We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldest Drive-in in Washington (1948)”
Review of Eastside Big Tom

Eastside Big Tom
Ranked #33 of 347 Restaurants in Olympia
Cuisines: American, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
170 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 610 helpful votes
“Oldest Drive-in in Washington (1948)”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Big Tom (secret-never owned / operated by someone named Tom). Super fries, shakes, burgers and a great foot long hot dog that won't fit on the bun! Delicious! Mustard, pickle, onion - yummy. GOJO is good on hamburgers, but a good dog needs the mustard!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank SBruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    19
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“good burgers!”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Great little spot for a good burger! Nothing fancy, drive through only, but excellent service, and good fresh made quality food! Drive thru only, doesn't mean super fast, but high quality isn't super fast. I've had better burgers, but not often... Big Tom's are MUCH, MUCH better that the garbage you get at the fast-food factories.
Krinkle cut fresh fries, hand made shakes and malts! I loved the Goop on the burger, but it was too mustardy for me on my fries, I'll go for just tartar or ranch with the fries next time.
The garbage from the fast-food factories is a little cheaper, but Eastside Big Tom's is definitely worth every extra penny!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt98030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacey, Washington
Level Contributor
132 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Best hamburger!”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Small drive in restaurant but the best hamburger in the world. A little greasy, just perfect. Their "Goop" is excellent. Fries are wonderful. Milk shakes are thick and delicious. Made to order. Will take call in orders so food is ready to be picked up when you get there. This is definitly not "health food or diet food" but we only live once!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Try the goop and fries”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

One of the best burgers I have every had. I was going to save on for my brother on the way into his town but once my wife tried one she wanted to have his as well. What can I say. Try the little tom.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Shaun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Only the BEST.”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

A generational tradition that is as popular now as ever to a new generation. Those that grew up here have to have an Egan's Burger when they visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheMysteryTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eastside Big Tom also viewed

 

Been to Eastside Big Tom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing