We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay in a great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Olympia
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Another great stay in a great hotel!”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This is the 10th time I've stayed at this particular Red Lion and it just keeps getting better. They have replaced their TV wardrobes with a combination fridge/microwave/TV shrunk that is smaller and more useful (prior to this many rooms did not have fridges or microwaves). Easy freeway access yet very quiet. The staff was extremely accommodating for our very large convention (we used every single room in the hotel) yet the food was reasonably priced and the wait staff most cordial.

Room Tip: I've learned that the most quiet rooms are on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Social Media Marketing Coordinator at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! I certainly agree- we are a great option for conventions. We absolutely welcome all conventions that want to utilize most, and all of our guestrooms and meeting space. I'm so happy to hear that your every need was met with professionalism, and a sense of friendliness.

We are excited to host you and your guests for future groups.

Best,

Rachel Kirk
Social Media Marketing Coordinator
Red Lion Hotel Olympia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    289
    164
    67
    48
See reviews for
189
215
32
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yakima, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My wife and I have been staying here six times a year for 7 years now and not once did we have any problem and we concider ourselfs very picky. everyone is so frendly and helpful. They are top notch! Any time I have ever need a late check out they have alway accepted without hesitation. the views from just about every room has a great view and from the dining area is the best view of Capital Lake.

Room Tip: any room is great for us :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Social Media Marketing Coordinator at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Wow! You honestly have me smiling from reading about your encounter at the Red Lion Hotel Olympia. As you said, we have a great staff, and we're fortunate enough to have that as one of our greatest assets. Our location, as you said is certainly beautiful, situated right on Capital Lake.

Thank you again- your business and comments are most appreciated.

Warm Regards,

Rachel Kirk
Social Media Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Our room in the hotel was huge and quiet not to mention the great view. We loved that it was set
in it's own mini forest just off the I- 5. We will definitely be back again. Front desk people very
friendly.
D.M.Greengrass

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Social Media Marketing Coordinator at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you for the great review! I agree, our forest background makes us a very cozy option for business or leisure.

Looking forward to your return,

Rachel Kirk
Social Media Marketing Coordinator
Red Lion Hotel Olympia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights for a convention. While there are a small handful of low points, overall I was very impressed.

Checkin: friendly and efficient. I didn't think my debit card would cover the daily authorization for incidentals, but the clerk advised me that I could just fix it so nothing could be charged to my room. No problem!

Room: ceiling lighting left a bit to be desired, but lamps were high-powered and sufficient to light the whole room. Very spacious. Upgrade had just been completed so cabinet, television, refrigerator, and microwave were all brand-new. First full day a new alarm clock arrived, as well. Upgrades were in progress during the week but they were making sure guests were assigned to already-done rooms to the extent possible. Outlets in the room were sparse; a six-outlet jack was available by the desk, but nothing near the bed. Balcony was available for looking out over the wooded back area, but neighboring guest smoking out there kept me inside.

Bathroom: clean, with spacious counter. Had current-trend toilet-inches-above-the-floor, which I find annoying, but at least it worked. Shower head mounted high enough for a tall person to stand under, though water pressure was on the weak side (jet spray pretty much just dribbled; fine spray was too broad to efficiently wet or rinse wash cloth). As in most hotels, the fan wasn't up to the task of keeping the mirror unclouded.

Restaurant: breakfast and lunch were provided with my convention, but I did have dinner twice at the restaurant. Food was between very good and excellent, service very good (friendly, but moments of slowness not due to number of diners). Not nearly as overpriced as most hotel restaurants, good value. Would have liked more dinner choices at the lower end of the scale, such as more sandwiches than just a hamburger. View of the back lot is gorgeous; watched a deer walking around my second time there.

Meeting facilities: one room seemed dark, but perhaps the lights weren't turned up all the way. Most people found the room cold in the morning, but it didn't bother me at all. Chairs in the meeting room were very uncomfortable after about 2 hours; a week later I still have some stiffness in my back.

Checkout: as friendly and efficient as checkin. Since I'd already paid in full using the debit card, it took about 5 seconds beyond the time the computer needed to bring up my record.

Followup: as a frequent stay club member (new with this stay, so don't even have my card yet and don't remember the name of the program) I was sent an online survey on which I made most of these same comments. Very pleasantly surprised to receive a personalized reply from the General Manager addressing my specific concerns. That alone tells me this is a staff that cares about its guests. Thanks, Shawn!

Room Tip: Rooms along the back face an expansive lawn, woods, and the south end of Capitol Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Social Media Marketing Coordinator at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you so much for the informative, outstanding review! I'm so thankful you not only stayed with us, but took time to give us such detailed feedback. I'm happy to hear you noticed we were in the process of upgrading some of our public and guestroom areas, and really like that you were impressed with the view of our restaurant; West Water. We are fortunate enough to have such a guest-focused General Manager who takes time to respond to each, and every guest survey we receive. I can honestly say that not 1 goes unread- we take these surveys very seriously.

Again; your time and comments are truly appreciated, and we most certainly hope you will be back again in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Rachel Kirk
Social Media Marketing Coordinator
Red Lion Hotel Olympia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camas, Wa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Got this place for a business trip. Arranged by my work. Very disappointed. I observed the place is in definite need of some cosmetic work. While at the front desk i noticed that some were provided complimentary breakfast and other not (me). Noise from the room above me. Something was spilled on the sofa. Would not stay here again. Hard to believe that in the state capital, this could be one of the better accommodations.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheshoesCamas_Wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel01081990, Social Media Marketing Coordinator at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to review our property. I want to first of all offer you my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you experienced; when a guest leaves us with ill-hearted feelings, we have not done our job right, and unfortunately that seems to be the case here. I'm happy to let you know that we have quite a few upgrades planned in the future which will refresh our look, and give our property a new light. I welcome you back to experience these upgrades as I feel you will be most pleased, and I trust we will be able to win back your business.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Rachel Kirk
Social Media Marketing Coordinator
Red Lion Hotel Olympia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nederland, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Room furniture was old, but they had furniture stacked in the halls for replacement. Breakfast was disappointing. French toast was average and oatmeal was cold. Front desk was helpful when asked for assistance. Difficult place to find, especially at night.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarielleVGerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Islands, Washington
Level Contributor
334 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Our show dog needed two surgeries and we had to stay over a night so she could see the MD next AM after surgery. Great spot, very large place but nested in beautiful trees, short distance to anywhere, nice grass surrounding for pets, very pet friendly. Nice and quiet, so much that we thought we were in the country somewhere yet I-5 a short distance in the background. Even though I have traveled over 40 years worldwide and so often that I was an original USA Today Road Warrior, seldom have I had the treated like a real guest check in that Ardys at the front desk handled with obvious relish. If every hotel had a check in person like her, half their problems would be over. Highly reccomended. Did no food nor drink there - not with a zonked out standard poodle to care for.

Room Tip: With pets, the first floor rooms open right onto the grass - superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Olympia hotels
4.4 mi away
Ramada Olympia
Ramada Olympia
#2 of 9 in Olympia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Olympia
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Olympia Lacey
1.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Olympia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion

Property: Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
Address: 2300 Evergreen Park Dr SW, Olympia, WA 98502-6008 (Formerly WestCoast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Olympia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Olympia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion we put you close to the heart of the city, and near all the best experiences. We have stunning views of Capitol Lake and surrounding wooded areas, set on 12 lush acres. With upgraded, newly renovated, hotel amenities and features including convenient travel packages, we provide you with a satisfying hotel stay guaranteed. Each of our spacious 193 Olympia accommodations offers premium amenities, modern comfort, and casual luxury for all travelers. Pillow-top mattresses and tripled-sheeted beds let you sleep easy. Our newly renovated guest rooms include all the hotel amenities travelers need, from free Wi-Fi to microwaves and refrigerators, we keep our traveler in mind. We're even a pet-friendly hotel. Let your dog out to sprint down Olympia's many lakeside trails. From recently renovated onsite dining to spacious meeting facilities, our hotel in Olympia equips any traveler with what they need for a perfect stay. Whether you're here for business or exploration, you'll find that the state capital is a hotbed of activity. From shopping to annual events, there's always something to do at Hotel RL Olympia. Introducing the Living Stage: From lectures to performances to hands-on demonstrations, The Living Stage at Hotel RL invites people from all walks of life to share their knowledge and passion for community awareness, health, creativity and innovation. Designed to ignite conversations and promote a deeper understanding of the world around us, The Living Stage incorporates authors, artists, musicians, community leaders, local start-ups and more. Responsible Travel: We believe everyone deserves to sleep with a roof over his or her head. It is estimated that on any given night in US, more than 600,000 people experience homelessness. As members of the lodging industry, we believe it is our duty to act. Project Wake Up Call is the response. Learn more about Project Wake Up Call and its Olympia partner: SideWalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Olympia
Olympia Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing