We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swantown Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn(Olympia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olympia Inn(Olympia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
102
15
7
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
102
15
7
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsastoria roomb bfriendly and helpful hostsour honeymoonbreakfast was deliciousjetted tubthoroughly enjoyed our staycaseynathanparlorstaycation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2012

My husband and I got married at the Swantown Inn a year ago and recently returned for our first anniversary. Their small wedding package was a great value and perfect for our needs. We really enjoyed the property and Nathan and Casey made our special day just what we hoped for. We stayed in the Astoria Room both times. The room itself is beautiful. Also, the bathroom with the heated floor, jetted tub and comfy terrycloth bathrobes was wonderful. The breakfast in the morning was homemade and delicous! We made wonderful memories during both of our stays and plan to return to try out their massage services. Highly recommend, especially for couples who want a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Love the Astoria Room. It has a great private bathroom attached to it.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NetBloke, Owner at Swantown Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Sara,
It is always a pleasure to have repeat guests and you are no exception! We are flattered you chose us for the location of your wedding and chose to come back to celebrate your anniversary. We wish you both every happiness in your future together and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

My sister and I wanted to find a place midway between our two cities to have a weekend together. The Swantown Inn was perfect! Nathan and Casey are impeccable hosts, with great suggestions for outings and meals. Each room we've stayed in has been great, with amazing showers I could have lived in. The beds are fabulous!! We both received spa treatments from The Attic Day Spa which were superb! The next morning we came down to a lovely breakfast of hot coffee and scones, followed by a french toast I have successfully made myself after Casey was gracious enough to give me the recipe. An added bonus was meeting the kids! They are lovely and lively and so much fun! Writing this review reminds me that it's time to schedule another weekend with my sister at the Swantown Inn!

The Wife

Room Tip: The beds are crazy comfy with AMAZING linens!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

It was supposed to be a nice getaway and they claim to "soundproof" their own living quarters but the shrill screams of children was fairly constant! Even in the attic getting massages over the music and with the door closed. We were trying to get away from that. The massages were great but ruined by the kids. The bathroom was a bit dirty for me.I would not choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cordelia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NetBloke, Owner at Swantown Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2012

We are so sorry your experience at our Inn was not a pleasant one. We would like to try and rectify that somehow. Also can you tell us what room you stayed in and when? We have no record of Cordelia as a guest.

We realize that sometimes our kids can be a little loud, for massages we have told the therapists they need to keep the spa door closed as the sound travels straight up the back stairs. We are also working on finding an antique door to replace the missing one at the bottom of the back stairs.

As for "added costs" I have no idea what you mean. We give you a printed estimate of all costs including the day spa services when you book via email and again when you check in.

Please feel free to give us a call and I will see what I can do to change your opinion of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I have stayed here many times and never get enough. They have beds that make you want to stay or figure out how to load them in your car to take home, yes beds are that amazing! Casey and Nathan are wonderful. Casey will change things around to meet dietary needs and as long as time is not an issue will let you choose what time you would like to eat. I've been to some where breakfast is waiting for you. Not here they service as You are ready to eat. The common room is wonderful too and they encourage you to relax and enjoy it. So you are not only renting a "room" you are buying an experience. Oh and can't forget about the onsite spa services that are offered. Talk about luxury. You will not be disappointed by staying here!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigersareme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The Swantown Inn boasts great beds -- and it is very true that they are. Casey is a great cook and the food is wonderful, if you like cold scones. If only they would keep them warm and serve them with butter and jam. The entrees were very good. The railing going up the stairs to the rooms needed some good elbow grease and soap, but the room itself was quite clean. A look under the bed revealed left over paper that should have been spotted by housekeeping. There was no extra toilet paper in the room either. The selection of CDs was a nice addition to the room. I appreciated the ceiling fan and the linens were wonderful. If you want breakfast at a different time than they select, forget it. Nathan is friendly but unbending on many things. Watch out also for the prices on their website. The price listed is for one occupant only. If you have a couple, the price increases. Be forewarned. It is in a nice residential area of Olympia and Nathan is eager to tell you about the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gdalelovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NetBloke, Owner at Swantown Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

I am sorry our scones are not what you were expecting. We bake our scones fresh every morning, but they are always flavored scones, not a traditional English scone that we would serve cream (or butter) and jam with. As for their warmth, we do bake them from scratch every morning, they are usually ready about 20 minutes or so before breakfast for early guests to enjoy with a cup of coffee or tea if they wish. If we were to keep them warm in the oven, in the kitchen, they wouldn't be nearly as moist as they are or available for our early risers. From looking at your booking I would say that the scones you had during your stay were probably our maple pecan and on the second morning either our blueberry or cranberry walnut scones, all of which are frequently requested by return guests and raved about by others.

The front railing does have quite a few years of wax and polish on it, as it is original to the house, but does regularly get cleaned as well as the door handles, light switches and other items that are frequently touched.

As for the pricing, I am not sure what pricing you saw. I checked our website, which was recently updated, and it lists the price of the Percival room (the room you stayed in) as $129 per night, which is the rate for two people, although the rate for one person is less at $119, which may have shown up if you started the reservation process online before you called to make the reservation.

It is true that on the weekend (Sat, Sun and holidays) we serve breakfast at 9am. There are a few reasons behind that. We work at the inn full time, we don't get weekends off, and during this time period we are gearing up for our busiest time of year and often go months without a break or day off. The weekends are a chance for us to have an opportunity to sleep in. Many of our guests are also taking a break and welcome the chance to sleep in plus if we have guests eating all at the same time we can prepare breakfasts that we are unable to prepare for guests when they are eating at all different times (during the week we serve breakfast typically as early as 8am and as late as 9am, but for some business travelers, guests departing for the airport, etc will do breakfast at 7:30am). Some examples of those recipes are our savory herb bread pudding and savory thyme egg bake which are baked in one dish and then portioned out eight ways.

All of our guest rooms are stocked with an extra roll of toilet paper, in the Percival room it is located under the sink. Also we do not enter their room to service it unless the hang tag is out saying it needs servicing. We want our guests to think of their room as a sanctuary, knowing that no one is going to enter unless permission is given. During your stay the tag was not put out, otherwise we would have noticed the roll of toilet paper and swapped it out for you. You are correct that the paper under the bed should have been rectified before your arrival.

We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your time in Olympia and that your next search for lodging provides you with something that better suits your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews