We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Olympia
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great getaway!”
Reviewed 3 December 2011

My husband and I needed a date night. We booked a room at this local hotel. Had a great dinner downtown Olympia at Peppers..excellent mexican food & margaritas. We checked into the hotel & they gave us a free upgrade to a jacuzzi room. The front desk lady, Ardis, was so friendly, efficient, and accommodating! It was a total pleasure doing business with her! She's a great asset to the hotel! This hotel has been around since I was a little kid. It's changed hands many times over the years. I was really impressed how beautiful the decor is and how clean and cozy they've made it. We had a wonderful time in the bar listening to a great jazz trio. Our room was very nicely decorated and very clean. You'd never know it was an old hotel. The bed was extremely comfortable... and the jacuzzi was so relaxing. All in all, this was a fabulous date night!!!

Room Tip: ask for a jacuzzi room... super clean and awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jomama7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    289
    162
    66
    48
See reviews for
189
213
31
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Stayed here on Thanksgiving after visiting family in the area, rather than the 2 hr drive home at night in the rain and traffic. Front desk staff very friendly, room large and spacious, but not as clean as it could have been. A couple of stray hairs on the bedspread, faucet in bathroom wasn't clean. But nice location (if you have a car as someone else said). Breakfast the next morning was very nice, wonderful view of sunrise over Capitol Lake. We'll stay here again, but will definitely ask for a room overlooking the lake, instead of the parking lots. Rooms facing the parking lots also suffer from the very bright lights, making it necessary to close the curtains....

Room Tip: avoid looking out over parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy98110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

The rooms were clean and comfortable and most have a balcony; the ones at the rear of the motel overlook a lawn that leads to a lake so it was quite a pleasant view. The lobby has a slightly cramped feel although there are chairs and couches. Although not far from a highway, the hotel was quiet, partly because the immediate neighborhood seems to be a spread out combination of residential and office/governmental buildings.

That location though is also the main downside of the hotel: it's fairly far away from pretty much anything (restaurants, stores, etc.). If you have a car, no problem. It actually is a fairly interesting and pleasant walk down the hill to Capitol Lake and across the bridge to where some restaurants are, but it's well over a mile one-way.

So it's a nice place if you have a car. If you're going to be on foot, be prepared to walk long distances.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkt_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comox, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Very comfortable beds and clean.
Many other aspects lacking eg. single-pane windows made it noisy, minimal surface for coffee-maker/microwave (had to ask for that), no breakfast supplied - should have been for almost $100 - insufficient chairs and surfaces for laying items on arrival. We won't stay here again.
Previous night in hotel in smaller community was HUGELY better in every respect for considerably less money eg. included hot-breakfast buffet (I tried thirteen menu items alone which wasn't all).

Room Tip: Make sure it has double/triple-pane windows to cut outside noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

I stayed last weekend with my father and nephew. My dad's king room was a little small, had no view, but was nice enough. My room was HUGE with 2 queen beds, a balcony, and a view of the lake, but close to the highway. The hotel needs some updating, but overall it was clean, comfortable, reasonably priced, and great for our purposes. The food in the bar was tasty and we had an inexpensively priced bottle of wine. Great view from the bar/restaurant and nice wait staff. I'd stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandypdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anacortes, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Could not have asked for better service. Both check-in and check-out were quick with exemplary staff assistance. The room was comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothell, WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Went down to Olympia Yacht Club for the Silver Star Ball recently, and stayed at this hotel. Let me keep it simple, it was just plain excellence in every capacity, from start to the final Good-Bye!

Room Tip: Ask to be on the back side not the parking lot side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Olympia hotels
4.4 mi away
Ramada Olympia
Ramada Olympia
#2 of 9 in Olympia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Olympia
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Olympia Lacey
1.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Olympia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion

Property: Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
Address: 2300 Evergreen Park Dr SW, Olympia, WA 98502-6008 (Formerly WestCoast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Olympia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Olympia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion we put you close to the heart of the city, and near all the best experiences. We have stunning views of Capitol Lake and surrounding wooded areas, set on 12 lush acres. With upgraded, newly renovated, hotel amenities and features including convenient travel packages, we provide you with a satisfying hotel stay guaranteed. Each of our spacious 193 Olympia accommodations offers premium amenities, modern comfort, and casual luxury for all travelers. Pillow-top mattresses and tripled-sheeted beds let you sleep easy. Our newly renovated guest rooms include all the hotel amenities travelers need, from free Wi-Fi to microwaves and refrigerators, we keep our traveler in mind. We're even a pet-friendly hotel. Let your dog out to sprint down Olympia's many lakeside trails. From recently renovated onsite dining to spacious meeting facilities, our hotel in Olympia equips any traveler with what they need for a perfect stay. Whether you're here for business or exploration, you'll find that the state capital is a hotbed of activity. From shopping to annual events, there's always something to do at Hotel RL Olympia. Introducing the Living Stage: From lectures to performances to hands-on demonstrations, The Living Stage at Hotel RL invites people from all walks of life to share their knowledge and passion for community awareness, health, creativity and innovation. Designed to ignite conversations and promote a deeper understanding of the world around us, The Living Stage incorporates authors, artists, musicians, community leaders, local start-ups and more. Responsible Travel: We believe everyone deserves to sleep with a roof over his or her head. It is estimated that on any given night in US, more than 600,000 people experience homelessness. As members of the lodging industry, we believe it is our duty to act. Project Wake Up Call is the response. Learn more about Project Wake Up Call and its Olympia partner: SideWalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Olympia
Olympia Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing