We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overrated” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mark

The Mark
Ranked #153 of 343 Restaurants in Olympia
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
218 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I really wanted to like this place, given that they get their meats from Colvin Farms locally and report many of their other ingredients are local and organic. However, the service was so, so slow that I can't imagine trying to go back. This is our 2nd time, as the first time the service was so slow that we decided to leave and go eat elsewhere before we were even brought drinks or water. When we went the second time, we were sat immediately and brought drinks quickly but it went downhill slowly. The food we ordered, then became unavailable, so meat had to be substituted and then sides. It wasn't even the end of the night. For the price, the prior reviews and reports of local and organic, I expected so much more but was disappointed by the quality of the food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    15
    2
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great cocktails”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

The food is fine (rustic Italian). The cocktails, however, are great. This is a place to have a well made cocktail (if you are driving just have one). I like the old school red velvet curtains.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrJoe_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything Organic, Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

All their beef and pork are sourced locally. Well executed, good quality pasta dishes. Creative drink menu...good and reasonably priced.
Perfect setting for a layed back dinner, drink w friends or a romantic evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank loveformeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Won't return”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Lousy recipes and limited selections. I don't understand the good reviews of the food here at all. Go to Basillico's, downtown on Capital Way, if you are looking for good, authentic, made from scratch Italian food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael3118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

One of my favorite places in Olympia for well-prepared food made with local, fresh ingredients and quite reasonably priced for the quality. Kind of a throw-back ambience. Dark wood, quiet, cozy. The menu is not large but meat, chicken and pasta selections with an overall mediterranean cum northwest influence. I love the cacciopepe pasta. One of the few bars I know of that stocks Italian aperitifs and digestivos, like amaro and fernet branca.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phroggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mark also viewed

 

Been to The Mark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing