We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Swan

The White Swan
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Deighton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Great location, can't miss it being set back off the main road. Friendly service, extensive menu. Great price with some good offers too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mummy_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    66
    18
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Friendly and Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We called in for a meal, the bar staff were welcoming and friendly, I asked about food and they were happy to direct us to the tables we could choose from and gave us the menus. They were on hand when we were ready to order, with no pressure. We only had two courses and these were both excellent, Well presented and hot and tasted fresh and homed cooked. I do appreciate some home-cooked food is prepared ahead, I do this myself. to save wastage, this was not then killed in a Microwave, thankfully, you can tell the difference. . I would highly recommend a visit. We happened to be there on an In area pub quiz and I did think I would feel out of place. I have to say I did not. We as a couple sat had a few drinks and quietly joined in between us. It was a very comfortable welcoming pub. obliviously used to visitors and rather that shun them, actually welcome them. Thank you to all the staff who were working on Wednesday 26th March 2014. From Jacqui and Ian x

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jacquimass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“OK for a pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We had a lunch here on a Thursday which was good and reasonable priced but we returned for dinner one evening and were quite disappointed with the quality of the food. In particular the veg stir fry which contained almost whole carrots and massive pieces of cauliflower, not really what you expect. OK for pub grub.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carriefie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silsden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Pleasant Service - Average Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Went on Saturday night after New Year, so not altogether surprising it was a little quiet. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food (steak for me and mushroom stroganoff for my friend) was just ok. Nothing special but not worthy of any complaints. Reasonably priced if a little on the expensive side.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday Lunches AND other meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

I was amazed to read the review saying there had been a Sunday Lunch Disaster earlier this year! Surely couldn't be talking about the same place ....

We have eaten there several times and each time a delight. They take such trouble with the presentation and the food is delicious.

Ok, sometimes we HAVE had to wait a while for our starters or meals but there is a lovely atmosphere there and as the food is being freshly cooked we haven't minded the time.

Nothing seems to be too much trouble, the staff are eager to slightly alter the menu to suit different tastes and my husband, who sometimes has to use a wheelchair and hates fuss, is delighted at the attitude of the staff who are helpful but discreet and everything happens very smoothly to get him to our table, either in the bar area or the restaurant.

We always look forward to visiting the White Swan and it is very good value.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Swan also viewed

Escrick, Selby District
Escrick, Selby District
 

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing