We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much frosting...”
Review of Bonjour Cupcakes

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bonjour Cupcakes
Ranked #13 of 13 Dessert in Olympia
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Too much frosting...”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

These cupcakes are GORGEOUS!

What they have in excess for appearance nearly compensates for the bland, dry cupcake under the frosting.

I'd eat them again if I didn't have to pay for them...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    1
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shelton, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bake your own! Save your money!!!”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I was craving cupcakes after dinner, went here,
they are the worst of the worst of the worst!!!
I must have had a 3 day old cupcake - why bother?
They should pack it up and close their doors today!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank D Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“tried them all....”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

my daughter and i tried all the cupcake places in town we could find. bon jour was by far the BEST. they have a wide variety and offer smaller bite sized cakes. we have practically every flavor they offer (tough job, huh?) and were impressed. there is only one other place that came close (sells her cupcakes out of dino's and mudd bay coffee places). all the rest the cake was either too dry; not enough of a selection; or the frosting was gritty.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jem3425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great cupcakes”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

I love cupcakes and I usually go to these cupcake places and am disappointed for the money I spend but this time was different. The guy behind the counter was really helpful the cupcakes were great. I like the chocolate cake ones a little better then the vanilla ones but the frosting is what made them great. It was really quite sweet and just enough to make sure that each bite of the whole little cupcake gets some frosting.
The chocolate caramel and triple chocolate were awesome.
I was going to take a picture of the cakes but we didn't want to wait.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelnPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Capitol Cupcakes”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

There is a quaint cupcake bakery in downtown Olympia called Bonjour Cupcakes. Although it is located on Capitol Way, it is easy to miss. The bakery café has an atmosphere like an eclectic old home and it features delectable cupcakes, as well as coffee, and tea. There is plenty of space in the cafe for friendly chats and the owners provide a variety of games to play. Some of the more unusual cupcake flavors are: S’Mores cake with Toasted Marshmallow, Red Velvet Cake with cream cheese, Dark Chocolate cake with Fleur de Sel Caramel, Almond cake with Honey Almond, Vanilla Bean cake with Raspberry Apple Pineapple, Coconut cake with Coconut, etc. The owner believes in using both local and organic ingredients as much as possible. Note that texture of the cupcakes and the frostings will vary depending on the flavor selected. The cream cheese frostings are better than some of the buttercreams.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maaam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bonjour Cupcakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing