We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't judge a book hey it's cover”

The Iron Rabbit Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #17 of 347 Restaurants in Olympia
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Designed with the entire family in mind, we strive to meet and exceed guest expectations by offering the friendly and familiar with a unique and unusual twist.The fare is fresh and local. The burgers are the best in town, Natural Northwest beef hand forged and full of flavor. The root beer is made right here in the restaurant. The bar boasts rotating craft beers, from European imports to neighborhood favorites. And the desserts? There’s a reason we list them on the front of the menu.If you have dietary concerns, tell us about it and we’ll make it right. Special orders or substitutions? No problem! The way you want it is the right way.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
146 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Can't judge a book hey it's cover”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The place looks like a neighborhood bar, however, the drinks and food were more the caliber of a three or four star restaurant. Food was inventive and very tasty. The bar had infused concoctions that were unique and tasty. Don't underestimate the staffs opinions. They were right on. A definite place to visit while in Olympia.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeriLou31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoppenings, Manager at The Iron Rabbit Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you so much for your review, and thanks for not judging our book by it's cover! We strive for excellence, which includes great local food and cocktails. We hope you'll visit us again when you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    56
    16
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It's lost it's magic”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Really loved the place back when. Then they added a ton more tables and it feels too tight inside. Not relaxed. Service has slipped as well. Last several times service really missed the mark. And we used to see the same three or four cooks and there gone now too. I always think of this decline as , a restaurant is only as good as its cooks and staff.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ADVNCHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoppenings, Manager at The Iron Rabbit Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback and apologize that your last visit did not meet your expectations. Our team values guests thoughts and perceptions, and we hope you will give us another try. Please feel free to contact us with any more feedback at info@ironrabbit.net, and we'll be happy to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
489 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Great meal, service and Beer”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Popped to the Iron Rabbit as just travelled from the UK to see family and they recommended the restaurant. We had a good meal and the beer selection was excellent. The waitress was very pleasant. Thanks for a great start to our holiday, it will take a good restaurant to beat the Burgers!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheScubaDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoppenings, Manager at The Iron Rabbit Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit when you were in town! We love to hear feedback from our guests, and appreciate you taking the time to share with us. If you make it back into Olympia be sure to come back; our beers change regularly and we often have a new burger to offer. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“You need to go here”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

a friend and I were in Olympia for an event and we went to the Iron Rabbit for dinner. We were both absolutely blown away by the quality of food; bar none the best burger I've had. beer on tap and drink specials were great too. if we ever find ourselves in Olympia again, we'll be going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahdubois77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoppenings, Manager at The Iron Rabbit Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your visit and loved our burgers and beer selection. We always do our best to keep our beers rotating and as local and diverse as possible. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A plesant place”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The staff was great, we were originally seated by the door to the patio area and it became a very busy door. The restaurant was not busy so I don't know why we were put there. I was ready to relocate us when one of the wait staff soon asked us if we would like to sit elsewhere and we did. After fixing the rocking table with their wine list everything was right with the world again. The restaurant is a pleasant place and is quiet enough to have a comfortable conversation.
The food was beautifully presented and there are options to address gluten and vegans which I loved to see. The food was quality but just lacked enough flavor, I don't like to need salt but I had to use it to find the flavor. I would go back again and try other dishes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoppenings, Manager at The Iron Rabbit Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Janet, thank you for taking the time to write a review, we always appreciate hearing feedback. Our staff is fantastic and we're glad to hear they accommodated your seating preference. We apologize that your meal's flavor did not meet your expectations. We have a very friendly and knowledgeable team so please don't hesitate to ask your server for suggestions! We hope you will come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Iron Rabbit Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Iron Rabbit Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing