We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Straight pros and cons”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Olympia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Mallard Cove
Ranked #1 of 8 Olympia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
ocean shores
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Straight pros and cons”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

My wife and I were looking for a get away that we didn't have to travel a great distance for. This came up and had great reviews so...
The Pros - Affordable luxury...you will be pampered. The breakfast...top notch! (I have tried in vain to recreate the honey bacon...) The location...close in yet far away...great views of the water and of the local raccoon. The room...romantic without being too "frilly". Nice bath with all you would need. Everything was well outfitted...bed was comfy...room was quiet...overall great!
So...
The cons...really the only con was that it was hard to find a nice restaurant nearby and we didn't have enough time to use the kayaks. The only other thing would be that one can only book an "overnighter" during the off season (which we did). While I can completely understand why they would do this it would have been just too expensive for us if we had to do the two nights.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ducklakedaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
138
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
region Toulousaine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I did really enjoyed my stay in this so beautiful B & B .

Hospitality just great even racoons welcomed us !!!

The breakfasts were delicious and generous .

We did really appreciated the hospitality and the coffee served at our room just before Breakfast .

We stronghly recommand this B & B !!

François Tamburello 31470 St Lys France

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francesco068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Think of it this way: if you say you're coming from Seattle on Friday at 3, Don will offer some secret back routes to avoid the traffic. That way you'll be able to arrive as planned to use the sea kayaks on a 2 hour tour of the nearby wildlife refuge. On return you'll watch sunset over Puget Sound from the terrace. The rooms are perfectly appointed, not overdone.

Next morning, breakfast is as elegant as a 4 course dinner, complete with fine china and Don turning the plate so that the picture is perfect, facing you (e.g. getting the star anise on poached pear to point the right way. No kidding).

Why not 5 stars? Maybe they're warranted, I don't travel enough to know if it's time to hand that out here. Don sent me a detailed personal email that I only just found in my bulk mail so careful, as he's a willing fountain of useful local information. Beautiful place.

Room Tip: The Olympic Room has a great view and lovely tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Don and Linda are the most gracious hosts you could wish for, I haven't felt so pampered in a long time. The Inn is immaculate from the beautiful bedrooms to the inviting Library to the dining room with a view of the landscaped gardens overlooking the sound. The location is spectacular and we were fortunate enough to see an eagle in the trees on the property along with the resident herons. You have to let Don tell you the story of why the racoons keep coming back and why they are almost part of the Mallard Cove family. We loved the kayaking and it was a treat to paddle with the harbor seals. If you're looking for a party this isn't the place for you but if you want to relax and escape from the world for a while it's ideal.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We have stayed at B and Bs all over US and Canada and can say that this was the most incredible one. The hosts are perfect, helpful, thoughtful and non intrusive, they give you your privacy. The room was large and comfortable with wonderful view. The location is quiet and gorgeous. The ultimate was the kayak tour in the morning. I would not only go back in a heartbeat, I would move in if able.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELFPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2011

If you are looking for a quiet place to relax and put your feet up, the Inn at Mallard Cove is lovely. Exquisitely decorated rooms overlook Puget Sound through a wooded setting. Hosts Linda and Don are most gracious and accommodating. They serve a delicious,mostly organic, full breakfast in a dining room over looking a flower filled patio with the Sound beyond. If you need directions and activity ideas, Don and Linda have suggestions. The library was very unique. We enjoyed taking evening tea and cookies there. We would definitely go back when we are in that area again. --Anne & George

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2673Ramparte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The grounds are spacious and lovely, Don and Linda are great hosts (Don took us kayaking). Breakfast was delicious. Our rooms were very comfortable and it was wonderful sitting outside on the deck and watching the sun set over the water. Mallard Cove is a great place to relax. They have WiFi if you want it, but we didn't think about it.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the water have magnificent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FDK-Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Olympia hotels
5.5 mi away
Ramada Olympia
Ramada Olympia
#2 of 9 in Olympia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Olympia
9.8 mi away
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Olympia Lacey
8.8 mi away
The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Mallard Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Mallard Cove

Property: The Inn at Mallard Cove
Address: 5025 Meridian Rd NE, Olympia, WA 98516-2340
Region: United States > Washington > Olympia
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Olympia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn is an elegant waterfront English Tudor estate on fourteen secluded, heavily forested acres. Awesome views of Puget Sound. Private beach. Gardens galore. Rooms so comfortable and breakfasts so delicious you won't want to leave! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing