We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stretch your legs”

Nisqually National Wildlife Refuge
Ranked #2 of 56 things to do in Olympia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on the Nisqually River Delta in Southern Puget Sound, this refuge consists of three thousand acres of salt and freshwater marshes, grasslands and mixed forest habitats that provide a resting and nesting area for a wide variety of migratory birds.
Renton, WA
Level Contributor
120 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stretch your legs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Despite living in the Seattle area we had never stopped at Nisqually on our trips south. It is easily accessed from I-5. We didn't have time to try the Estuary Trail but did enjoy the Twin Barns Loop. Easy walking, relaxing 1 mile hike. We will certainly return at a later time as we would enjoy being there when the waterfowl are more plentiful. There is a very small fee, $3 for 4 adults, children under 16 are free. Several passes are accepted including Senior and Access. The Visitor Center was not open during our visit, but the bathrooms were available and clean.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Head-mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    107
    22
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Educational”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We went there last Sunday and it turned out to be a beautiful day. Cost $3 for a family of four and the money goes toward the wildlife. We walked and then went off the beaten path to the boardwalk. Along the way, we're all reading the wildlife and their informations. We saw jellyfish swam by and birds flying around. It's just a beautiful scenic.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chanthon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Recharge your batteries with a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We decided to spend the day at Nisqually Wildlife Refuge, we arrived midmorning to a partially filled parking lot, we paid our entry fee and checked out the small gift store, pu a map and with our picnic lunch took off. Planning a day of leasurely hiking. The refuge has been extensively developed to allow visitors access thruout a lot of the Delta. Boardwalks over an estuary, wildlife viewing stations, remnants of an orchard and old historic barns reminiscent of it's farming past, long winding trails thru out the area encourage visitors to meander and take a long look out at the freshwater and salt water integration, and the creatures that shelter here. We saw many eagles, herons, barn swallows, several duck varieties, we heard owls and know they are there but did not see them. The tide was coming in under and beside the boardwalk and that was really interesting to see the estuary fill. We underestimated how long it would take us to walk the trails and suggest planning for a full day or better yet, several days to enjoy this beautiful National Treasure. Remember, leave you dogs home, as they are not allowed here.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank marinaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
101 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Pretty easy nice walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Nice walk and easy walk. Didn't see a lot of wildlife , but many birds around. $3 entrance fee is a little too much for the small trail. But pretty nice overall.

Helpful?
Thank josh61516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
365 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Educational and peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Liked the visitor center, the board walk and the bird sittings. There is nothing to dislike about the facility.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nisqually National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Nisqually National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing