We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Red Lion Olympia hits it out of the park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Olympia
Deer Park
Level Contributor
148 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Red Lion Olympia hits it out of the park”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The beds and pillows are the best! it will send you to dream land. Breakfast and the staff were outstanding. the whole hotel needs to be updated and according to the front desk it is going to happen soon! this is a ideal location and one of the best deals you can find in the greater Olympia area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank mulemobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    289
    162
    66
    48
See reviews for
189
213
31
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed just one night on business, but the service was excellent, room was very comfortable and the food in the restaurant was good! Can't ask for much more than that. I look forward to seeing their renovation when it is completed!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsMiller7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here twice on a recent road trip. Rooms are clean and well stocked, includes microwave, fridge, and coffee maker. Also cable TV on a nice sized flat screen. Heaters worked well. The beds were comfortable and the pillows plentiful and of a range of firm/soft.

If you opt for the "free" breakfast (or "included with room") you will find a nice little buffet. I am gluten free, so can only say the scrambled eggs were quite tasty, not bland like most that are probably egg beaters from a box, the bacon was flavorful, and there were yummy grilled veggies - onions, mushrooms, and bell peppers to choose from. Also fresh cut fruit, and their coffee is really good. We woke up the second night to no buffet, and the server said that because it was a slow morning, they were taking orders from the menu. I was pleasantly surprised to find my fried eggs had fresh herbs on them, and the hash browns were so flavorful I was sorry I had salted them before tasting. No complaints, the food is good, though the service was a little slow.
The dining seating overlooks a well groomed grassy area with plants and trees, a gazebo, and a lake.

The building itself seems a bit old and the stairwells feel a little shabby, but we found we didn't care, as the room and service staff is what counts. Everyone was friendly and quite helpful. They had workers painting the hallways when we were there, though to us it didn't look too bad before. Good to see they pay attention to upkeep!

One thing they could have done was do a sweep on the balcony to remove the small spiders. They were all over around the light outside and one had a web across a corner of the door.

All in all a nice place to stay, right off the 101 and not far from I-5. Will stay here again. Will ask to have the balcony swept of spiders!

Room Tip: It's nice to have a balcony overlooking the lake, and only $10 more. If you do, ask them to plea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwenhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Harbor, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I stayed overnight at Red Lion in Olympia and was very impressed. Staff was friendly, price was more than reasonable and my room was clean and well kept. I highly recommend this hotel and would stay again next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
301 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

It's amazing how few reasonably priced good hotels there are in Olympia with quick access to the Capitol Campus. Red Lion is one of the few. It's in a beautiful setting across the bay from the Capitol Campus, an easy 10 minutes (or less) drive there. The room I had was comfortable but quite basic. For example, no microwave or fridge in the room. No bathrobes. In order to plug in your computer, you have to unplug something else (I chose the TV). The bed, although on the soft side, was very comfortable with plenty of pillows. Everything was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. Shower had good power. I would stay here again (I go to Olympia on business), but be forewarned that this is not a luxury place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paokano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

It has a great setting on the water for every season. The free breakfast buffet is awesome to get to my meetings and business. The breakfast is great with fruit, yogurt, potatoes, sauteed veggies, eggs, meat selection, juice and coffee. The lounge a great happy hour which includes 1/2 price appetizers that are just like have dinner. I love coming back from a long day and just eating at the same place I am sleeping and looking out on the water. I have been staying here for the last seven years. Love the staff, as well!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Norma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Red Lion in Olympia is good enough to be a destination - as a break in a long drive, it was ideal. The location is superb. It's convenient to the highway, but quiet with beautifully maintained grounds. Our room over-looked the small lake. Lovely!
Rooms are comfortable, staff is friendly and helpful, the restaurant and lounge very, very good.
This Red Lion is a great example of how a good facility becomes excellent when it's well run.
We felt appreciated as guests.

Room Tip: Ask the staff. They'll do their best for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ange250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Olympia hotels
4.4 mi away
Ramada Olympia
Ramada Olympia
#2 of 9 in Olympia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Olympia
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Olympia Lacey
1.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Olympia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion

Property: Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
Address: 2300 Evergreen Park Dr SW, Olympia, WA 98502-6008 (Formerly WestCoast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Olympia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Olympia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion we put you close to the heart of the city, and near all the best experiences. We have stunning views of Capitol Lake and surrounding wooded areas, set on 12 lush acres. With upgraded, newly renovated, hotel amenities and features including convenient travel packages, we provide you with a satisfying hotel stay guaranteed. Each of our spacious 193 Olympia accommodations offers premium amenities, modern comfort, and casual luxury for all travelers. Pillow-top mattresses and tripled-sheeted beds let you sleep easy. Our newly renovated guest rooms include all the hotel amenities travelers need, from free Wi-Fi to microwaves and refrigerators, we keep our traveler in mind. We're even a pet-friendly hotel. Let your dog out to sprint down Olympia's many lakeside trails. From recently renovated onsite dining to spacious meeting facilities, our hotel in Olympia equips any traveler with what they need for a perfect stay. Whether you're here for business or exploration, you'll find that the state capital is a hotbed of activity. From shopping to annual events, there's always something to do at Hotel RL Olympia. Introducing the Living Stage: From lectures to performances to hands-on demonstrations, The Living Stage at Hotel RL invites people from all walks of life to share their knowledge and passion for community awareness, health, creativity and innovation. Designed to ignite conversations and promote a deeper understanding of the world around us, The Living Stage incorporates authors, artists, musicians, community leaders, local start-ups and more. Responsible Travel: We believe everyone deserves to sleep with a roof over his or her head. It is estimated that on any given night in US, more than 600,000 people experience homelessness. As members of the lodging industry, we believe it is our duty to act. Project Wake Up Call is the response. Learn more about Project Wake Up Call and its Olympia partner: SideWalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Olympia
Olympia Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing