We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
155
19
9
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
155
19
9
3
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 186 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2017

My friends booked this place as a surprise for my hen do, and it was perfect! I wanted a big country house that we could all stay in, but near enough to a city where we could have a night out.
The house is gorgeous, and it's set in the middle of fields, with a good sized garden.
We also had a look around the barn on the first day, where they host weddings, and it was gorgeous, with some fun touches like the wheel lights on the ceiling.
Would recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

We have just recently stayed at Deighton Lodge for a hen weekend, there was 11 of us in total. Well what can I say, it was absolutely brilliant! Firstly the surroundings of the property are beautiful, it is set in amongst farmland so fabulously peaceful and secluded. We stayed for 2 nights in total, but we were welcome to come earlier on the first day to set up and decorate the house before the lovely hen arrived! Drew and Carla were brilliant with everything both before and during our stay, nothing was too much trouble. The house is decorated to a fantastic standard, whilst maintaining a cosy feel. Each room had an en suite, perfect for us all to get ready and also relax, lovely comfy beds too! The kitchen was equipped with everything you could possibly need, making it fantastic for eating in, or even just lovely drinks whilst sitting out in the pretty garden. It is perfectly situated close to York too, so that was ideal for us getting too and from the city for our fab hen activity and evening meal. We all had an absolutely wonderful weekend at Deighton Lodge, and the Bride To Be loved it! Such a fab find, thanks so much Drew and Carla!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank LittleLisa1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

When arranging my best friends hen do I was looking for a large property, in beautiful surroundings but close enough to a city to enjoy a good night out. And boy did I get what I was looking for with Deighton Lodge!

The property consists of a large house with smaller extensions added. The gardens are beautiful too and as we had gorgeous weather we spent much time relaxing around the patio area. The house is clean and well decorated with fantastic facilities.
Every bedroom has a lovely en suite bathroom, ensuring no arguments when getting ready!

Just 4 miles from York city centre and £11 for a taxi the lodge offers the feel of a rural countryside setting with everything you need on your doorstep.

The owners Drew and Carla were super helpful both before and during our stay and made sure we had everything we required.

I cant recommend this place enough- just wonderful! Thanks Drew and Carla :)

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Cleevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

We stayed for a long weekend with 5 other couples, our room was The Minster, which was outside the main house. It had a double bed and another room with a single bed and an ensuite. The bathroom was lovely, deep bath, powerful shower, lovely big fluffy towels, very nice fittings. The double bed was OK, however would have been an idea to have a mattress protector, the pillows could have been a bit plumper, again with a protector. There was a smell of heating oil as you entered the hallway, not upstairs so I guess from the downstairs boiler room.
The main house had a lovely reception, very smart sitting room, liked the sofas, great fireplace with log burner. The dining room was good, plenty of room for us to have breakfast, however the kitchen needed a little work. The fridge was very small, no cupboards to put anything in, oven needed a clean. There were plenty of cups and saucers, plates etc., all very nice china. The garden was pretty, maybe a little more garden furniture would be nice, strange outdoor room full,of bird poo, not sure what that was. Our friends were OK with their rooms, pillows and curtains were mentioned, but all in all we had a great stay.
The situation was good, near to retail outlets and park and ride. We also went to the marina and hired a boat and motored into York. We had a great stay in this house, just needs a few tweaks.

Room Tip: Choose a room in main house.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2016

Deighton Lodge was run as a B&B until last year but is now offering itself as a self-catering holiday house for larger groups as well as a wedding venue. However our family group found it a very mixed experience when we stayed there for a week in April. While the bedrooms and bathrooms are lovely, as is the setting and games room, the other living areas fell short of expectations in numerous ways. For instance, there were not enough seats in the lounge for the number of people in our party, there was only a small fridge and not the usual larger pots and pans you would expect in a self-catering house accommodating 14, crucial lightbulbs were missing or broken, and no firewood was provided despite the log-burner being much-vaunted in the publicity. Parts of the kitchen were also filthy when we arrived - encrusted baking trays (see picture), mouldy washing machine, greasy floor and ovens.

Despite raising these issues with the owners during our stay, no satisfactory response was received which meant we left disappointed and feeling Deighton Lodge offers poor value for group bookings, and we cannot recommend it.

Bookers should also be aware that two of the bedrooms and the games room are separate from the main house.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DreamingSpire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews