We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time again”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pacific Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pacific Beach
Burien, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great time again”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Just came back from 3 days at the Sandpiper Resort. We have going there since 1988 and always have a great time. There are no tv's, telephones and spotty Internet. I think we all need to unplug, have a conversation with the person(s) you are with. Enjoy the walk or beach combing and listen to the ocean. Dogs are welcomed, service was excellent and you are right on the ocean 40 feet away. Will be going back again soon. Yes it is showing its age, the new managers plan to start updating. Go as a couple or a family and reconnect. You will be glad you did

Room Tip: No swimming pool, just the pacific ocean. Bottom rooms are better I you have larger dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Careymg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff A, General Manager at Sandpiper Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thanks for your review, Careymg! We're glad you had a good experience in your recent stay at the Sandpiper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    42
    17
    20
    29
See reviews for
55
40
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We spent the weekend here (end of March) and it was just fantastic. The rooms were big and clean, with sun-drenched decks and fireplaces. And the beach is so close you can almost touch it. It was a perfect place for our three-generation-plus-dog group, ranging in age from 9 to 80.

Can't say enough about how friendly everyone is, too. We were lucky enough to be here during a razor clam dig, and wandered on to the beach with a bucket and shovel (and licenses). Other guests saw that we were rookies, lent us equipment, taught us how to use it, and showed us how to clean our clams after we were done. So we had a wonderful dinner of the clams we got that morning. How cool is that?

And it gets better. The Sandpiper is very dog-friendly, which meant that we were able to bring our pooch and let her run around on the beach.

We'll be going back, and telling our friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billinseattle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Ludlow, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I, my husband and our big standard poodle Wilson, have just returned from the Sandpiper where we spent an enjoyable Thanksgiving. I have been going to the Sandpiper since it first opened in the early 70’s, and have witnessed it aging (just like me!). If someone goes there expecting a fancy resort with all of the amenities they are bound to be disappointed. The Sandpiper is not a high-end resort associated with a national chain. It is more of a “Mom and Pop” place which caters to young families with kids and dogs and is priced accordingly. In fact, there were several families there cooking their Thanksgiving dinners in the well equipped kitchens, as were we. From our unit window we could watch children out on the beach flying kites and looking for seashells, and dogs of all shapes and sizes ecstatically taking in the new smells, greeting new acquaintances and splashing at the water’s edge. Wilson is now 15 and can no longer tirelessly chase seagulls or run though the surf, but he loved being there again.

Our unit was very clean though showing the years of wear and tear from said kids and dogs. I would love to see new curtains at the windows or new covers for the sofas, but I know from my own experience what it costs to re-decorate even one room. Re-decorating every five to 10 years is not in the cards for this family-run business. However,the appliances all worked, there was plenty of hot water, the the fireplace kept us warm and cozy (it burns convenient 3-hour logs).

The Sandpiper’s greatest and unique amenity is that it is built right on the beach - it was built prior to the Washington State law which prohibited this. When you look out your windows you see the ocean and hear it’s roar. Few places built along the coast have even a peek-a-boo view and you often have to walk a distance to get to the beach.

So, think of this as a rural “family cabin” where all there is to do is take walks on the beach, read good books, enjoy one’s own home cooking and bask in the peace and tranquility of nature. We had a great time and hope that the Sandpiper is there for many years to come.

Sharon, Bernard and Wilson (Woof!)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Our group of friends continues to enjoy an annual weekend at the Sandpiper. The beach is perfect (right outside the door!), the rooms aren't fancy but they are very adequate (kitchens, comfortable chairs, great views of the ocean), and this continues to be a great place to stay if you want to get away and enjoy the wonderful Washington coast.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I booked the jacuzzi suite which was not that cheap and expected a MUCH nicer suite for the price I paid. Right when I walked in the room I was hit with a wet moldy smell. Everything is old and outdated. The couches were ripped. The shower head had mold growing on it. The "jacuzzi" was for only one person to fit in and when we filled it up the water was dirty before we even used it. We even cleaned it out first. We were out and about a lot but our last night there we found a flea on my 4 month old son's face and then we all realized we had flea bites on our ankles and arms! When I checked out I wasn't asked how our stay was. I told the manager that they had fleas in the suite (which was the most expensive of all the rooms) and she said "oh you should have told me so we could bomb it". While we're in the room?? She didn't even give as much as an apology. I never write reviews but felt that people really need to know that the pictures online are NOTHING like what you're gonna get. In person, it's a dump! My advice is do not stay here!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nikki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff A, General Manager at Sandpiper Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Hi Nikki,

I have taken over as general manager at the Sandpiper as of March 2013. I'm sorry to read that you had a bad stay with us in 2012. I wanted to let you know that we have ended the practice of describing Unit 50, the unit you stayed in, as the "Jacuzzi Suite" because, in fact, the unit merely has a jetted tub in its master bathroom. We have replaced the worn couches that you noted in your review in recent months with new ones. We have also placed renewed emphasis on both maintenance and cleanliness, such that we would not expect you to encounter the problems you had on a return visit to the Sandpiper today. Every guest who checks out now is asked about the quality of their experience, and we follow up on their feedback promptly.

- Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garner, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

My family and I have been getting away to Sandpiper Beach Resort since I was a child. We have always found the staff very friendly, the rooms clean, and the view spectacular! They have a gift shop there that is just perfect for browsing and picking up that special something that you need to add to the trip! It is also a short (beautiful) drive to Ocean Shores so you can enjoy the tourist spots but come back and feel like you are totally secluded.

Room Tip: Any room has a great view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnW520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Just spent 3 days at the Sandpiper Beach resort...the views are spectacular, just beach and ocean..we stayed on the second floor so had unimpeded views, very quiet and relaxing..the room itself was clean although dated in many ways..reminded me of the 60s..had a microwave, stove and refrig with a fully equipped kitchen..as other guests stated no tv or radio but there is a clock on the microwave...books and puzzle in room...Andy, the manager makes a great latte and the gift shop was very nice..it was a great "jumping off" point for going with north or south..yes, it is showing sign of age but if you're looking for a clean room with good beds and a spectacular view with access to the water,,,I would recommend Sandpiper

Room Tip: , I would get a room on the third floor for even better views,,,if you have a pet, the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Beach
3.7 mi away
Hi-Tide Ocean Beach Resort
13.1 mi away
Canterbury Inn
Canterbury Inn
#1 of 14 in Ocean Shores
396 reviews
12.2 mi away
Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
12.7 mi away
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
#6 of 14 in Ocean Shores
304 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ocean Crest Resort
Ocean Crest Resort
#3 of 3 in Moclips
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Beach Resort

Property: Sandpiper Beach Resort
Address: 4159 State Route 109, Pacific Beach, WA 98571
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pacific Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandpiper Beach Resort is located on Washington's wild Pacific Coast, two miles south of the town of Pacific Beach in Grays Harbor County, roughly 3 hours' drive west of Seattle. The resort, founded in 1973, is nestled on a forested hillside directly on Mocrocks beach, a miles-long strip of flat, sandy beach known for its crashing surf, adjacent clay bluffs, and solitude. Offshore, fishing boats and whales ply the pristine waters of the Copalis National Wildlife Refuge.At the Sandpiper, our goal is to provide you with a clean, comfortable, functional and affordable place to get away from it all and enjoy the company of those you're traveling with. Accommodations range from small cabins or studios with room for 2-4 guests, up to large cabins or multi-bedroom units that are perfect for groups as large as 12. Each unit includes a fully-equipped kitchen, fireplace, sweeping ocean view, and a private deck or patio with rocking or lounge chairs for taking in the sunset with a glass of wine in hand.Sandpiper guests pass their time in a range of activities. Long walks on the beach are a must in any season. A winter day might be spent inside by the fire, watching a storm roll in off the Pacific. The wind is often perfect for kite-flying, while a warm day in July or August finds many guests swimming or body-surfing in the cool ocean waves.The Sandpiper infuses kids and dogs with a special energy; both are welcome and encouraged here. Generations of Northwest families have made the Sandpiper a home away from home.Our position by the world's most productive razor clam beds, together with our handy Clam Kitchen, draws visitors during licensed digs throughout the fall, winter and spring. Fishermen don hip-waders and stride into the waves after tasty surfperch. Indoors, you might cook up a delicious meal, read a good book, or tackle a board game or puzzle. At night, a cozy bed and the soft roar of the ocean will allow you to drift off and perhaps even sleep in late.If cabin fever strikes, head over to our Gift Shop to sip an espresso, use the free Wi-Fi, and shop for a memento of your stay or a gift for a loved one. Hop in the car to explore all that coastal Washington has to offer, from horseback riding on the beach at Ocean Shores, to hiking the temperate rain forest or alpine peaks of nearby Olympic National Park. The closest town, Pacific Beach, housed a secret Cold War-era submarine-listening post, which is now a recreation facility open to the public.A bit further north in Moclips, the Museum of the North Beach chronicles the unexpectedly rich history of the area. The beaches of the Quinault Indian Nation hide remote treasures like the much-photographed Tunnel Island; visit tribal headquarters in Taholah for a day pass, or engage a tribal guide for world-class salmon fishing on the Quinault River.The Sandpiper is a true retreat, with no TVs or phones to disturb your stay, and only limited cell phone service in the area. Join us at the edge of the earth to get away from it all! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Beach Hotel Pacific Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing