We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solitude Without Isolation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Olympia
Reviewed 9 December 2012

The Red Lion in Olympia has a quiet, treed and picturesque location that is also very convenient to two freeways. Half the rooms look out on the parking lot, the other half look out into the woods towards Capitol Lake. Very serene. The lobby area and restaurant are well kept, but, the hallways and other public areas are in need of some updating, the carpets especially. The rooms are large and clean, but are due have more modern refreshing soon. The television is a relic. The staff at Red Lion properties always tend to be friendly and professional. Aside from the restaurant in the hotel, there is no food within walking distance. There are lots of restaurant options no more than 10 minutes away by car. There aren't many places to stay in Olympia, The Red Lion is a good choice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank protravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (910)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

767 - 773 of 910 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank KioniKanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Had expected no problems from this company owned hotel, but no one bothered to turn on heat in room and it was freezing cold. Took quite awhile to heat up. Like 100% cotton sheets, but these were a blend and had to put on a t shirt over nightgown to sleep. Thin blanket and thin bedspread so chilly all night. restless sleep and two queen beds in room had only one night stand between them so none on my side. We traveled with our dog, and pets are allowed but neglected to inform of us there was a charge...only $15, but should advise guest beforehand. Breakfast is included in price, but hard for us because we like healthy choices to be included. No oatmeal, and some cold cereal choices. Fresh fruit good. Staff was excellent and felt badly we had such trouble with sleeping. Easy freeway access, but won't choose it again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beeperVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Departments at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us. We apologize for the temperature of your guest room and that the heat was not turned on in your room . We certainly understand why that would have an effect on the quality of your stay.
We value you as a guest and we are always looking for ways to enhance our guest experience. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to better serve you on your next visit.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We stayed one night on our way to Seattle, and had a comfortable night's sleep. The room was large and clean, but overall, the hotel feels a bit dated. The bathroom had been remodeled, perhaps by several different people, because none of the decor matched. The granite counter top was matched by a granite shelf in the shower, which clashed quite badly with the chosen tile. Oh well. The room won't win any beauty contests.

The room was quiet, except for the barking dog next door. The heater was a bit noisy as well, but did its job in keeping the room warm on a cold night. The location is quite nice, close to downtown, but in a quiet setting overlooking the water.

I would stay here again on a road trip, but would not likely make it a vacation destination for my family.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank kenopdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Our large comfortable room with small balcony with view of the sound was great. We did have a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker and a very nice pillowtop bed. Happy hour in the bar was great with a nice variety of food choices at happy hour prices. For breakfast, we opted for coffee only forgoing the sumptuous looking buffet in the restaurant . Also, room service is available for all meals. A nice little workout room is available to burn off all of those calories. The only down side to the location, is that a car is required if any shopping needs to get done. There is a mall/shopping center about 3-4 miles away, but no gift shop in the hotel nor any convenience stores walking distance for purchase of forgotten items. It felt too cold for my taste to be out and about, but there appear to be plenty of attractive places on the grounds and nearby for walking or jogging. The staff was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our visit and would return

Room Tip: I'd spring for one of the balcony rooms overlooking the sound
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dumoyer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

we had a great time at the Halloween bash- and the pricing for the room/champagne/bash/breakfast was great! you were out of the 'all you can eat prime rib' when we sat down for dinner at 630- not good. Dinner was delicious however, but took a loooooong time. The DJ at the bash was alright, played a lot of old music though- could have been a bit more modern. Overall good experience, would recommend. I was the only Popeye, so that was good!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisDuP0nt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

The room was okay but too much floor space was taken-up by armoire that was empty except for a tv - it was supposed to hold a fridge & microwave but didn't. The shower had NO water pressure and the fan was noisy and useless. After two showers it was like being in a rain forest and we had to open the window to get the steam out of the room.

I was beyond frustrated making our reservation. I asked if a fridge and microwave were in the room - the response is that to guarantee having them you have to pay for a room upgrade (another $10 per night). Otherwise you and "request" one and if you get there first, you get one. So, you either pay the extortion or roll the dice. When I asked why they couldn't figure-out how to put a Reserved sign on them, I was told it just wasn't their policy. Obviously, they want the extra cash every night.

We were there because of an event being held in the hotel, and I'll never go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dera H, Front Office Manager at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

The Red Lion Hotel Olympia prides itself on creating the most memorable guest experiences possible. One of the best ways we can improve the quality of our services is to respond to guests’ comments and concerns. We value the time you took to share your remarks with us.
Please accept our sincerest apology for the water pressure and the exhaust fan in your room. Our shower heads are designed to be eco-friendly and reduce the amount of water usage resulting in less waste. The engineering team at the hotel has examined the exhaust systems in the bathrooms looking for ways to increase the capabilities of the fans.

Our Premium Rooms are upgraded rooms that have a balcony or patio, refrigerator, and microwave. The floor space is larger in these rooms as well. Unfortunately, we currently do not have microwaves or refrigerators in our standard rooms, but do have them available upon request at no extra charge. Our supply is limited and we are not always able to accommodate the requests for microwaves and refrigerators.

We do appreciate your business and look forward to you choosing Red Lion Hotels in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Olympia hotels
1.2 mi away
The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Olympia
4.4 mi away
Ramada Olympia
Ramada Olympia
#2 of 9 in Olympia
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Olympia Lacey
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia
1.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Olympia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion

Address: 2300 Evergreen Park Dr SW, Olympia, WA 98502-6008 (Formerly WestCoast)
Region: United States > Washington > Olympia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Olympia
Price Range: £73 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion we put you close to the heart of the city, and near all the best experiences. We have stunning views of Capitol Lake and surrounding wooded areas, set on 12 lush acres. With upgraded, newly renovated, hotel amenities and features including convenient travel packages, we provide you with a satisfying hotel stay guaranteed. Each of our spacious 193 Olympia accommodations offers premium amenities, modern comfort, and casual luxury for all travelers. Pillow-top mattresses and tripled-sheeted beds let you sleep easy. Our newly renovated guest rooms include all the hotel amenities travelers need, from free Wi-Fi to microwaves and refrigerators, we keep our traveler in mind. We're even a pet-friendly hotel. Let your dog out to sprint down Olympia's many lakeside trails. From recently renovated onsite dining to spacious meeting facilities, our hotel in Olympia equips any traveler with what they need for a perfect stay. Whether you're here for business or exploration, you'll find that the state capital is a hotbed of activity. From shopping to annual events, there's always something to do at Hotel RL Olympia. Introducing the Living Stage: From lectures to performances to hands-on demonstrations, The Living Stage at Hotel RL invites people from all walks of life to share their knowledge and passion for community awareness, health, creativity and innovation. Designed to ignite conversations and promote a deeper understanding of the world around us, The Living Stage incorporates authors, artists, musicians, community leaders, local start-ups and more. Responsible Travel: We believe everyone deserves to sleep with a roof over his or her head. It is estimated that on any given night in US, more than 600,000 people experience homelessness. As members of the lodging industry, we believe it is our duty to act. Project Wake Up Call is the response. Learn more about Project Wake Up Call and its Olympia partner: SideWalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Olympia
Olympia Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing