We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Swantown Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Swantown Inn & Spa
Ranked #2 of 8 Olympia B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed at Swantown Inn Fri 10/18-Sun 10/20. The innkeepers Nathan and Casey were very personable and friendly, offering excellent suggestions on where to eat for dinner and local sights to take in. I was there with two girlfriend from work for a "beading" weekend, and we reserved the three rooms with bathrooms. All of us were very satisfied with our rooms. The beds were quite comfortable, and the Astoria, which I stayed in, has a lovely electric fireplace that adds not only ambiance, but also warmth.

The weather was perfect for our stay, as we had planned to be indoors on Saturday working on bead projects. So the gray fog that never burned off was very atmospheric, and perfect for an afternoon spent taking over the dining room table with projects after a morning visit to Shipwreck Beads in Lacey, 3 miles north on I-5. Nathan was extremely accommodating and easy going about our use of the dining room :)

The house itself is delightful, with a feeling of staying at a favorite granny's house - nostalgic, historical, comfortable, and the food was BETTER than granny's! Saturday was "sweet", with stuffed croissants, strawberry chipotle sorbet and maple pecan scones. YUM! Sunday we were treated to a savory breakfast of banana coconut sorbet, apple souffle and cranberry scones. Delicious and filling. Visiting with Nathan and Casey through breakfast was an added bonus.

All three of us would highly recommend Swantown Inn as an affordable, comfortable and enjoyable place from which to explore Olympia and the surrounding area, or just hunker down and soak up a cozy place to reconnect with friends/family!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NetBloke, Owner at Swantown Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Amanda,

Your group was so much fun. We were glad to have you and hope to see you in the future. Make sure you follow us for the amazing beading retreat we have planned in June 2014. Hope to see you then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

We booked a night based on the excellent reviews the Swantown Inn had received. When we drove into the Inn, we were a little surprised by all of the "stuff" that was laying around and the general condition of the grounds. It was not terrible... just not what we expected of a 5 star rated inn.

Upon entering, we were greeted by Nathan, the friendly owner. This is a historic inn, and we liked how things were decorated in 'period' pieces. The front desk area was a mess, but we were quickly shown around and taken to our room, which was lovely. Nathan apologized about the cleanliness of the room, which was OK but seemed a little dusty in places. As it was a very warm day, my wife asked if the room was air conditioned and Nathan said there was a window fan, and that it usually cooled off nice in the evening in Olympia. Not that evening... the bed was very comfortable but it was too warm in the room for a good night's sleep. Bad!

Breakfast was delicious, and we liked how Nathan and his wife Casey came out and talked with us and the other guests. Good!!!

Compared with many other historic B & B's we've stayed in, I would rate this place as just OK. Good and bad. Has a lot of potential, but needs some basic cleaning and maintenance. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bigdaddy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NetBloke, Owner at Swantown Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Well most of what you say is correct. Glad you enjoyed your breakfast and conversation.

I have never apologized for a room being dusty or dirty, what I do tell every guest is if anything is wrong or does not look right, to please let us know so we can correct it. that is why we tour the room with you before we check you in. If you had alerted us tot he dust we would have re-cleaned the room immediately. The house is old with plaster walls it creates its own dust.

Maybe you did not hear our plans for expansion. hence why we cannot pull down the carport that is not to our standards. You will be happy to hear that we starting repainting the trim and refinished the front porch.

As for the room being too hot, well sorry but during a heat wave we do all we can.

We don't pretend to be perfect but we hope you will get the best possible stay of any of your choices in Olympia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The Swantown is a very nice B & B with personable owner/operators. The house has some years on it but has been kept up to a standard worthy of staying there. Our room was a tad small, but it was clean & the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was across the hall, but was clean, spacious, & assigned to our room. Breakfast was very good & the owners chatted with us very comfortably. There seemed to be quite a bit of nostalgic info in the main floor parlors. Unfortunately we didn't have the time to enjoy the history provided. Some B & B's can be quite pricey, but the Swantown Inn is a bargain for what we paid. I definitely recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: The room with the canopy bed looked very nice & roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimlr53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NetBloke, Owner at Swantown Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

We too feel that we are a bargain, especially compared to our local hotels and when our three course breakfast is taken into account. We gladly price our selves as such to make the B&B experience accessible to more people so they really get a well-rounded experience of our city and inn, even if they are just with us for a night. We hope to see you in the future! Yes the Columbia room is smaller , but it is that way because we figured guests would find a giant king size bed more desirable than more floor space.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I had found this place over a year ago when looking for a local place to stay after getting married. After looking over the site I found out that the did weddings, so after talking about, my husband I decided that this would be a nice no hassle place to have our small wedding/elopement. Everything was wonderful, with the package that we got they provided everything but the license. After the wedding we stayed in the Astoria room. Very wonderful large room with its own bathroom including a two person Jacuzzi spa. We had an amazing breakfast the next morning. It was nice that Casey and Nathan were in the dinning room during breakfast talking with us and the other guest that were there. We can't wait until we can go back for our next stay. Hopefully when we do we will get to experience the Attic Spa on that trip.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have their our unique charms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCDuPrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NetBloke, Owner at Swantown Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for the kind words and compliments. We really do love hosting weddings such as yours and hope to see you for your anniversary!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My husband booked this Inn rather last minute, based on its reviews. When we arrived, we were a little taken back by the outward appearance of this inn. Let’s just say it looks rustic. We weren’t sure what we had gotten ourselves into, but were pleasantly surprised by the friendly owner. Inside, the inn is dark and gloomy. We liked our king size bed, aside from the sheets. We agree they are soft, but they were too warm to sleep on in the summer. Unfortunately, we got the one room where the washroom was situated across the hall. Not a plus in my books! Breakfast was a nice casual fare. The owners engaged in conversation around the table with their guests. I liked that!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david183462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NetBloke, Owner at Swantown Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Well I am glad it was not all bad! You guys are the first to not like the sheets and bed. Quite frankly they get such good reviews that we wont be changing that at all!

As for being "Rustic" I will give you that. As we tell everyone we are planning and attempting to expand the property, we have delayed repainting the house until we expand. You also stayed with us during a couple of gloomy days weather wise, not much we can do about that.

With fall almost upon us the garden is at its end, and with guests starting to thin out we can get stuck in to winterizing the gardens.

As for the bathroom being across the hall, not much I can do about that. It is clearly noted when you book the room, and everyone is shown the rooms before paying and staying. You are given the opportunity to say that it is not to your liking.

We do not pretend to be perfect, and never will be. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My husband & I stayed 2 days at the Swantown Inn. We loved the bed, it was so comfortable. The room was a bit small but nicely furnished. The inn could use a little face lift but was still quite lovely. The scones for breakfast were really good and the coffee, from a local roaster, was great. I plan to return if i ever get back to Olympia.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I stayed here on business while traveling across Washington State and really appreciated the easy location, about a mile to the freeway and walking distance to downtown restaurants and attractions, yet in a quiet residential neighborhood.
Nathan and Casey served breakfast earlier than usual to accommodate my schedule. The scones were amazing! I slept well on the king sized bed.
This Victorian B&B is over 100 years old and full of character, yet is surprisingly quiet. Would definitely come back. Hopefully next time I can plan better and schedule a massage at their on-site day spa.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank SeattleMotorCycleGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Olympia hotels
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Olympia Lacey
1 mi away
The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel
2.8 mi away
Ramada Olympia
Ramada Olympia
#2 of 9 in Olympia
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Olympia
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swantown Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swantown Inn & Spa

Address: 1431 11th Ave SE, Olympia, WA 98501-2411
Region: United States > Washington > Olympia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Olympia
Price Range: £117 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swantown Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swantown Inn & Spa, is a Bed & Breakfast Retreat, featuring four guest rooms, each with a private bathroom and a three course gourmet breakfast provided each morning. The Innkeepers have an in depth knowledge of local restaurants and attractions, which will help make your stay even more memorable. WIFI is available at no cost and guests have access to a computer with a laser printer. We also feature an on site day spa, staffed by Licensed Massage Therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Swantown Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing