We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must if you have kids 12 and under.”

Hands On Children's Museum
Ranked #1 of 56 things to do in Olympia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Interactive exhibits teach children through activities.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A must if you have kids 12 and under.”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

If you have younger children you really cannot miss the HOCM. Kids even a little older may appreciate it too, but not with the same wide eyed wonder and enthusiasm younger kids do. You literally have toddlers through to young teens covered here. Allow at least 3 to 4 hours to see the museum, all day to do it properly. Every exhibit is amazing. Truly a world class facility.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NetBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    59
    5
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Kids are still talking about this place!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were visiting from out of town and decided to check out this place and I am so glad we did. I have two kids- 5 and 8 and they had a ball. They loved going in and out of the differnt rooms and getting to play with all the hands on exhibits. I think about 8 is the max age for this and there were a lot of much younger kids.

Kudos to the restaurant/dining area there for having some GREAT healthy options and kid friendly items to buy.

The time we went was not too crowded so the kids got to do everything and really had a great time!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacey, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Twins love it”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Ou 5 year old twin grandchildren love to visit this wonderful children's museum, especially the special learning activity events. Usually spend 2 or 3 hours of high energy at each visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ParkTraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best place for kids, and adults”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I had a great time running around with all the title ones of all ages. My sisters and their children all went there and I tagged along. There was something for everyone.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank no1scubachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Kid's loved this!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We are grandparents of a 2 year old and a 3 year old. We went on a very cold and rainy Sunday and arrived right at 11:00 am - opening time and it didn't really get too busy until after 12:00. We were pretty impressed with all of the great play areas we were able to get to in the short time we were there. The kids loved the kitchen and grocery store. The 2 year old loved the water features. It was such a good visit that we bought the deluxe family package. It includes tickets for our daughter, her husband and children plus two extra tickets for guests every time they visit. The membership also includes discounts on the cafe and gift store. I think kids could spend most of the day there on just one floor. With all the rain Olympia gets it's just a smart investment. I agree with others here that it's best for each child to have a parent or caregiver watching them. One, the older kids tend to run the little ones over and it's good for parents on both sides to keep close watch. Two, it seems the museum doesn't have a security system to keep kids with parents like they do in churches, etc. Olympia has a lot of great features but this Children's museum should be at the very top of your must see and do list!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JZSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hands On Children's Museum also viewed

 

Been to Hands On Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing