We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Deighton Lodge
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
154
18
9
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
154
18
9
3
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Just returned home from a night at Deighton Lodge. Visited with a GroupOn and only paid £49 (bargain) but will be visiting again and would happily pay full price.

Location is great for York and Designer outlet. I would also recommend the Designer Outlet for tea as only 4 mins drive away and as B&B doesn't have a restaurant there are many great places to eat.

Stayed in The Shambles room which had amazing views, was beautifully decorated with modern furnishings and a lovely shower wet room.

His and his cups and saucers are a cute touch and its great you get a pint of milk in your fridge to use as usually you don't get anything more than the small long life stuff.

Breakfast was lovely and freshly cooked and served in their small but beautifully decorated breakfast room with lovely views.

One improvement I would ask for is a hair dryer in the room but other than that a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kmoore2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Delightful staff and a warm welcome awaited us on our arrival at this newly renovated farmhouse. Excellently placed for using the Park & Ride into York, Deighton Lodge is set in farmland and amongst grazing sheep. The decor was extremely tasteful, with a large comfortable lounge for guests' use, and there was also an extensive library. We stayed in "The Grand Old Duke of York" which was beautifully appointed, comfortable and spacious with a large wet room, large fluffy towels and huge shower head! We had generous breakfasts with unlimited supplies of tea and coffee, and gluten free bread and cereal were provided.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julesandcilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We were the 1st guests to stay in The Guy Fawkes from 4th-6th March. The smell of paint was still fresh! On arrival 4/6 rooms were open for business and by the time we left all 6 and the snooker room were up and running. This explains we our initially booked room, The Shambles, was not available for us and we ended up in the smaller Guy Fawkes room. The b&b has quite a few unique features that we liked - ability to make your own latte/cappuccino in the breakfast room (make sure you ask to be shown how to work the machine), how the fruit juices are served and we enjoyed being able to use the bikes (after the brakes and seats had been set up for us) and cycled all the way to York one day (circa 8 miles/1 hour each way). Hopefully the cycle maps we picked up will help future cyclists to find the York to Selby cycle path more easily than we did!

Different items were on offer at breakfast each day - we especially liked the poached duck eggs and fresh bread that we could slice ourselves. Hopefully the best method to cook sausages has now been decided on.

Room wise we were able to make a couple of improvement suggestions as we were the 1st guests to stay in the room so hopefully these have been completed now. We enjoyed watching a DVD each evening from the small selection made available to borrow. One drawback was a lack of sleep with our early rising builder friend next door rather than another guest!

Everyone who we met about the b&b was friendly and welcoming (both permanent and those helping out in the 1st week and completing work around the lodge). It's in a good location and very handy for visiting York (including the cycling option but make sure you get back before it's dark with the last 200m having to be on the busy A19).

We saw standards improving every day as everyone found their feet and it was exciting to hear future plans for this new business venture. We wish you every success.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MalcMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed at Deighton Lodge 7th-9th March 2014 with friends and booked two rooms. On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly member of staff who showed us straight to our rooms (The Guy Fawkes and The Castle) Both rooms were absolutely gorgeous, decorated to a very high standard and were extremely comfortable. The rooms both had large lcd tv's, modern shower facilities complete with a variety of toiletries and plenty of tea/coffee facilities. All of which were replenished daily and new towels provided. The lodge has a large barn conversion which is home to a full size snooker table, we were shown the ropes on arrival and were welcomed to use this room whenever we liked. We spent most of Friday night in this room and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, it is fantastic! The breakfast facilities are excellent at this lodge; there are cereals, fruit, toast and tea/coffee facilities to help yourself to whilst you are deciding which fresh, local produce to order from the full English breakfast menu. Both days we received fast, friendly service and the food was excellent. The lodge has a large lounge area complete with large open fire and newspapers/magazines to read whilst enjoying the stunning countryside views! We all had a really lovely weekend staying at Deighton Lodge, we found the accommodation brilliant and the staff excellent, would highly recommend to anyone who is looking into staying at this b&b!

Mr Hoult

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Abvcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

from the minute we got there as the very first guests of this newly and beautifully renovated farmhouse we we're made to feel welcome and looked after. Set in beautiful country side yet within easy reach and a cheap taxi ( a special rate for the b&b) ride of york itself deighton lodge offers the best of both worlds. The communal rooms including a lounge with a fabulous fireplace are immaculately decorated and furnished as are the bedroooms with tv, mini bar with fresh milk,heated floors in the bathrooms plush towels and luxury toileteries.The breakfast was fresh and made to personal preference with everything you could wish for (once we had worked out how to use the toaster;-0) including very quirky fruit juice bottles. The owners we're on site for the opening as was the duty manager and we we're even given champagne for the opening a very lovely touch. A few little mishaps to be expected were dealt with timely and professionally and we couldn't have wished for a more pleasant and relaxing stay of which we wouldn't hesitate in repeating soon. Thankyou to the staff at deighton lodge and we wish you all the best in your adventure we we're delighted to have been a part of it.
mr and mrs pearson

Room Tip: we stayed in the grand old duke which was spacious with double aspect windows over looking the garden and country side our friends stayed in the castle which had its own private entrance
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rhp79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews