We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good meat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The White Swan

The White Swan
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Deighton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good meat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We happened to be staying in Deighton and thought we'd give The White Swan a try. We were very glad that we did!
I had a mixed grill and my partner had a rump steak. Both were cooked to our specifications and we thoroughly enjoyed them.
The service was friendly and efficient and the food was priced appropriately for the quality.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alec C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    68
    18
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“helpful staff, good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

What I liked about this place was the fact that they offered smaller portions at a reduced cost for lesser appetites. The food was lovely with a wide choice of dishes including sea bass which i love. We asked if we could have ice cream for afters as we couldnt manage a large pud and they served up two lovely cookies and cream ice creams with choc flake that was delicious. We were both feeling a little off colour due to a lingering cold but enjoyed our meals at the White swan . The prices are reasonable and the option of smaller portions is extremely welcome and unusual.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank timetraveller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

I come here regularly with family and friends because of the gorgeous home made food and the lovely surroundings. The location isn't great as it is in the middle of the A19 but that is the only downfall. The staff are welcoming, the money is worth the food and suits most occasions.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“nice meal poor surroundings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Tried this pub several times in past, but not for a few years, so thought we would give it a go. On entering it was like walking into a transport cafe. Very dowdy decor, and the furniture looked like they had bought a job lot from an auction.The staff were not at all welcoming, and you got the impression they would sooner be somewhere else.One girl (tall slim ) was the best of the bunch and really quite pleasent.I ordered mackeral starter my wife prawn cocktail, and it has to be said it was very nice.We then both had sea bass, which again was faultless.The staff never once came to ask if all was ok. It is no wonder the place was almost empty on the Thusday we visited.If the place was tidied up,with decent furniture, and better decor, and a bit of staff training , it could be a really nice place.We felt the meal ,although nice was overpriced, especially in view of the ambience of the place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lukethedrifter737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunday dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Went here for Sunday lunch
Nice place with good service
Food was reasonably priced and good value
Would go here again

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Swan also viewed

 
Escrick, Selby District
Bishopthorpe, York
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing