We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach, wonderful view, old rundown room, cold floors and noisy”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pacific Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pacific Beach
Spokane WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Beach, wonderful view, old rundown room, cold floors and noisy”
Reviewed 14 November 2006

We stayed in unit #2 which cost about $72.00 a day. The room was small with two twins, a free standing stove that worked too well and very thin walls. When the wind blew it rattled the whole building and the noise of the windchimes made it difficult to sleep. The room was run down with bare lights in ceiling and very worn cabinets, but is was clean and all the appliances worked well. The bathroom was poorly designed and COLD floors, but we had plenty of warm water and towels.

The staff was friendly and responsive to all our requests. We ate at Ocean Creast resturant and had a four star meal. Good admosphere and excellent wines. I would stay at the sandpiper again but would recommend unit #9 or 10. Don't worry about the water it will give you your daily allotment of iron.

I hope this has been helpful. Gary and Mary Kay Burgess

  • Liked — The view and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Old rundown, very cold bathroom floor.
  • Tips/Secrets — For walking on the beach in November have rubber boots, rain jacket, pants and gloves.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank grandchildrenrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    42
    17
    20
    29
See reviews for
55
40
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Renton, WA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2006

I also wrote the previous review when my husband and I visited the Sandpiper in July. My older sister came in from town from AZ and really wanted to visit the ocean. So she, my parents, and I decided to go to the Sandpiper since my parents wanted to bring their dogs.

First problem, when my mother went to check us in, the lady at the office asked for my mom's credit card to charge her for the room. My mom thought she had already seen the charge on her credit card statement shortly after she reserved the room, but the lady assured her it was only a hold on the room. When my mother returned home from our trip, she checked her statement and sure enough it WAS a charge, not a hold. When she called the hotel, the lady did some research and low and behold they had charged SOMEONE ELSE'S room to my mother's credit card!! I was so shocked; I could not believe such a mistake could be made. I thought it was very irresponsible on their part.

So, regarding the room.... We stayed in a different cabin than I had stayed in my first trip. It was cabin #4. It was an odd layout -- you actually walk in the front door into the main bedroom! The bathroom was very small. The worst thing though was that we noticed that the water was VERY yellow/brown color. I didn't notice this in my first trip there, but it was very obvious this time. Even boiling the water didn't help. It also had an odd odor to it. None of us felt safe to take showers, so luckily we only stayed one night otherwise we would have needed to shower in that water. So I would highly advise that bottled water be brought for drinking.

Other than that though, we had a nice time. I still would probably go back there, especially for the dogs and the pretty scenery.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jojobean31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 February 2006

While this is not a five star hotel, it is a wonderful place to stay, uncrowded, peaceful and perfect for pet lovers like us. The fact it has no phones or television is part of why we go...to UNPLUG! The ktchen and dining areas were upgraded recently with new stoves and dinette sets. The beds are a bit hard but are serviceable. We have been staying here at least once a year for the past 9 years.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2005

The only good reason to stay at the Sandpiper is the beach, which is beautiful, huge, and practically deserted. We stayed there for two nights just before Labor Day weekend, and the beach was incredibly uncrowded--probably because there are no other hotels or resorts in that immediate area.

Other than that one consideration--and I'll admit it's a big one--this place was truly awful. This is the kind of place that teaches you that, when a facility advertises itself as being "rustic," it really means that it's just old, ugly, and beat up. It doesn't look all that bad from the outside, but inside it's another story.

We had a one-bedroom unit that also offered a living room with fireplace and a kitchenette. I know this all sounds great, but my heart sank when we walked in and looked around--tacky decor, not especially clean, kitchen cabinets that should have been replaced many years ago, and no really comfortable place to sit in the living room. The main sitting area consists of an L-shaped daybed, and our choices were to sit on the longer section with our backs up against the wall or to sit on the shorter section with no back support at all. Neither my husband nor I could get comfortable on that stupid thing to save our lives, and that was very annoying to us both.

The walls in this place are very thin, and as a result we spent a few hours one evening listening to a baby screaming and a dog barking (pets are permitted). Also, the rooms have no televisions or phones, but their Web site warns about that. They're also very fond of touting their heated towel bars, probably because it misleads you into thinking this is a classy, comfortable place. Don't be fooled by that as I was dumb enough to be--our towel bar did heat up but for whatever reason, it did not get the towels even "luke" warm.

When we asked the desk clerk where we could go to buy groceries, he directed us to the only thing the tiny hamlet of Pacific Beach has to offer--a small, poorly lit, filthy grocery store that we bought from solely because it was the only game in town for groceries and the restaurants we saw didn't look much better than that store. There were canned goods on the shelves that were literally rusty--and of course the prices were sky high. We just bought enough to get us through and got out of there as fast as we could.

I realize that all of this whining makes me sound both difficult and impossible to please, but truly, we had a bad experience in this area and were thrilled we'd booked there for only two nights. My goal is to warn others about it so that they won't have to endure a similar experience. Do yourself a favor and avoid this place!

Helpful?
15 Thank CatWoman324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 November 2004

My husband and I, enjoyed our November weekend getaway at the beach! My husband celebrated his 59th birthday. Although it rained in our home neighborhood, we only had fog at Pacific Beach. We were able to take long walks and enjoy the beautiful waves and birds both from the beach and our comfy room with the rocking chairs and warm glow of a fire in the fireplace. The setting is rustic, but our junior suite was well-equipped with cooking utensils, (we cooked all meals in), and clean. We liked the extra "fluffy-warm" towels, too. It was very relaxing and quiet, which we appreciate. Since there are no phones or TV's we brought hobbies and good books to read and even brought our little boombox to play soft music. Thank you Sandpiper! Doug & Joan (Poulsbo, WA)

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 August 2003

This place is great in October! Almost nobody else was there; it is away from any town. If you like solitude for a change, this is the place. We like it for our anniversary get-away! Just us, the forest, the waves (right outside our door), and God! An excellent place to share time together, and check-out of "normal life" for awhile.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Beach
3.7 mi away
Hi-Tide Ocean Beach Resort
13.1 mi away
Canterbury Inn
Canterbury Inn
#1 of 14 in Ocean Shores
391 reviews
12.2 mi away
Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
12.7 mi away
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
#6 of 14 in Ocean Shores
304 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ocean Crest Resort
Ocean Crest Resort
#1 of 3 in Moclips
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Beach Resort

Property: Sandpiper Beach Resort
Address: 4159 State Route 109, Pacific Beach, WA 98571
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pacific Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandpiper Beach Resort is located on Washington's wild Pacific Coast, two miles south of the town of Pacific Beach in Grays Harbor County, roughly 3 hours' drive west of Seattle. The resort, founded in 1973, is nestled on a forested hillside directly on Mocrocks beach, a miles-long strip of flat, sandy beach known for its crashing surf, adjacent clay bluffs, and solitude. Offshore, fishing boats and whales ply the pristine waters of the Copalis National Wildlife Refuge.At the Sandpiper, our goal is to provide you with a clean, comfortable, functional and affordable place to get away from it all and enjoy the company of those you're traveling with. Accommodations range from small cabins or studios with room for 2-4 guests, up to large cabins or multi-bedroom units that are perfect for groups as large as 12. Each unit includes a fully-equipped kitchen, fireplace, sweeping ocean view, and a private deck or patio with rocking or lounge chairs for taking in the sunset with a glass of wine in hand.Sandpiper guests pass their time in a range of activities. Long walks on the beach are a must in any season. A winter day might be spent inside by the fire, watching a storm roll in off the Pacific. The wind is often perfect for kite-flying, while a warm day in July or August finds many guests swimming or body-surfing in the cool ocean waves.The Sandpiper infuses kids and dogs with a special energy; both are welcome and encouraged here. Generations of Northwest families have made the Sandpiper a home away from home.Our position by the world's most productive razor clam beds, together with our handy Clam Kitchen, draws visitors during licensed digs throughout the fall, winter and spring. Fishermen don hip-waders and stride into the waves after tasty surfperch. Indoors, you might cook up a delicious meal, read a good book, or tackle a board game or puzzle. At night, a cozy bed and the soft roar of the ocean will allow you to drift off and perhaps even sleep in late.If cabin fever strikes, head over to our Gift Shop to sip an espresso, use the free Wi-Fi, and shop for a memento of your stay or a gift for a loved one. Hop in the car to explore all that coastal Washington has to offer, from horseback riding on the beach at Ocean Shores, to hiking the temperate rain forest or alpine peaks of nearby Olympic National Park. The closest town, Pacific Beach, housed a secret Cold War-era submarine-listening post, which is now a recreation facility open to the public.A bit further north in Moclips, the Museum of the North Beach chronicles the unexpectedly rich history of the area. The beaches of the Quinault Indian Nation hide remote treasures like the much-photographed Tunnel Island; visit tribal headquarters in Taholah for a day pass, or engage a tribal guide for world-class salmon fishing on the Quinault River.The Sandpiper is a true retreat, with no TVs or phones to disturb your stay, and only limited cell phone service in the area. Join us at the edge of the earth to get away from it all! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Beach Hotel Pacific Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing