We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely wooded setting overlooking the sound”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Olympia
Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely wooded setting overlooking the sound”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Our large comfortable room with small balcony with view of the sound was great. We did have a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker and a very nice pillowtop bed. Happy hour in the bar was great with a nice variety of food choices at happy hour prices. For breakfast, we opted for coffee only forgoing the sumptuous looking buffet in the restaurant . Also, room service is available for all meals. A nice little workout room is available to burn off all of those calories. The only down side to the location, is that a car is required if any shopping needs to get done. There is a mall/shopping center about 3-4 miles away, but no gift shop in the hotel nor any convenience stores walking distance for purchase of forgotten items. It felt too cold for my taste to be out and about, but there appear to be plenty of attractive places on the grounds and nearby for walking or jogging. The staff was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our visit and would return

Room Tip: I'd spring for one of the balcony rooms overlooking the sound
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dumoyer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    295
    169
    71
    50
See reviews for
196
218
33
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2012

we had a great time at the Halloween bash- and the pricing for the room/champagne/bash/breakfast was great! you were out of the 'all you can eat prime rib' when we sat down for dinner at 630- not good. Dinner was delicious however, but took a loooooong time. The DJ at the bash was alright, played a lot of old music though- could have been a bit more modern. Overall good experience, would recommend. I was the only Popeye, so that was good!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisDuP0nt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
172 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

The room was okay but too much floor space was taken-up by armoire that was empty except for a tv - it was supposed to hold a fridge & microwave but didn't. The shower had NO water pressure and the fan was noisy and useless. After two showers it was like being in a rain forest and we had to open the window to get the steam out of the room.

I was beyond frustrated making our reservation. I asked if a fridge and microwave were in the room - the response is that to guarantee having them you have to pay for a room upgrade (another $10 per night). Otherwise you and "request" one and if you get there first, you get one. So, you either pay the extortion or roll the dice. When I asked why they couldn't figure-out how to put a Reserved sign on them, I was told it just wasn't their policy. Obviously, they want the extra cash every night.

We were there because of an event being held in the hotel, and I'll never go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dera H, Front Office Manager at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
The Red Lion Hotel Olympia prides itself on creating the most memorable guest experiences possible. One of the best ways we can improve the quality of our services is to respond to guests’ comments and concerns. We value the time you took to share your remarks with us.
Please accept our sincerest apology for the water pressure and the exhaust fan in your room. Our shower heads are designed to be eco-friendly and reduce the amount of water usage resulting in less waste. The engineering team at the hotel has examined the exhaust systems in the bathrooms looking for ways to increase the capabilities of the fans.

Our Premium Rooms are upgraded rooms that have a balcony or patio, refrigerator, and microwave. The floor space is larger in these rooms as well. Unfortunately, we currently do not have microwaves or refrigerators in our standard rooms, but do have them available upon request at no extra charge. Our supply is limited and we are not always able to accommodate the requests for microwaves and refrigerators.

We do appreciate your business and look forward to you choosing Red Lion Hotels in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Olympia hotels

Trujillo Alto, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed for seven nights and booked it as a middle point place to visit Mt. St. Helen, Mt. Rainier and Seattle. It was really the right choice.
Pros:
Good value.
Friendly and attentive staff.
Comfy and clean rooms.
Rooms and bathrooms are done daily and supplied with toiletries.
Comfy beds.
Gardens are beautiful and well maintained.
Safe and big parking lot with several building entrances.
Property was really quiet; there were a lot of children and pets ( as we saw them in the parking lot or the aisles) and we never heard any noise.
This hotel is about five minutes from down town, some malls and good restaurants, diners and fast foods.

Cons:
There's no fridge nor microwave in the rooms, unless you asked for them.
The property is in an area surrounded by government buildings and there's no restaurants or fast foods near the hotel, so you will need a car if you don't want to use the hotel restaurant.
No complementary breakfast is served.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the government parking lot site for quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Olympia has no major chain hotels -- nothing at all in the Hilton, Hyatt, Marriott etc, families. This may come as a surprise, considering the city is decently sized and should catch a fair amount of business travelers serving the state government.

But it does have the Red Lion. I had a fine stay with no major complaints, but a lot of little things aren't quite on the level of the major chains. They're like 85% of the way there.

Check-in was fast and the staff were friendly and accommodating. I had a two-night stay, and when I had gotten back for my second evening around 5pm I noticed I had left the Do Not Disturb sign on. I called the front desk and someone was immediately sent to take care of my room. It wasn't a full cleaning but it was adequate, and was my mistake in the first place. (They *did* honor the sign, after all.)

Overall I'd put the furnishings at very nice-not-excellent. The bed was comfy, the towels were fine and all, but I couldn't stop think what Marriott could do if they bought this place. TV was an older tube model and a bit fuzzy. My room was quiet and occupancy seemed low (midweek stay). The grounds and general area are pleasant to walk around. In fact my business was within walking distance, so the location was perfect for me. But for restaurants (other than the hotel's own), shopping, the Capitol or downtown Olympia, expect to be driving.

For newspapers you can choose a free USA Today or The Olympian, but not the WSJ. The breakfast buffet was OK with a fair selection of warm food, but I've seen better ones at Residence Inns. For example, I had to ask for scrambled eggs. The buffet wasn't free, but I didn't expect it to be and was reasonably priced (around $7-8 total) anyway.

There's no free coffee out front as there might be at a mid-level national chain property. The outdoor pool/hot tub was closed for the season, which was the biggest disappointment, as it was still only September and the weather in the Pacific NW is still dependably nice.

I don't mean to nitpick as my stay was fine and I hope to return. But the Red Lion is not quite a Sheraton or full-service Marriott.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
199 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We spent four nights here in Sept/Oct 2012 on our annual visit to see my family. We usually stay at the Phoenix Inn but were disappointed the last couple of times, so decided to try something different this time. It was not an improvement. The hotel is a bit outdated; the TV was ancient. There was no refrigerator or microwave, something we depend on when doing a road trip. I should have planned better and made sure I had a room with those amenities, since I think they are available. The location is sort of out of the way, but pretty convenient for all the places we go. Breakfast was quite expensive; we never ate at the hotel after looking at the prices. I suspect this is a good hotel for the business traveller, but for this leisure traveller it did not fill the bill. Now I have to figure out where to stay next year.... sigh....

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALT44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Stayed here for 5 days and I have to say what an utter disappointment. After reading all the recent good reviews I was expecting a good hotel but instead found very little good about it. Bottom line: noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in, fair rooms that were a bit outdated, expensive breakfast that isn't included in your room rate, and checking in was a nightmare due to lack of trained staff.

There were two weddings going on while I stayed here. HUGE CAUTION: ask before booking if there is a wedding or party going on while you are there. Both times when the wedding parties finished they continue in guests hotel rooms until 4:00am for the first one and 3:00am on the second. I had to call the front desk many times to get them to finally respond. Had almost no sleep either time! Staff on duty at night both times didn't seem to know what to do and it took hours for things to quiet down (screaming, yelling, running down the halls)

The walls are super thin so our neighbors with the screaming baby and the couple who fought also kept me up. The doors on the room rattle everytime someone slams them. I travel around the world and have never seen a noisier hotel. Also the rooms smelled and had to change my room because of the moldy smoky smell.

Good: beautiful location

Bad: just about everything unfortuantely.

Overall: stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a wedding during your stay because if so know they allow them to party and make nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KnowingThisKnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dera H, Front Office Manager at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
The Red Lion Hotel Olympia prides itself on creating the most memorable guest experiences possible. One of the best ways we can improve the quality of our services is to respond to guests’ comments and concerns. We value the time you took to share your remarks with us.

Please accept our sincerest appologies for the noise issues realted to the wedding parties that were here in the hotel. In response to the challenges, we have instituded new noise and activities policies and procedures that will help to eliminate noise disturbances trhoughout the hotel.

We do appreciate your business and look forward to you choosing Red Lion Hotels in the future.

Dera Hicks, Front Office Manager
Red Lion Hotel Olympia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Olympia hotels
4.4 mi away
Ramada Olympia
Ramada Olympia
#2 of 9 in Olympia
1,156 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Olympia
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Olympia Lacey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia
1.2 mi away
The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel
1.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Olympia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion

Property: Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
Address: 2300 Evergreen Park Dr SW, Olympia, WA 98502-6008 (Formerly WestCoast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Olympia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Olympia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion we put you close to the heart of the city, and near all the best experiences. We have stunning views of Capitol Lake and surrounding wooded areas, set on 12 lush acres. With upgraded, newly renovated, hotel amenities and features including convenient travel packages, we provide you with a satisfying hotel stay guaranteed. Each of our spacious 193 Olympia accommodations offers premium amenities, modern comfort, and casual luxury for all travelers. Pillow-top mattresses and tripled-sheeted beds let you sleep easy. Our newly renovated guest rooms include all the hotel amenities travelers need, from free Wi-Fi to microwaves and refrigerators, we keep our traveler in mind. We're even a pet-friendly hotel. Let your dog out to sprint down Olympia's many lakeside trails. From recently renovated onsite dining to spacious meeting facilities, our hotel in Olympia equips any traveler with what they need for a perfect stay. Whether you're here for business or exploration, you'll find that the state capital is a hotbed of activity. From shopping to annual events, there's always something to do at Hotel RL Olympia. Introducing the Living Stage: From lectures to performances to hands-on demonstrations, The Living Stage at Hotel RL invites people from all walks of life to share their knowledge and passion for community awareness, health, creativity and innovation. Designed to ignite conversations and promote a deeper understanding of the world around us, The Living Stage incorporates authors, artists, musicians, community leaders, local start-ups and more. Responsible Travel: We believe everyone deserves to sleep with a roof over his or her head. It is estimated that on any given night in US, more than 600,000 people experience homelessness. As members of the lodging industry, we believe it is our duty to act. Project Wake Up Call is the response. Learn more about Project Wake Up Call and its Olympia partner: SideWalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Olympia
Olympia Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing