We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A slice of aviation heritage”

Olympic Flight Museum
Ranked #13 of 56 things to do in Olympia
Attraction details
Shelton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A slice of aviation heritage”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

The collection is not extensive, and consists primarily of ex-military aircraft. However, the presentation was good and there are a few "hands-on" aircraft outside to interest kids. There is a small gift shop in the museum.

Helpful?
2 Thank laryep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“WW2 well represented”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Have recently read couple of ww2 bomber books so it was great to find this place from a google search. Thought admission reasonable and while not as large as some aviation museums in WA, it was very well done. Several families there with kids and they also seemed to be enjoying themselves. I personally liked the size as I could do entire exhibit and have time to fit in other activites.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kgeorge16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Father's Day Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Happened upon this as an alternative to the new Vintage Car Museum in Tacoma that was packed. Was pleased that they were having an air show. The museum is just the right size for my 84 year young dad to wander around in without getting too tired. They could use some additional seating outside of the beer garden. Thanks for a great time, we'll be back next year.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“High quality but small museum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

I had a few hours to spare today and found this aviation museum at the Olympic Airport. I love looking at airplaines and old war planes are always interesting so I jumped right in for only $7 (for adults) The entire museum fits in one hanger. There were 5 helecopters and 3 WWII vintage planes (including a beautiful P51 Mustang). So, it didn't take long to check them all out. They were all in fantastic shape, appearing that every one had been through extensive restoration. I believe all of them were fully operational. There were photos of several of them in the air which appeared to be taken recently.. I wish that one could climb up and see the cockpit interiors but no such luck.

If you like vintage aircraft if is certainly work spending an hour or two there...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Threepinhed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
265 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Aviation History Live!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Unique historic aircraft, beautifully restored and flying. Nothing matches the deep throaty sound of a Merlin-Rolls V-12!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Al K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olympic Flight Museum also viewed

 

Been to Olympic Flight Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing