We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh... ok... Decent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Olympia
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Comfortable bed, friendly check in... a middle of the road property... nice location in a quiet area about 1 mile from downtown... somehow they forgot to leave soap and shampoo for us... not a lot of choices in olympia, i don't imagine anyplace else is better there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Social Media Marketing Coordinator at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I'm so sorry your stay with us can only be described as 'decent'. We strive to be leaders in our market, and with this we have some exciting upgrades planned in the upcoming year.

We hope you chose to stay with us again, and we look forward to your return.

Best,

Rachel Kirk
Social Media Marketing Coordinator
Red Lion Hotel Olympia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (959)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

770 - 776 of 959 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

red lion chain is now my new favorite! this hotel sits on a exquistie property site. water nearby, great lawns, view from the dining area. check in was quick, efficient and the desk person was so friendly and welcoming, i liked her instantly.

room immaculate and super comfortable - one of the best sleeping done in a hotel.

go for the breakast . lots to choose from and savor the view from a window table.

easy to access interstate, but didn't hear road noise.

know that the hotel is huge...lots of walking down the halls/outside to get to lobby.

i highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaVidaLoca505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Social Media Marketing Coordinator at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thank you so much for the great review! The comments you mentioned are exactly what we strive to hear from each and every guest. We hope you have the chance to visit us again in the very near future.

Best,

Rachel Kirk
Social Media Marketing Coordinator
Red Lion Hotel Olympai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed at the Red Lion Olympia this weekend on a trip to visit family. Having never been there, the front desk staff offered us great recommendations for dinner, informed us that there was a fair going on, and gave us great directions. We had an absolutely wonderful time thanks to their local advice.

The rooms were comfortable. The beds were outsanding and the air conditioning worked very well. The bathrooms were a little small but seemed modern.

The breakfast buffet was good. It had a large selection so everyone in our party had something to eat and the dining room overlooked the lake--great view!

Room Tip: There are rooms that face over the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caminidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Social Media Marketing Coordinator at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Wow! What an outstanding review! It is this kind of feedback that really keeps our hotel going, and is exactly what we strive for on a daily basis. One of our Red Lion mottos is 'friendly service, locally inspired', and is a saying we instill to our staff each day. It sounds like you also had the chance to visit Capital Lakefair, one of Olympia's premier summer events, and particularly one that Olympia is famous for!

We're so fortunate to have the pleasure of hosting your accommodations, and we really do appreciate the feedback. Our staff will surely get a pat on the back for the job well done.

Warm regards,

Rachel Kirk
Social Media Marketing Coordinator
Red Lion Hotel Olympia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

My sister-in-law and I took a little trip to Olympia and stayed two nights at the Red Lion. It all started off well. The staff was courteous and professional, the room was immaculate. The setting is beautiful, in the trees overlooking Capitol Lake. We both thought the beds were good and housekeeping gave us extra coffee, no decaf. We had a very pleasant evening sitting in the bar overlooking the grounds and sipping a glass of wine. The next day we spent downtown and returned to the hotel to recharge. As we were in our room, I began to notice a smell -- a sweet floral scent. It grew stronger and I couldn't tell where it was coming from. Thinking I was losing my mind, I called the desk and asked about the scent. It turns out that the hotel regularly pumps air freshener throughout the halls, since there isn't much air circulation. Unfortunately for me, I had a bad reaction to the air freshener, developing a crashing headache. The desk staff was very kind and offered some suggestions to help clear the scent near our room and if that didn't work, moving us to another room. We were able to clear the air by opening the window and turning the fan on. I've never had a reaction like that before and hope I don't again. Anyway, overall the hotel was fine, just be aware that they freshen the air. The only other thing I would suggest is screens on the windows.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Notthatcuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Social Media Marketing Coordinator at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you so much for your kind and constructive review! I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. I do however really want to apologize that the smell of our air freshener gave you such a headache though! While we do use air freshener, we use it very sparingly to give rooms a light refresh, however it sounds like your room attendant may of had too heavy of a hand. I will bring this to our Director of Room's attention to go over with the housekeeping staff, as we certainly do not want this instance to be a recurring experience.

Again; your comments and business are much appreciated. We look forward to accommodating you again in the near future!

Best Regards,

Rachel Kirk
Social Media Marketing Coordinator
Red Lion Hotel Olympia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Stayed here for one night. Polite, professional staff. Room was clean and comfortable. The property itself is really cool - overlooking the river on a big hill. (You could imagine that they host weddings in the yard occasionally.) Overall - if you are looking for an affordable hotel in Olympia, I would highly recommend the Red Lion.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lcw13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Social Media Marketing Coordinator at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you so much for the great review! I can't tell you enough how much we appreciate the time you took to share your great experience. Our ideal location on Capitol Lake does indeed make us a prime destination for weddings.

We're eager to serve you again in the near future!

Best,

Rachel Kirk
Social Media Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel sits amongst tall evergreen trees with an attractive lawn and pool in back. The room are clean, with comfortable beds and bedding, microwave, mini fridge and flat screen TV. The standard hotel bathroom was fine.
We had a nice stay over a July weekend and were able to use the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelstoomuch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Social Media Marketing Coordinator at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thank you for the effort and time you took to write us a review! I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed our woodsy location and pool alike.

We look forward to accommodating you again in the very near future.

Warmly,

Rachel Kirk
Social Media Marketing Coordinator
Red Lion Hotel Olympia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Our 5 day stay at Red Lion Olympia over the July 4'th holiday consisted of:

1. A gorgeous setting above Capital Lake
2. A bright clean room with refrigerator, microwave, coffee-maker
3. Excellent beds
4. Luxurious linens
5. Savory bistro
6. Relaxing pool & hot tub
7. Helpful friendly staff
8. A pet-friendly hotel
9. A reasonably-priced room
10. Happiness while staying at Olympia's best mini-resort!

Thank you Red Lion in Olympia!

Room Tip: The rooms facing east have a beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R0binG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Social Media Marketing Coordinator at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Wow! This is such an outstanding review; I truly cannot wait to share this with our team! I wanted to 'thank you' on each subject you mentioned:

1. “A gorgeous setting above Capital Lake”- One of our best amenities!
2. “A bright clean room with refrigerator, microwave, coffee-maker”- We'll give our housekeeping team a pat on the back.
3. “Excellent beds”- They are our signature 'Stay Comfortable' beds’. They are quite cozy!
4.” Luxurious linens”- Clean, fresh linens can make or break a stay. I'm glad they made yours!
5. “Savory bistro”- Executive Chef Manny says 'thank you'!
6. “Relaxing pool & hot tub”- A 'must' in the summer time. Our Chief Engineer, Ed, keeps it impeccable!
7. “Helpful friendly staff”- They are the foundation of our hotel. They are awesome!
8. “A pet-friendly hotel”- We love accommodating Fido.
9. “A reasonably-priced room”- Our General Manager says 'thank you'! He works very hard on this.
10. “Happiness while staying at Olympia's best mini-resort!”- Your happiness is our #1 priority when you are our guest. I'm glad you were pleased!

Your insightful, thoughtful review is truly so appreciated, and again, our entire staff will be getting a huge pat on the back for such great teamwork, not just only during your stay, but in general. Your business means the world to us; thank you!

Warmly,

Rachel Kirk
Social Media Marketing Coordinator
Red Lion Hotel Olympia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Olympia hotels
4.4 mi away
Ramada Olympia
Ramada Olympia
#2 of 9 in Olympia
1,279 reviews
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Olympia
1.2 mi away
The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Olympia Lacey
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia
1.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Olympia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion

Address: 2300 Evergreen Park Dr SW, Olympia, WA 98502-6008 (Formerly WestCoast)
Region: United States > Washington > Olympia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Olympia
Price Range: £70 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion we put you close to the heart of the city, and near all the best experiences. We have stunning views of Capitol Lake and surrounding wooded areas, set on 12 lush acres. With upgraded, newly renovated, hotel amenities and features including convenient travel packages, we provide you with a satisfying hotel stay guaranteed. Each of our spacious 193 Olympia accommodations offers premium amenities, modern comfort, and casual luxury for all travelers. Pillow-top mattresses and tripled-sheeted beds let you sleep easy. Our newly renovated guest rooms include all the hotel amenities travelers need, from free Wi-Fi to microwaves and refrigerators, we keep our traveler in mind. We're even a pet-friendly hotel. Let your dog out to sprint down Olympia's many lakeside trails. From recently renovated onsite dining to spacious meeting facilities, our hotel in Olympia equips any traveler with what they need for a perfect stay. Whether you're here for business or exploration, you'll find that the state capital is a hotbed of activity. From shopping to annual events, there's always something to do at Hotel RL Olympia. Introducing the Living Stage: From lectures to performances to hands-on demonstrations, The Living Stage at Hotel RL invites people from all walks of life to share their knowledge and passion for community awareness, health, creativity and innovation. Designed to ignite conversations and promote a deeper understanding of the world around us, The Living Stage incorporates authors, artists, musicians, community leaders, local start-ups and more. Responsible Travel: We believe everyone deserves to sleep with a roof over his or her head. It is estimated that on any given night in US, more than 600,000 people experience homelessness. As members of the lodging industry, we believe it is our duty to act. Project Wake Up Call is the response. Learn more about Project Wake Up Call and its Olympia partner: SideWalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Olympia
Olympia Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing