We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Olympia
Brandon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Perfect stay, great place over all! ! ! ! !
Bed as comfortable as home!!
So so quiet, great nights sleep.
Loved our time in Olympia. Beautiful Capital city. Will come back again as soon as we can! ! ! ! ! What more can I say ...........

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nanataffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Social Media Marketing Coordinator at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you so much for the great reivew! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our fabulous location, and our resort-like atmosphere. We are so fortunate to have such beatiful grounds!

We appreciate your business, and look forward to your return.

Best,

Rachel Kirk
Social Media Marketing Coordinator
Red Lion Hotel Olympia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    284
    157
    61
    40
See reviews for
186
207
30
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
West Valley City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Nice hotel, a bit hard to find in the dark because it is not near the freeway. Pricey, but it is in a pricey neighborhood. Also, the free breakfast was not free if you use your AAA discount. That didn't seem right. So we skipped paying $7 or more a piece for breakfast and found McDonalds.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JFA121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Social Media Marketing Coordinator at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for the review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I did want to point out that while some of our rates do include breakfast, most (including the AAA and AARP rates) do not. Our breakfast is $7.95 per person for all other guests whose rates do not include breakfast. I'm so sorry you were misinformed!

We hope to welcome you again despite the breakfast confusion, and appreciate your input and suggestions.

Warmest regards,

Rachel Kirk
Social Media Marketing Coordinator
Red Lion Hotel Oylmpia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
209 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stay at the Red Lion Olympia frequently. It is situated in a park-like setting next to the Thurston County Courthouse, a short drive to downtown and the Capital Campus. The staff always makes me feel welcome & gives the impression that they're sincerely happy to have you back. This is true of all the staff at the Red Lion Olympia. Great view from the restaurant & lounge. Pleasant grounds for a walk. The rooms are okay ... they're slowly getting upgrades such as flat screen tv's now & all the rooms have a (small) fridge & microwave. Could still use some simple things like fresh paint, better lighting in the rooms & new furniture (the beds are great but the chairs & love seats really need to be replaced). Would warrant a 5 rating if they'd take care of these things.

Room Tip: Get a room on the lake side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelSinceRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Social Media Marketing Coordinator at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
What a great review! I'm so glad our staff was such an asset during your stay with us. We are fortunate to have such accommodating personnel, and the fact you mentioned their helpfulness on Trip Advisor really lets us know we are doing our jobs right.

I'm pleased to hear you're enjoying our new upgrades- we have more planned which will further add to our guest experience.

Fondly,

Rachel Kirk
Social Media Marketing Coordinator
Red Lion Hotel Olympia
---
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malawimike
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Hotel rooms have been renovated. Nice bed, room was clean, very nice view out the back with a small balcony (but no chairs or anything on the balcony...). Overall, it is probably your best option to stay directly in Olympia proper. I have also given good reviews to the Pheonix Inn in Olympia. Both are fine, Pheonix is closer walking to restaurants and shops, red lion has much prettier views and is nestled among the trees.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank malawimike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Social Media Marketing Coordinator at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for the great review! To hear we have improved over your last stay with us speaks so much volume to us. We have a new management staff (which includes our General Manager, Sales Team, and our Food/Beverage Team) which appears to have made all the difference. I'm also glad to hear that you enjoyed our recently upgraded rooms; paired with our cozy grounds, they create quite the 'home-y' atmosphere.

We appreciate the feedback, and hope to welcome you again soon.

Best,

Rachel Kirk
Social Media Marketing Coordinator
Red Lion Hotel Olympia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We (family of 4) stayed here recently. This is an old hotel, badly in need of a renovation..... which is close to the Washington State Parliament buildings, so, for example, the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) rents 40 rooms here, at any given moment, and obnoxious, overfed, government employees are eating breakfast right next to you, in the morning.... :( We even got to learn that the DHS budget is $26 billion for this year, and that our tax payer money is being used to fund it......... :(

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shrekified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Social Media Marketing Coordinator at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for the review! I'm so happy to hear your stay was pleasant, however I truly regret the fact that you felt we were in need of renovation. We do have some plans for the upcoming 2014-2015 year that will enhance our guest experience overall. I welcome you back to 'give us another try', as I have most faith you will enjoy your stay.

Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions and I'll be happy to assist.

Warmly,

Rachel Kirk
Social Media Marketing Coordinator
Red Lion Hotel Olympia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is the second time in 3 months we have been to this hotel, and once again we were not disappointed. The grounds are gorgeous, and if you have pets as we do, it's the place to bring them. Lot's of plush green grass to roam, and also to take in the view of the state capitol and surroundings. The pool area is immaculate, with a large outdoor pool and hot tub, as well as plenty of seating and tables. The outdoor grounds give you the feel of a 5 star resort, at less than 1/2 the price. The buildings themselves are a bit old, but with lot's of character and very clean. The staff is a bit "light" on numbers, but very cordial and helpful, with a smile on each of their faces. They would go out of their way to help you with the slightest need. One of the restaurant staff made a special trip down to our room just to open our bottle of wine (that we had brought from home), and did it within "seconds" of our call. Our room was very clean with a newer flat screen TV, and with a glass slider to the outdoor grounds. If you can, get a room facing the grounds or pool on the bottom floor. You will not be disappointed. The food was outstanding and service was great. Nothing fancy, but good hearty food. We will be back again soon!!

Room Tip: Bottom floor facing the pool or outdoor grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Social Media Marketing Coordinator at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! I agree, our pet friendly accommodations and plush grounds go hand in hand for a great experience for 'Fido'. We love accommodating pets, and are so glad you were able to bring yours.

We truly appreciate you staying with us on so many occasions, and look forward to your next visit. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can do anything to make you more comfortable on a next visit.

Best regards,

Rachel Kirk
Social Media Marketing Coordinator
Red Lion hotel Olympia
---
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

The lobby's design is classic and welcoming. The restaurant has a great view of a small lake, the swimming pool, and a green area. It's big windows made me feel refreshed and eager to seat by one of them. My room was clean and very spacious. The only minus in this hotel is that when I was in the swimming pool and called the restaurant to ask for service, the staff person told me that she could not bring me my order to the pool. Incredibly, what was apparent is that she just did not want to bother to come out of the air conditioning and walk down the stairs to the pool. She told me I had to get my food myself, when during my arrival I had already asked if I could order food from the pool and the answer was yes. The restaurant was not crowded. If the waiter would have known better, she would have brought the order to the pool. It would have increased the quality of Red Lion for me.

Room Tip: Swimming pool side has best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K, Social Media Marketing Coordinator at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I am however concerned that your visit to our restaurant was anything less than stellar. Our Director of Food and Beverage will be going over your comments with our staff to make sure our service standards and expectations are being met.

We truly appreciate the time you took to voice your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Fondly,

Rachel Kirk
Social Media Marketing Coordinator
Red Lion Hotel Olympia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olympia
4.4 mi away
Ramada Olympia
Ramada Olympia
#2 of 9 in Olympia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia
1.1 mi away
The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites Olympia
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tumwater-Olympia Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion

Property: Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
Address: 2300 Evergreen Park Drive SW, Olympia, WA 98502 (Formerly WestCoast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Olympia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Olympia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion we put you close to the heart of the city, and near all the best experiences. We have stunning views of Capitol Lake and surrounding wooded areas, set on 12 lush acres. With upgraded, newly renovated, hotel amenities and features including convenient travel packages, we provide you with a satisfying hotel stay guaranteed. Each of our spacious 193 Olympia accommodations offers premium amenities, modern comfort, and casual luxury for all travelers. Pillow-top mattresses and tripled-sheeted beds let you sleep easy. Our newly renovated guest rooms include all the hotel amenities travelers need, from free Wi-Fi to microwaves and refrigerators, we keep our traveler in mind. We're even a pet-friendly hotel. Let your dog out to sprint down Olympia's many lakeside trails. From recently renovated onsite dining to spacious meeting facilities, our hotel in Olympia equips any traveler with what they need for a perfect stay. Whether you're here for business or exploration, you'll find that the state capital is a hotbed of activity. From shopping to annual events, there's always something to do at Hotel RL Olympia. Introducing the Living Stage: From lectures to performances to hands-on demonstrations, The Living Stage at Hotel RL invites people from all walks of life to share their knowledge and passion for community awareness, health, creativity and innovation. Designed to ignite conversations and promote a deeper understanding of the world around us, The Living Stage incorporates authors, artists, musicians, community leaders, local start-ups and more. Responsible Travel: We believe everyone deserves to sleep with a roof over his or her head. It is estimated that on any given night in US, more than 600,000 people experience homelessness. As members of the lodging industry, we believe it is our duty to act. Project Wake Up Call is the response. Learn more about Project Wake Up Call and its Olympia partner: SideWalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Olympia
Olympia Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing