We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Olympia
Hood River, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Short Stay”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We stopped for one night on our way home from Seattle. We found this hotel to be nice. It's an older hotel in a nice wooded setting. It's not far from the freeway, but it feels very secluded and peaceful. The rooms are remodeled. Very clean and comfortable. Grounds are very nice. We will definitely stay there again. There's an onsite restaurant. Food was good and a nice atmosphere.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    309
    175
    78
    52
See reviews for
208
227
34
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I came to this Red Lion Hotel for a conference. I didn't expect such a beautiful setting in the WA state capital.
Pluses:
1) beautiful setting near a river. It is fit for having a wedding reception and outdoor photography.
2) clean big room--I got lucky because I was given a king size room with a view of the river.
3) really helpful staff at check in desk who invited me to join the Red Lion club.
4) great value for the room and also happy hour.

Minuses:
1) breakfast bullet has limited selection. Service at the breakfast place is not fair.
2) It is not near to the city, which is a plus or minus. It makes it a little more difficult to go out to find something to eat.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I was there for a convention (Enfilade) in May 2014. It was an easy access from SeaTac. The front desk staff were great. I was able to get a early check in about 9:45 so I could take a desperately needed nap. Although I did not ask for it when I made my reservation or when checking in they switched me to a lower, convention rate. The room was basic but clean and it had a very comfortable bed. I had breakfast included with my room but was very disappointed with it. Limited selection and they kept running out of what little they had including coffee. The lunches and dinners were tasty and reasonable priced but the service was ridiculously slow. I only had one supper there and ended up leaving cash on my table 20 minutes after I asked for my bill. What should have been a pleasant 45 minute meal took 90 minutes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Would recommend -- clean -- comfortable -- value is superb --- staff is as good as hotels 3 times the price --- you are close to everything in Olympia but ur in a pastoral setting --- I walk most mornings and the neighborhood is safe and clean --- wifi was slow in the room --- my only minor complaint

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The Red Lion is located near the I-5 freeway, but in a quiet treed location. Our room was relatively large with two queen beds, fridge and microwave. Clean and well kept. Only negative was soundproofing between floors, we could hear people upstairs. Avoid this by asking for a third floor room. Front desk staff were exceptionally helpful. Free and fast wifi, breakfast buffet extra $7-8. Beautiful view from breakfast room.

Room Tip: Ask for room on third (top) floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cabels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I looked up the reviews on line about this Red Lyon Hotel and looked at the website. The website didn't really show how nice of place it really is. This one of the cleanest Hotel/Motel that I have ever stayed in and I travel a lot.
The outside is a little dated, but the inside is Awesome!
I highly recommend this Hotel. I think it's the best in Olympia, Washington
Brian from Oregon

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Very clean and well maintained grounds. Took our dog with us and found the room to be doggy smell free, clean and comfortable.
Scenic and wooded area.
Lounge staff were very helpful and friendly.
Shower head in bathroom was lacking concentration of water.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Olympia hotels
4.4 mi away
Ramada Olympia
Ramada Olympia
#2 of 9 in Olympia
1,204 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Olympia
1.2 mi away
The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Olympia Lacey
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 9 in Olympia
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion

Property: Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
Address: 2300 Evergreen Park Dr SW, Olympia, WA 98502-6008 (Formerly WestCoast)
Region: United States > Washington > Olympia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Olympia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion we put you close to the heart of the city, and near all the best experiences. We have stunning views of Capitol Lake and surrounding wooded areas, set on 12 lush acres. With upgraded, newly renovated, hotel amenities and features including convenient travel packages, we provide you with a satisfying hotel stay guaranteed. Each of our spacious 193 Olympia accommodations offers premium amenities, modern comfort, and casual luxury for all travelers. Pillow-top mattresses and tripled-sheeted beds let you sleep easy. Our newly renovated guest rooms include all the hotel amenities travelers need, from free Wi-Fi to microwaves and refrigerators, we keep our traveler in mind. We're even a pet-friendly hotel. Let your dog out to sprint down Olympia's many lakeside trails. From recently renovated onsite dining to spacious meeting facilities, our hotel in Olympia equips any traveler with what they need for a perfect stay. Whether you're here for business or exploration, you'll find that the state capital is a hotbed of activity. From shopping to annual events, there's always something to do at Hotel RL Olympia. Introducing the Living Stage: From lectures to performances to hands-on demonstrations, The Living Stage at Hotel RL invites people from all walks of life to share their knowledge and passion for community awareness, health, creativity and innovation. Designed to ignite conversations and promote a deeper understanding of the world around us, The Living Stage incorporates authors, artists, musicians, community leaders, local start-ups and more. Responsible Travel: We believe everyone deserves to sleep with a roof over his or her head. It is estimated that on any given night in US, more than 600,000 people experience homelessness. As members of the lodging industry, we believe it is our duty to act. Project Wake Up Call is the response. Learn more about Project Wake Up Call and its Olympia partner: SideWalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Olympia
Olympia Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing