We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun tour!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Governor's Mansion Tour
Ranked #1 of 3 Tours in Olympia
Attraction details
Freeland, Washington
Level Contributor
213 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A fun tour!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I enjoyed this tour. It was great to get to view the interior of the mansion, and the gardens were beautiful, too. Worth visitng!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very informative”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I took my family to this tour after a colleague told me about it. It’s scheduled only on Wednesdays and only through reservation, so I booked in advance. The whole thing takes about an hour and is free of cost. The guides are all volunteers but are quite knowledgeable. The tour took us through two floors and we were briefed on the history of the various rooms. The formal dining room was particularly beautiful with a canvas painted wall. Definitely worth checking out for all residents of this town.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brittany L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
202 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great tour - not for kids”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is a great tour of the Governor's Mansion by seniors who volunteer at the mansion. To take a tour group, you need lots of advance planning and to submit all of your information in advance (I think they do background checks) - there are many rules on what you can bring. I did this tour in 2010 with a group of moms and kids and it was not appropriate for this age group. I thought it would be interesting going without kids. The volunteers had all of their information memorized and could not cater it to the audience. Plus the tour was long, at least an hour. It is a beautiful home though and definitely a good place to visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Foodie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A tour of History”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We just did the tour and really enjoyed it. It's a beautiful building on wonderful grounds. The exterior of the mansion is something to see and then to glimpse the history from inside is just a treat. We felt honored to be there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ADVNCHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
168 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Decorated for Christmas”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We booked a large party to tour the mansion during the holiday season. It's nice to see that this historic building has been preserved! Recommeded, especially for children so you can throw in a lesson about government.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Skullmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Governor's Mansion Tour also viewed

 

Been to Governor's Mansion Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing