We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Olympia
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Friendliest Staff”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

On our move from Vancouver BC to the Bay Area we stopped here for one of the nights. The hotel is in a beautiful setting despite the proximity to the freeway. The staff was incredibly friendly and welcoming both at the front desk and at the restaurant. The rooms were a little old and could have been cleaner but it was not a big deal.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YVR_Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Social Media Marketing Coordinator at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
What an outstanding review! To read the title of your review, and hear your comments about how friendly our staff is truly hits home, and makes us realize we are doing our jobs right.

We are excited for your next visit to the Red Lion Hotel Olympia.

Best,

Rachel Kirk
Social Media Marketing Coordinator
Red Lion Hotel Olympia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    301
    171
    74
    51
See reviews for
201
221
34
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

On our way to Whidbey Island we broke up the trip with an overnight at the Red Lion Olympia. The room was OK. A bit modest for the price tag. Pillow top beds were nice. No movies? That was a bit of a surprise. Friendly staff and delicious room service meals made it a good choice. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Would recommend on the lobby level or higher. The lower rooms felt a bit stuffy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dedi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Social Media Marketing Coordinator at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for your great review! We do indeed love our pet friends, and we're one of the only pet friendly hotels in the area. While we do not have in room movies, we are located very close to downtown Olympia which offers tons of great activities. We also offer a fantastic happy hour in our bar, which offers a fabulous view of Capitol Lake.

We appreciate your business, and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Warm regards,

Rachel Kirk
Social Media Marketing Coordinator
Red Lion Hotel Olympia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed here just one night for a conference and was pretty pleased. A nice hot breakfast came with the room. The grounds are very pretty and the outdoor pool is heated. Front desk was very helpful and accomodating. The rooms themselves were pretty standard but no issues except the shower handle made it difficult to control the hot and cold water. One little move would bring a dramatic change in temperature. The conference rooms were nice and when I used their equipment for my presentation all worked well. Rooms facing the pool and lake have the best views.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor facing the pool and lake have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4ontheroadMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Social Media Marketing Coordinator at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for your great review! I'm very happy to hear your stay with us was great, and even more so great enough to write about on Trip Advisor. We are fortunate to have such accomodating staff, which pair so great with our breathtaking views of Capitol Lake.

We appreciate your business- and look forward to welcoming you again.

Rachel Kirk
Social Media Marketing Coordinator
Red Lion Hotel Seattle Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My husband and I recently move to WA from GA and had to stay here for about a week until we found a home. The hotel is pet friendly and that was a must as I have two small dogs. The view from the restaurant is really pretty and the pool area was landscaped beautiful. The food at the restaurant was pretty good. I ordered a salad and they brought me the wrong one, however, it was very tasty so in the end it wasn't that big of a deal. The clam chowder was really good!! The continental breakfast was very good and had good variety. Our waitress was very friendly and helpful. My only complaint is the room we were staying in smelled.... Muggy and as if someone had been smoking in the room. However, the room was a great size, the bed was comfortable, it had a small fridge and even a microwave. Over all we had a nice stay. Other than it being a little on the pricey side and the weird smell, it was an over all good experience.

Room Tip: Beautiful landscaping great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khloe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Social Media Marketing Coordinator at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for your review! I'm so happy you enjoyed your vacation with us, and that your experience was one to remember in such a positive light. I do want to apologize that you were brought the wrong item in our restaurant though, and also that you found there to be a 'muggy' smell in our guestroom. We will certainly be bringing these items up in our next staff meeting.

Overall, I'm very pleased your stay wtih us was so great, and we look forward to hosting your accomodations in the future.

Best,

Rachel Kirk
Social Media Marketing Coordinator
Red Lion Hotel Seattle Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights and were very happy. Our room was spacious and clean with doors leading to the pool area. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. We needed to leave extra early one morning and the waitress in the restaurant was very helpful in allowing us to take a couple of bagels and some juice with us even though they weren't open for breakfast. We had a few meals in the bar too and Bree the waitress was really helpful in recommending some local beers. The hotel is a little out of the way but has a great car park and for us it was a good base for exploring the area (Mount St Helen's, Quinault Forest Trail and Ruby Beach).

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Social Media Marketing Coordinator at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for your review! I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and especially Bree's service in the restaurant.

We await your next visit with great eagerness.

Best,

Rachel Kirk
Social Media Marketing Coordinator
Red Lion Hotel Olympia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Valley, Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is tucked back along capitol lake with nice trees and grounds. The building itself is dated but is clean and well kept. I would recommend this place if your needing to stay in Olympia. It seems like it is a bit out of the way but it is really only a couple minutes to downtown.

Room Tip: Request lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tavelswithdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Social Media Marketing Coordinator at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for your review! I agree, our location (while a few minutes from downtown Olympia) is beautiful, and our grounds are so well kepy by our Engineering and Landscaping team. We are very lucky to have such caring team members.

We hope to serve you again soon.

Rachel Kirk
Social Media Marketing Coordinator
Red Lion Hotel Olympia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodi, California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This is my first time in this hotel and I was very impressed. The Olympia Red Lion is a great place to stay. The rooms are well-maintained, clean, comfortable and have been upgraded with refrigerators & microwaves. I recently attended a conference there and the meeting rooms were great. It is a beautiful location and is within walking distance of Capitol Lake and the Budd Bay. I will recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countybirder5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Social Media Marketing Coordinator at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Wow- what a great review! I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us during the conference you attended. We are so lucky to have such a wonderufl sales and catering staff- they truly take such great care of our guests.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Best,

Rachel Kirk
Social Media Marketing Coordinator
Red Lion Hotel Olympia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Olympia hotels
4.4 mi away
Ramada Olympia
Ramada Olympia
#2 of 9 in Olympia
1,175 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Olympia
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Olympia Lacey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 9 in Olympia
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion

Property: Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
Address: 2300 Evergreen Park Dr SW, Olympia, WA 98502-6008 (Formerly WestCoast)
Region: United States > Washington > Olympia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Olympia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion we put you close to the heart of the city, and near all the best experiences. We have stunning views of Capitol Lake and surrounding wooded areas, set on 12 lush acres. With upgraded, newly renovated, hotel amenities and features including convenient travel packages, we provide you with a satisfying hotel stay guaranteed. Each of our spacious 193 Olympia accommodations offers premium amenities, modern comfort, and casual luxury for all travelers. Pillow-top mattresses and tripled-sheeted beds let you sleep easy. Our newly renovated guest rooms include all the hotel amenities travelers need, from free Wi-Fi to microwaves and refrigerators, we keep our traveler in mind. We're even a pet-friendly hotel. Let your dog out to sprint down Olympia's many lakeside trails. From recently renovated onsite dining to spacious meeting facilities, our hotel in Olympia equips any traveler with what they need for a perfect stay. Whether you're here for business or exploration, you'll find that the state capital is a hotbed of activity. From shopping to annual events, there's always something to do at Hotel RL Olympia. Introducing the Living Stage: From lectures to performances to hands-on demonstrations, The Living Stage at Hotel RL invites people from all walks of life to share their knowledge and passion for community awareness, health, creativity and innovation. Designed to ignite conversations and promote a deeper understanding of the world around us, The Living Stage incorporates authors, artists, musicians, community leaders, local start-ups and more. Responsible Travel: We believe everyone deserves to sleep with a roof over his or her head. It is estimated that on any given night in US, more than 600,000 people experience homelessness. As members of the lodging industry, we believe it is our duty to act. Project Wake Up Call is the response. Learn more about Project Wake Up Call and its Olympia partner: SideWalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Olympia
Olympia Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing