We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Quiet”
Review of Sun Cove Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oroville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sun Cove Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Oroville
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We have been enjoying SUn Cove Resort for around 10 years now, making attempts to get their on Memorial and Labor day Weekends. The owners are superb, it's a quiet rustic place. Fishing has always been fun. Still trying for that 2-4 lb trout but have had to settle on the small 12" ones instead. Fun with family or just the wife and no kids.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesB17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
There are newer reviews for Sun Cove Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2011

The owner Brian is a jerk. He has no business savy and has no compassion for treating people respectfully. Truly sad, as it is a beautiful place, but he is losing it. There were three RV's throughout the entire Labor Day WEEK. I can't blame anyone that refuses to be treated in the manner he treats people. Again, Brian is a total jerk. Horrible customer service.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
10  Thank doting11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Our Family really loves this Resort!!
Just across the border. We have been going to Sun Cove for three years now.
Brian and Gayle are Wonderful!! Great place for families, kids can run around and are very safe!! Great camping, great fishing, the cabins are clean and adorable.
Good food, the pies are amazing!!! As long as you stick to the rules, you will have an amazing time!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canadagirl999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

This is the best family fishing resort in the State, perhaps the entire Northwest. My first trip to Sun Cove was in 1983 and I go back as often as I can because it reminds me of the trips I experienced as a kid when places like this were more plentiful.
Located on a natural spring-fed lake, the trout are firm and tasty and a lot of fun to catch and this is a place where you will catch some really nice ones. I would highly recommend this getaway to those looking for (reasonably) modern conveniences yet the chance to step back to a simpler time when electronic gadetry didn't rule everyone's life. Children generally love this place and will carry fond memories of their first trip for years to come.
Keep in mind that this is Eastern Washington and it can get hot and at times the bees are a pain but that is simply part of the high Summer experience. Don't want it too hot? Late Spring and early Fall are great times to visit and the fishing is stellar.
If you can stay in the cabins do it - you will love the convenience of having a fully equipped kitchen (bring your own sharp knives and a good frying pan) having a Cafe for snacks and the occasional meal, the Livingston rental boats and BBQ's right outside your door. Frankly, this is a win-win for everyone, including Mom and Dad .

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fishon1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

This is a great older place. Every night they make a communtiy campfire and we made smores. The place is older, but well cared for and clean. They are family friendly and very helpful. We fished and caught a ton of fish from their boats and right from the shore. The heated outdoor pool wasn't open yet, but it was very nice family experience. We're planning to make this an annual trip.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STisdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2010

we stayed in a cabin, friends had rv. the lake is right in front of you. great fishing and kayaking. pool is a nice bonus as is the great food cooked by the owners. best pies ever. very clean, very relaxing. 2 large beds in the cabins, cooking facilities, small table and a deck to rock away the hours. this will be our third year.

Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
1  Thank tankElma_wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Sun Cove Resort is a great place to take your kids. With the pool and the kittens and the pigs and the family oriented camp grounds. However the man who owns it has terrible customer service skills. I will not go back. After paying $30 a night for a camp spot (not a cabin) we were treated poorly. You would think the paddle boats would be yours to use after paying $30 a night for a camp spot but nope! They are $9 an hour and the one we used leaked. By the time we got back to shore our feet were covered in water and we were only out for about 30 minutes. My biggest complaint though was how we were treated by the owner. I wish he had been nice because I would love to go back but I refuse to support people like that.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank lacord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oroville
11.8 mi away
Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort
10.9 mi away
Watermark Beach Resort
10.7 mi away
Coast Osoyoos Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Sunrise Inn
10.3 mi away
Walnut Beach Resort
Walnut Beach Resort
#5 of 26 in Osoyoos
1,231 reviews
10.9 mi away
Sandy Beach Motel
Sandy Beach Motel
#1 of 26 in Osoyoos
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Cove Resort

Address: 93 E Wannacut Ln, Oroville, WA 98844-9337
Region: United States > Washington > Oroville
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Oroville
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Sun Cove Hotel Oroville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing