Prices are reasonable, food is fresh, and the ales are great. (The blonde is my favorite.) Not much for ambience and a little noisy, but it's a pub.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YaYa1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great beer, local vibe”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Very popular (and loud- with good conversation!) local pub. Beers are excellent, and food a few notches above typical pub food-- lots of locally sourced ingredients. Good veggie options, too! Can't leave this place out if visiting Olympia and u like good beer.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ravensfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
“Great atmosphere and eats”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Fish is a solid local staple. Their beers and ciders are great. Portion and food quality is excellent. Bangers and mash is a hit here I'm looking forward to trying out on another visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Fish Tale Brew Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing