We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grimston House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Deighton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Pat was wonderful in letting us in about quarter past midnight. She didn't even bother with all the details, just passed us the key to the room and told us she will speak to us the next day.

The room & toilet was clean. Breakfast was good!

We definitely reccommend it! Sha & Darren

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sharala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
There are newer reviews for Grimston House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2011

Stayed here whilst visiting relatives.
Grimstone B and B is located on very busy road although the area is countryside. Our room was light large and airy at the back . We could not hear the traffic at all and woke to cock crow as they keep chickens, not many though. The house is 1930's set in about 4 acres I would guess, beautifully decorated and well kept. We were ushered in to s a spacious wood panelled hall and stairs by the land lady who was very smart knowledgable and friendly as we were advised of 2 nearby pubs where we could eat and what the prices ranged from. Our room overlooked the immense garden with a pond and waterfall. The room was warm for this time of year. We could see the village of Deighton in the distance.
The breakfast was good and had the addition of home made preserves and served to us in the large traditional breakfast room. We were told we could use the cosy lounge which has a log burner. There was ample parking for several cars at the front of the house which had a huge front garden well back from the road.
The only criticisms I would make is that the tiny shower room was located next to the wash basin in the bedroom, which is fine unless one of you us washing and the other one comes out of the shower or toilet and whacks you with the door. We had to remember to say we were coming out, . The shower room would have benefited from a heated towel rail as it had no heating, on a parky January morning.
The other is having to be at breakfast by 9.45 am as we are not early risers. That apart we were not made to feel we had to hurry.
As it is such a good location we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkMidland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

We stayed here with our young children for two nights. A nice house with large room and adjoining children's room which made things easy. Breakfast was okay, although they ran low on milk one morning which meant we couldn't have further cups of milk for the children. Large gardens with a pond with huge goldfish and chickens to feed. There was a little area for sunbathing with seats and recliners. There were paths through the gardens which the kids loved and 3 very freindly labs. The couple that ran the B & B were very nice and very accomadating. The living room for guests was large and had a large TV and stereo. The whole place was clean and tidy and had a traditional feel to it. The 'White Swan' pub is about 5 minutes walk from the B&B and served good food and beer and was reasonably priced. It is right on the busy A19 which could be desribed as both good and bad: good because it is very easy to find and access to York is straightforward but bad when the weather is warm which requires the windows left open and the noise of the traffic can be heard (which the double glazing stops when shut).

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craggan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

The place is nothing like the website shows!! It is on abusy main road (A19), the room itself was DIRTY. It looked like it had never been dusted and there were hairs everywhere. The tea and coffee making facilities needed washing before we could use them, in fact we didn't even try the teapot and I won't mention the dead flies in the bathroom!

We booked two nights, stayed one night and left first thing the next morning!!

My advice would be DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seymak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2010

I am surprised this B & B is not higher in the TA ratings as it represents very goof vfm and is a nice place to stop over in York. We chose it for its location to the south of the city centre and so close to the uni. The house is large and the rooms are spacious although our en-suite shower did feel cramped with just a loo and shower; sink in the bedroom. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast good and hearty. The house has lovely gardens and plenty of parking. It is on a fairly busy road which was not an issue as we were there for a short stay.
We ate in one of the recommended pubs (Black Bull, Escrick..excellent). Grimston House is a safe bet. Maybe just a little lacking in conviviality and joie de vivre?
Overall, we would stay at Grimston House again

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

We stayed at Grimston House over the Easter weekend. We made a last minute call and Pat and Alan were very accommodating. It was easy to find being on the main highway from York (which is really handy if you do not have satnav) and the room we stayed in was very spacious. There was a great pub next door with excellent food, service and the prices were really reasonable. The breakfast was really nice - fresh eggs from the chickens on the property.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rickontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deighton
2.4 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
4.3 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
7.8 mi away
Harmony House
Harmony House
#1 of 1 in Stillingfleet
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#25 of 194 in York
1,114 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
6.8 mi away
Deighton Lodge
Deighton Lodge
#1 of 2 in Deighton
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grimston House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grimston House Bed & Breakfast

Address: York Road, Deighton, York YO19 6HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Deighton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Deighton
Price Range: £63 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grimston House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grimston House is situated in a an acre of mature garden 5 miles south of York on the A19 to Selby. Paul and Hilary are taking the reins from Pat and Alan who have retired and and they are looking forward to welcoming guests old and new. Grimston House built in the 1930's exudes charm and character and is in its own tranquil space set back from the road. Included in the room rate is a full English breakfast or lighter alternatives if you prefer. All rooms except one are en suite but that has its own private bathroom. We provide hospitality trays with hot and cold drinks fresh milk and Hilary's infamous cookies from Harmony House. Grimston House is accessible from all major trunk roads with a frequent bus service to York just outside the gate. The park and ride at McArthur Glen is 2 miles away and there is ample safe parking outside the house. There is a pub 2 minutes walk and restaurants within half a mile at Escrick ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms and Cancelon so you can book your Grimston House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing