We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Olympia
Olympia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This is the third time I have stayed at Red Lion Olympia, and I love it there. The staff is great, the rooms are nice, I like the fitness center and the morning buffet is convenient and good. I would definitely recommend the hotel if your travels take you to Olympia.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Margo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    309
    175
    78
    52
See reviews for
208
227
34
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kennewick, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel from 02.10.14-02.14.14 on business. Having spent far too much time in hotels around the country during my time with the USMC, I would have been content with a decent bed and cable tv, but this location was set up much better than I would have expected!

My room was clean, bed was comfortable, our conference room was tended to very well by the gal that was looking after us.

The real highlight of my stay was the folks that took care of me during my stay. Ardys and AJ at the front desk were fantastic at giving me directions around town, reissuing my room key when I locked myself out of the room and always giving a warm greeting when I walked by.

The hotel restaurant was fantastic, the food was great and again, the service was amazing here as well. Chloe and Dee Dee was very accomodating and patient (our group may have stopped in once or twice for drinks). They gave prompt service, remembered my order throughout the week (both food and beverage), and were both mighty nice gals.

Toward the end of my stay I asked the employees what they thought about working there, and they all loved it, as evidenced by their friendly service. I also spoke with Dwight and Jim, two of the supervisors and they were both proud of their employees and it showed. This hotel functions at a high level because the staff is treated well, their supervisors give them the support that they need. Additionally, this hotel is union so the folks that work there are given a decent wage (But the cost of the rooms were still very reasonable!), so they don't have high rate of turn-over, which means the folks that work there know their job and know it very well.

I am in love with this location, from the service to the room quality and price to the great location - I'd go back to Olympia just to stay there again.

X-
Mr. Highlander

Room Tip: When they say the rooms near the lobby are a bit louder, they are correct! I did wake early one morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

we enjoyed a premium King room which had a lovely view of the lake from the balcony. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The room had a frige, microwave and coffee maker which we always appreciate. The room was recently remodeled and was very nice. It would be nice if the balcony had a couple of chairs on it, but hopefully they will add those once the remodel is fully completed.

our stay was very pleasant and we have no complaints at all about the hotel - we would stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for premium room if you would like a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly97060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Love the Red Lion, perfect spot, great view of the lake, yummy apps in the bar and great happy hour.
Always stay at the Red Lion, perfect location, great spot to take the morning run from, price is perfect!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mark q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The overall problem with this hotle is that is is very old. I think that property was built in the late 60's or 70's and the structure is wood so the building creaks and is NOT sound proof. Yes they have completed some renovatiosn to the lobby, bar and resturant, the rooms are extremely dated. My room and the hals smelled musty. The door jams were all nicked. My room was neat but felt dirty. The heating and cooling unites are wall mounted. They are very old and loud. Hallway crpet dirty and stairwells VERY dirty carpets. Best part of the room was the large Samsung TV and good internet. Food in the resturant .... terrible. Don't order meatloaf & potatoes!!! Resturant carpets wer dirty. Windows dirty and window sills dirty. Sorry ... this property gets "D" at best.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer K, Sales and Catering Assistant at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank for you taking the time to write a review. We do take all feedback seriously, and address all issues that our guests mention. It is always our goal for our guests to have a clean, comfortable and great visit with us and to be their "home away from home" while they are traveling. I am sorry we did not live up to those expectations and hopefully the remodeling that we are currently doing will help make our property shiny and new. We do hope you will stay with us again!

Best,

Jennifer K
Sales and Catering Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Olympia hotels

Olympia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This hotel may suit the bargain hunter, but a small fitness facility and average food at restaurant and room service make it a choice only if necessary. Have tried it twice. Nice staff, but even my room door safety lock didn't work. Time for an investment.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

With such a stunning setting, one expects a much nicer accomodation. My room smelled of mildew. I opened the window to air it out, but had to close it at night since it was on the first floor. The reataurant buffet for breakfast was horrible. The french toast stuck to the heating pan, the eggs were stone cold and the pitcher of syrup was so big (coffee-service size!), I spilled it everywhere.

Room Tip: Don't get a first floor room in case you need to air it out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane48_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer K, Sales and Catering Assistant at Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I wanted to apologize for the issues you had during your stay. We are in the remodling process so we do hope we come out of it clean, comfortable and awesome for all of our guests! We take the comments about the food very seriously as well, we always aim to feed out guests well and get disappointed when that isn't the case. We do hope you give us a second chance to get it right!

Best,

Jennifer K
Sales and Catering Asssistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Olympia hotels
4.4 mi away
Ramada Olympia
Ramada Olympia
#2 of 9 in Olympia
1,204 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Olympia
1.2 mi away
The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Olympia Lacey
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 9 in Olympia
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion

Property: Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
Address: 2300 Evergreen Park Dr SW, Olympia, WA 98502-6008 (Formerly WestCoast)
Region: United States > Washington > Olympia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Olympia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion we put you close to the heart of the city, and near all the best experiences. We have stunning views of Capitol Lake and surrounding wooded areas, set on 12 lush acres. With upgraded, newly renovated, hotel amenities and features including convenient travel packages, we provide you with a satisfying hotel stay guaranteed. Each of our spacious 193 Olympia accommodations offers premium amenities, modern comfort, and casual luxury for all travelers. Pillow-top mattresses and tripled-sheeted beds let you sleep easy. Our newly renovated guest rooms include all the hotel amenities travelers need, from free Wi-Fi to microwaves and refrigerators, we keep our traveler in mind. We're even a pet-friendly hotel. Let your dog out to sprint down Olympia's many lakeside trails. From recently renovated onsite dining to spacious meeting facilities, our hotel in Olympia equips any traveler with what they need for a perfect stay. Whether you're here for business or exploration, you'll find that the state capital is a hotbed of activity. From shopping to annual events, there's always something to do at Hotel RL Olympia. Introducing the Living Stage: From lectures to performances to hands-on demonstrations, The Living Stage at Hotel RL invites people from all walks of life to share their knowledge and passion for community awareness, health, creativity and innovation. Designed to ignite conversations and promote a deeper understanding of the world around us, The Living Stage incorporates authors, artists, musicians, community leaders, local start-ups and more. Responsible Travel: We believe everyone deserves to sleep with a roof over his or her head. It is estimated that on any given night in US, more than 600,000 people experience homelessness. As members of the lodging industry, we believe it is our duty to act. Project Wake Up Call is the response. Learn more about Project Wake Up Call and its Olympia partner: SideWalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Olympia
Olympia Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing