We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”
Review of Deighton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deighton Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Deighton B&B and Inns
liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We were introduced to this perfect accomodation by a Groupon deal initially; but we booked directly with the venue. For 3 of us for 2 nights b and b was £89 and worth every penny.
This idyllic property is finished to a very high standard, almost everything is furnished in Laura Ashley and the owners eye for design is clear, everything about it is just stunning.
Rob was a perfect host and manager, couldnt do enough for us, even dropping us at the local village on our first night.
The Minster suite was gorgeous and the communal lounge just beautiful with the most amazing fireplace. An extensive library upstairs containing books and dvds meant you were not without relaxing entertainment should you want it.
The breakfast was lovely, and the vast array of novelty teapots quite endearing.
I would also recommend the picturesque village of Crayke to visit, particularly the good food guide Durham Ox pub which serves the most amazing food.
We had a wonderful few days and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiverpoolCurlytots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    18
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
121
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2nights on the groupon deal of £79 which was more than worth it..on arrival we were greeted by the general manager Rob who was really friendly and showed us around.We were very impressed as this is something we've been looking forward too since we booked at the beginning of January.We stayed in the grand old duke room which was spacious and very modern with amazing views.The whole lodge was very clean and modern throughout,there has been a lot of work put into this place and it's been worth it because it is amazing..The snooker room is a great place to relax and have fun,the lounge is very comfortable and relaxing also.The DVD library is extensive and made for a nice way to relax in the evening.Good pub food available near by at the White Swan in Deighton which is lovely,it's also close to York with the park and ride a few mile away at the designer outlet with free parking.We didn't use the bike service due to the weather however this is a great service that they offer free of charge from the hotel. Breakfast each morning was very nice with fresh juices and endless coffee and tea available,we fell in love with this place from start to finish and will without doubt be returning as we feel this is the best place to stay in York after our visit and would like to say thank you to all the staff and wish them luck with Deighton Lodge for the future....

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank RichNFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Amazing place, lovely relaxing views after a day out. Handy for many places wether shopping or otherwise. Great breakfast to start the day, cooked to your liking you only need to ask or fruit and yogurt, toast and fresh cut bread. Staff very friendly and helpful, snooker room great. As much tea/coffee/hot chocolate as you like. Made us feel at home. Looking forward to seeing the growth of Deighton lodge. Would recommend for anyone. Looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: Speak to staff about your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We bought 3 nights through Groupon which was a good cheap deal. The welcome and room were excellent. The location was perfect as we were near the A19 and A64. The outlook shopping centre was 5 minutes away and there was a great pub just down the road where the food was excellent.
The downside to this was the English breakfast. My wife and I only had the English breakfast on the first morning because it was served at the best "warm" rather than hot. Also the mushrooms tasted like they had been cooked in garlic. In my opinion an English breakfast should be as it states, English and not a "foreign" variation. The garlic and spices should not be used. This meant that for the 2 other days we only had toast for breakfast.
If the breakfast was improved then I would not be willing to pay £95 a night, but as it is, it is not good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anthony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Amazing venue. Staff were really friendly. Breakfast was lovely. Worth the groupon deal (paid £79 for 2 nights) although I would happily pay the full price. Coffee making facilities were well used by myself and my partner. I loved that it was so close to York but felt like the countryside. Only downside is that the lane that leads to the property isn't very noticeable when first looking for it. We stayed in the Guy Fawkes room which was quite small but it was cosy. Could tell it was freshly painted as could still smell a hint of paint but this is a good sign that the property is well maintained.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Just returned from a night at Deighton lodge, bought on a groupon deal. Well what a lovely place, staff lovely and friendly, could not do enough for us. We got a taxi into York , arranged by Deighton lodge, cost 10 pound standard fare , cheaper than parking, prompt and came back for us following a great day shopping, trying some of the lovely real ale in the last drop in pub, highly recommended if you like a glass of real ale, then went to Lucias for dinner, also recommended, went back to the lodge and had a lovely bath , we stayed in the minster room, it had 2 bedrooms and a free standing bath with overhead shower. , very nice. Lovely bath products, fridge in the room with drinks and fresh milk. Nice touch. This place is very much home from home and we will certainly recommend and we will be returning, even at full price , thank you, see you again Julie and John

Room Tip: Only been in Minster room but would recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkby in Ashfield
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Just got back from a one night stay and had a great time. Even though we paid only £49 through Groupon, we were treated no differently. The location was just right, 5 miles from the centre of York, with great views across the fields and there is a field next door with sheep and lambs.
Everywhere has been decorated and furnished to a very high standard. There is a great lounge with comfy sofas, great books, fireplace, TV etc, a dining room where you can help yourself to hot drinks any time, and a well stocked library to the first floor of the main house with a small selection of DVD's which you can take to your room.
Our room was The Minster, which has it's own entrance and is on the 1st floor. Good sized bedroom with comfy bed, wardrobe, a further walk in wardrobe, good quality TV, tea making facilities, a fridge with free milk, plus some water, bottles of coke and chocolate, a great view out of the window.
Across the landing is another room with a sofa bed, very handy for storing our stuff. Great bathroom with roll top bath and huge shower head. The wi fi signal is strong in the room and very fast. The owners have thought of everthing, toiletries, iPod docking station in the room etc.
There is also a converted barn which has a full size snooker table which was kept us occupied in the afternoon, great stuff! You can also hire a mountain bike for free but unfortunately we did not have time to do this.
Breakfast consisted of cereals, toast, yoghurts, some hand made fresh fruit and yogurts with giant strawberries on top, fruit juice in bottles, lovely! Nice cooked breakfast options with 3 varities of sausage. The quality of the ingredients is excellent, my bacon and egg sandwich went down a treat!
All staff very chatty and friendly. On check out I went to pay for the items we had used from the fridge in the room, drinks and chocolate, I was told not to worry as these were free for Groupon customers! Coudn't ask for more, we will be back, well done everybody!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CraigandJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deighton
2.9 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
1.3 mi away
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Escrick
980 reviews
2.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Black Bull Inn
Black Bull Inn
#1 of 2 in Escrick
185 reviews
0.9 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#146 of 192 in York
8 reviews
3.6 mi away
Harmony House
Harmony House
#1 of 1 in Stillingfleet
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deighton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deighton Lodge

Property: Deighton Lodge
Address: Deighton House York Road, Deighton, York YO19 6HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Deighton
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Deighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 4 miles from York city centre, the beautiful Deighton Lodge stands in 3 acres of outstanding rural views. This converted farm house offers idyllic lodgings for those wishing to explore Historic York, with the Park and Ride 2 minutes away. Tastefully decorated and recently refurbished in 2013, Deighton Lodge offers a very warm welcome with a Full English breakfast. All en suite bedrooms offer a fully stocked mini bar; Widescreen TV; Free WIFI and spectacular panoramic views of the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing