We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For a small town very good aviation museum”

Olympic Flight Museum
Ranked #13 of 56 things to do in Olympia
Attraction details
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“For a small town very good aviation museum”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This flight museum exceeds Wichita, KS'. aviation museum and it is the center of General Aviation Manufacturing. Good collection of aircraft with some rare birds as well of course it is not a rival nor same scale as Boeing's Museum of Flight. Good place to take kids and show them some vintage war birds.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank GaryRW_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great for kids ages 6-10”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We took 4 kids ages 6-10 (girl and boys) and they all enjoyed it. It is small - just one hangar - but there are lots of really cool planes and helicopters packed into that small space. Nothing is roped off but you are not allowed to touch any of the aircraft or get into anything. This might be a consideration for parents of younger kids who would need more supervision. I think it would be nice if there was at least one aircraft (perhaps outside) that kids could sit in. There is a door out the back on the airport runway side with some aircraft and we were able to watch a helicopter take off. It is a bit overpriced for adults ($7) but the fact that kids 6 and under are free made up a little for that. It was $30 for 6 of us, which isn't too bad. Lots of history here!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank mom_of_boys_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A slice of aviation heritage”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The collection is not extensive, and consists primarily of ex-military aircraft. However, the presentation was good and there are a few "hands-on" aircraft outside to interest kids. There is a small gift shop in the museum.

Helpful?
2 Thank laryep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“WW2 well represented”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Have recently read couple of ww2 bomber books so it was great to find this place from a google search. Thought admission reasonable and while not as large as some aviation museums in WA, it was very well done. Several families there with kids and they also seemed to be enjoying themselves. I personally liked the size as I could do entire exhibit and have time to fit in other activites.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kgeorge16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Father's Day Surprise”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Happened upon this as an alternative to the new Vintage Car Museum in Tacoma that was packed. Was pleased that they were having an air show. The museum is just the right size for my 84 year young dad to wander around in without getting too tired. They could use some additional seating outside of the beer garden. Thanks for a great time, we'll be back next year.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olympic Flight Museum also viewed

 

Been to Olympic Flight Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing