We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing”
Review of Deighton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deighton Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Deighton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed for a night over the bank holiday weekend through a Groupon offer. What a lovely surprise! We weren't expecting to find such a well decorated, homely B and B. It had lots of facilities, including a small collection of DVDs and books, a snooker room and a lovely, spacious lounge. We took advantage of the free bike hire and spent a lovely afternoon cycling in the local area.
The breakfast the next morning didn't disappoint either.
All in all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alec C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for three days over the weekend at the end of April 2014.
We received a warm welcomt the moment we arrived. We booked a twin room and were pleasantly surprised to find we had two rooms for the price of one. The main double bedroom was connected by a landing to another room almost the same size with the bathroom leading off from this. Everything was beautifully presented and immaculate. The rooms were reached by a private entrance that led out on to the main drive and gardens. We enjoyed breakfast in the main house attached to the "apartment" as it seemed to us. The breakfast was lovely with a choice of cereals , yoghurts and full english including locally produced sausage. Everything was perfectly cooked to our liking. The dining room looked out over a private walled garden . Patio doors allowed us to sit outside and drink coffee in the morning sunshine whilst reading thoughtfully provided newspapers. The beautiful lounge had comfortable sofas and there was even a library for avid readers such as I.
The owners of this property have a great eye for design .
Deighton House is just a short drive to York Racecourse yet you feel as though you are in the country.

Room Tip: Don't book the twin rooms we stayed in if you are disabled. Steep stairs and a very small bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timetraveller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stay for one night over the Easter holiday weekend and had a great time. Was bought through groupon and we'll worth the money.

From walking in to the reception which was lovely, we were greeted with a warm welcome. We were then shown to our room which was absolutely gorgeous, nicely decorated, bathroom/wet room was lovely especially the big big shower head, underfloor heating too. Mini bar which you have to pay for of you use what's in. Except the milk with is free.

We had the full use of the snooker room too which was great. A very nice room.

In the morning we had the choice of cereals for breakfast or a full English, we went for the english breakfast which was very nice. You can help yourself to tea, coffee, fresh apple juice and orange juice.

I would certainly recommend deighton lodge. Lovely place.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My wife and myself have just come back from a two night break. This is an ideal place for visiting York it is a few minutes off the A64 on the A19 and about 10 minutes by car into York. If you don't want to drive into York there is a Park n Ride 2 minutes away at the Shopping Outlet.
The lodge is a Farm house in the middle of a field which has been renovated to high modern standards and is beautifully decorated. Each room is named after places relating to York. We stayed in the Shambles which was a large double room with two windows over looking open country side a large TV/DVD a fridge with drinks and sweets to purchase plus a small bottle of milk (free) to make drinks which was a lot better than the little milks that you never have enough of. The bathroom is a wet room with a heated floor. There is a small library of books and DVDs. there is a snooker room with a large snooker table in it. We made use of the bikes available free of charge.
In the house itself there is a large modern lounge with a TV and also a wood burning fire for the cold evenings (though there is central heating).
The dining room is very light and colourful and the breakfast all freshly cooked, and service were excellent.
We were left to your own devises to do what we wanted which made it just feel like home.
The staff were great and made us feel welcome, Rob the manger met us and show us around, he was very excited because they had just had the local paper round because they had just cracked 17 double yoked eggs in a row.

Room Tip: There is a good fish and chip shop about 100 metres left at the top of the drive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanS131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I stayed here the night before my wedding and then with my wife on our wedding night. The rooms were spacious, clean and had excellent shower facilities. The staff were helpful, genuinely friendly and kind. Breakfast was excellent, with a wide variety of choice. An excellent choice for couples or families.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed here for three nights.
This place has only just opened so everything is beautifully "new".
Can't fault anything. It has everything you need for your stay.
Very clean. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast excellent.
We stayed in the castle room - with its own entrance.
Surrounded by open fields - very peaceful.
Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

booked this hotel which is actually a farm house via a groupon offer.
The accommodation is fantastic , we had the Castle room , this had its own stairs leading up to the room, this was a large room with an ensuite, the quality of the decor is beautiful.
The location is so peaceful surrounded by fields with sheep and lambs.
there is also a snooker room, living room and gorgeous breakfast room
our breakfast the next morning was amazing

we would definitely recommend a stay here...we will return again anytime

Room Tip: castle room has its own entrance fabulous room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dollydip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Deighton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deighton Lodge

Address: Deighton House York Road, Deighton, York YO19 6HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Deighton
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Deighton
Price Range: £75 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 4 miles from York city centre, the beautiful Deighton Lodge stands in 3 acres of outstanding rural views. This converted farm house offers idyllic lodgings for those wishing to explore Historic York, with the Park and Ride 2 minutes away. Tastefully decorated and recently refurbished in 2013, Deighton Lodge offers a very warm welcome with a Full English breakfast. All en suite bedrooms offer a fully stocked mini bar; Widescreen TV; Free WIFI and spectacular panoramic views of the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing